The Hope Blog is Ten Years Old

It was  ten years ago today (July 15, 2007) that I began this personal blog on WordPress.  Within two hours, I had 4,000 unique visitors. I was publishing a busy news and comment blog as a part of the issues program I produced and co-hosted,  and when it crashed unexpectedly due to a technical problem, the ensuing silence of several days allowed me to put together  the personal blog I had long wanted.

My primary site was down, but a co-blogger in that field told readers what had happened to my site and directed them to the brand new Hope Blog. That’s why things were so busy that first day.

Looking back in your life, have you changed much in ten years? Is it good change or not so good change?  I reflect today on  the good changes and lessons learned over the last decade. It’s also interesting to look at ways we have stayed the same. In certain ways, i have stayed the same.

How have I changed? Here are a few ways.

I am  far less trusting of people than I was ten years ago. Like the saying goes, I never trust words, sometimes question actions , but I never doubt patterns.  Not anymore. I am wiser about people. I’ve learned to listen to my instincts  far more than I used to.

I have changed in that I have witnessed, firsthand, God’s providence in caring for our family.  Tom and I have lived this, especially over the last six years since our lives were turned upside down. We went from theory to seeing first hand the miracles God did to provide all our needs, something He continues to do. We were also blessed by the love of those God used to provide for us when we were without employment, overnight, with a family to care for and a mortgage to pay.

I have changed in that I no longer have any interest in much of what passes for “discernment” ministry.  So much I could say here, but I think my first point on my list pretty well covers it.  I think one of my adult sons summed it up well when he said, “Any ministry that is based only on pointing out the error of others is, by nature, imbalanced and unhealthy.” My son was absolutely right, and this is the world that I operated in for so very long.  It’s not opposing error that is wrong. But when that’s 90 percent of what you do, you have a mentally and spiritually unhealthy situation.

I care far less about the opinions of others than I did ten years ago.  Due to the many different denominations, viewpoints, agendas. I was constantly in contact with through Christian talk radio, I felt I had to please everyone, sometimes leading to ludicrous situations.  Twenty-three years of trying to please everyone. Too often, I never pleased anybody, and my in box would overflow with outraged listeners telling me where I had gone wrong. I even had more than one show up at the studios to “rebuke” me for promoting this cause or guest or author. It was madness.

It’s only now, years later, that I am able to say, without embarrassment, this is who I am. If you disagree, that is certainly your right to do so, but I am not changing to please you. I love God, I want to be the woman  that God made me to be, not a clone of somebody else. That may displease some people who watch from afar, but I won’t lose a wink of sleep over it. I feel a freedom that I never used to have before. By losing pretty much everybody from our former lives ,  God was able to give me something far better. The people now in our lives are those we choose to spend time with, not opportunists, users, pharisees and ministry idolaters who will leave tread marks from their “ministry” bus all over your face when you’re no longer useful. We have the dearest neighbors. Unlike those we used to work with, they love us, and we have had numerous chances to show love right back. Emily is the family ambassador, smiling and waving at all who walk or drive by.

I have stayed the same in ways. Tom and I just celebrated 22 years of marriage.  In his quiet way, he has done more to strengthen my faith in the Lord through tough  times than a lot of those thundering about this or that from pulpits or microphones.  Tom lives what he believes every single day, and his family, co-workers  and neighbors have  seen it. I love him even more than the day we married.

My faith in the Lord is not only still there, it has been strengthened. The grass withers, the flower fades, but the Word of our God stands forever. Great is the Lord’s faithfulness, the one who lifts up our heads in the midst of incredible sadness. I will not join the many who spew blasphemy and curses because they were targeted by someone for abuse. Those engaging in evil will answer for it at the Court of No Appeal.  We may have been targets, but we don’t have to be victims. Love really is greater than hate. Nothing can grow in the soil of hate.  But when love is the soil, what beauty can grow from it!

It’s expensive to maintain files of ten years. I’m paying annually for extra space needed on WordPress. I may drop the blog  archives and retool the site at some point in the near future. There is much more I could improve on this site. But I’m not interested in “growing my brand.”  I have no brand. I just have this site to share my thoughts  and talk about my Savior and my family. Thank you for stopping by. and for the encouragement you send. Even if a handful read what I share, you are worth it.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

18 thoughts on “The Hope Blog is Ten Years Old

  1. Rose says:

    Thank you so much for sharing your heart, your journey that brought you to where you are now, and how faithful the Lord has been through everything. I think my favorite part of your post was this: “I will not join the many who spew blasphemy and curses because they were targeted by someone for abuse. Those engaging in evil will answer for it at the Court of No Appeal. We may have been targets, but we don’t have to be victims. Love really is greater than hate.” That really sums it all up… it is the way to the peace that passes understanding. What people meant for evil has, God has certainly used for good in your life. He has a way of doing that when we resolve to trust Him no matter what, doesn’t He? I am so blessed by your little blog, Ingrid…how you have so openly and humbly shared your life and your struggles with us. I love that picture of you and the bright smile. God is good! May He continue to bless you and your lovely family.

  2. Nancy says:

    Ingrid,
    Thank you!
    Interesting, just this week I felt so surrounded by hate wanted to keep pointing it out but the Holy Spirit points out His words one of my favorite;
    Ephesians 2:4
    But God, who is rich in mercy, for his great love wherewith he loved us,
    I like your line court without appeal!

  3. Kris says:

    Congratulations Ing! Your posts are always interesting and truthful. God allowed you to set
    this up 10 years ago for a reason. Over 10 years (besides my getting older and gaining a few
    more pounds here ‘n there), I have grown stronger in my faith and love for God. I believe I
    appreciate life more with each year that passes, and I’m more thankful for family. Ten years
    ago we didn’t know about Emilly…a great big blessing! So thanks for all your thoughts and
    beautiful writings. You have a way with words…love, Kris

  4. healinginhim says:

    Congratulations! 10 years for the Hope Blog??
    I am so very grateful for your ministry with this blog, Ingrid. Your family has played a huge part in it as you have shared the faithfulness of a mighty God who loves.
    I continue to pray for you and your loved ones, Ingrid. Your friendship via the Hope Blog or your Facebook posts have been used of the Lord as I am “HealingInHim”.
    ((hugs)) ❤

  5. Judi Hayes says:

    Ten years! That’s a milestone! I always appreciate what you write and share on your blog, Ingrid. Thank you for hanging in there through all the hard years, and sharing with many of us on this blog.

  6. 'grandma' Jeanne says:

    You are appreciated for who you are, Ingrid. When I listened to VCY and heard you, that’s when I realized how very special you are. I’m thankful to still be able to hear your thoughts and watch Emily grow and hear your son play the organ, etc.
    You are still young compared to me…but you are growing deeper earlier that I am.
    Thank you for sharing about pleasing others….I think I saw a glimpse of myself there. We can learn from one another no matter our ages.
    Love, ‘grandma Jeanne

  7. Robert says:

    Thank you for your blog. While we don’t and won’t always agree, I appreciate what I learn from your writings and the replies. The denominations have crumbled over the last ten years and will continue to do so as the day of our Lord approaches. Where charity and love prevail, there God is ever found; brought here together by Christ’s love, by love are we thus bound.

  8. Ingrid says:

    Thank you, Robert. I appreciate that, and I also appreciate your perspective even though, as you said, we sometimes don’t agree.

  9. Becky says:

    Ingrid,

    One of the many things I love about you is the Hope you share in a world that is a constant fight and struggle.

    I remember tuning in at 2pm every day hoping and praying I would hear your voice on the radio. No matter the subject matter of that days program…I always sensed hope in the one who gives us Hope.

    Your Hope Blog continues that tradition!

    May God continue to bless and use you!!

  10. val says:

    Ingrid, its Val your class mate from VCY…its been an honor to see, hear and even to taste a bit of your journey. I have a very busy family of 5 boys and had ask the Lord 18-20yrs ago,
    “Lord what shall ye have me be?” Our parents had tried to”bring us up in the way we should go… you been one of the many intelligent speakers of passion I heard on the radio…..when I heard you left VCY, I was overwhelmed by the freedom in your further walk w the Lord.
    My family and I thank you for your journey of trials because it’s your testimony like no other but similar in many ways to ours.
    Love, Peace,Joy, freedom and the boldness of Christ Jesus be upon you and your family ….

    Val and Erina (my blessed helpmate), and my BoyZZzzz (Aaron, Jacob, Christian, Joel and Adoni) and Gabriel who art in the hollowed heavenly hands of God Jesus the Christ our Lord and Savior Amen….

  11. Denise says:

    Ingrid, thank you so much for sharing your experiences and insights. I so appreciate the encouragement, and it’s a comfort to know we’re not alone in our struggles. Thanks for sharing your family life with us as well! Congratulations on 10 years, and looking forward to many more!

  12. 'grandma' Jeanne says:

    Yes…I , too, had the same desire…Hoping it was Ingrid doing the program. We are blessed to still have her sharing with us on this Hope Blog…thanks for putting that into words for me. Someday we’ll all be together with our risen LORD!

  13. Carolyn says:

    What a wonderful milestone. Congratulations! From the days of Slice and Crosstalk, you’ve been instrumental in helping my family discern truth from error. So appreciative you’ve continued writing here at Hope.

  14. Tom says:

    Thank you, Ing, for all the insights and wisdom you humbly share, reflected from your living faith in God. I know firsthand how much you care about and ponder the subjects you write on, whether serious or fun, and anything in between. I’ve never ceased to be amazed by your gifts, and by the fact that I’m married to you. Thank the Lord you’ve persevered these ten years–it’s always a blessing! Love, your Tom.

  15. 'grandma' Jeanne says:

    AAAAH…to Tom. Sweet. I just listened to something about good works and the speaker said that loving one’s wife is doing a good work that should demonstrate our love for the LORD….and if the husband loves the wife, then submission to him is natural.

  16. terriergal says:

    So thankful for you over this past 10 years and all the craziness that has gone on. I don’t know if I could have survived what you have gone through.

    I have noticed that when discerners go through attacks against them for taking an unpopular stance in defense of the truth, they either come out looking more like their attackers or more like Jesus.

    I just wish more of them came out looking more like Jesus.

    Again, I am so thankful for you and your beautiful family and wish I was closer because I sure would like to make “coffee with Ingrid” a regular part of my week !

  17. Holly says:

    Thanks Ingrid, for this blog that lets us “share” your family’s life and times as you all serve the Lord.
    In the last 10 years my life has changed considerably. I am recently divorced from an abusive man and will have to support myself.
    Five years ago my oldest son needed a heart transplant (thanks for all the prayers!). That trial deepened my faith and that of so many others. Now my son is married and the father of a 4 week old baby boy!
    And my younger son has a year-old daughter who brings so much joy!
    I’m trusting in the Lord to lead me step by step, day by day. I want to bring glory to Him. Again, thanks so much for your service to God through this blog. It brings me grace and peace.

Leave a Reply

