Sound Track of Love

I was walking around the house this morning warbling “Good Morning to You..” and “Beautiful Dreamer” for no particular reason other than the sun was shining.  My Emmy said, “You have a beautiful singing voice, Mama.”

I smiled, because to anyone else, I am sure I do not, but it made me remember my mom singing when I was her age, something she did all the time–in the car and the kitchen doing dishes, everywhere, and I remember thinking how beautiful her voice was. Recording worthy even! Love makes it all beautiful, I think.

I learned a lot of songs and hymns from my mom. We sang in the car with her many times. Lisa sang harmony, and I sang third part. One memory is when we were camping out on Hinsdale Island up in the boundary waters of the Kabetogama State Forest . We were in the tent one evening around sunset, and Mom was singing this one:

Love divine, so great and wondrous,
Deep and mighty, pure, sublime,
Coming from the heart of Jesus.
Just the same through tests of time!

He the pearly gates will open,
So that I may enter in;
For He purchased my redemption
And forgave me all my sin.

In life’s eventide at twilight,
At His door I’ll knock and wait;
By the precious love of Jesus,
I shall enter heaven’s gate.

Lisa and I liked to join in on the chorus.

He the pearly gates will open,
So that I may enter in;
For He purchased my redemption
And forgave me all my sin
.

If Mom was singing, we knew everything was alright. No matter what else was wrong in this crazy old world, Mom was singing, so things were A-OK in ours.

We have no idea  how the music we play and sing is imprinted on the minds and hearts of our children. The memories of my mom singing go far back into earliest childhood. She sang many songs wherever we were, but the Christian songs and hymns are the ones that I remember most.  Her singing laid the soundtrack for my life and that of my siblings, and that soundtrack has never shut off. Sometimes, during the rough passages in life, the soundtrack grew quieter, but it has never left me. As I grow older, those same hymns and songs come back to me in full volume, and I try to pass some of them down.

I was singing this song recently, and my little daughter asked me about it. The song passes along everything I want to convey to her and to all of my children—most important words in the soundtrack of her life.

Because he lives
I can face tomorrow
Because he lives
All fear is gone
Because I know he holds the future
And life is worth the living
Just because he lives

And then one day
We’ll all cross the river
And fight life’s final war with pain
And then, as death gives way to victory
I’ll see the lights of glory and I’ll know he reigns

Because he lives
I can face tomorrow
Because he lives
All fear is gone
Because I know he holds the future
And life is worth the living
Just because he lives

One last thought. Emmy passed the speakers at home one day recently and stopped in her tracks. It was the song I posted here recently, “His Eye is on the Sparrow.” She listened to it on her way out the door to play. “That’s a very nice song,” she said, and she  walked out. Just another song in the soundtrack of love in her life.

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Sound Track of Love

  1. 'grandma' Jeanne says:

    Oh…more tears for me. My mother used to sing the songs of her day…Always was one of them. I be loving you always..etc. My dad would sing..”if I had the wings of an angel..over these garden walls would I fly”. Looking back those songs meant much to each of them. When I became a believer…hymns took their place and my husband used to quote the one who had here….’Because He Lives’. He is now with the Lord nearly three years. Songs will remind us of people and events, Thanks for the trip down memory lane….
    Do I sing now around the house??? Not really…dont’ know why.

  2. Ingrid says:

    Thanks for those memories, Grandma Jeanne! The young people today, my opinion here, lack a lot when it comes to the singing of music. They’ve grown up where the pros, even in church, are up on “stage” performing, and often singing either monotonous repetitive choruses, or un-singable solo numbers. Lyrically and musically, our kids lack music in their minds of any value. The words, accompanied by a memorable, clear tune, make songs and hymns stick. Tom and I have attended a church several times through the years. It is conservative but insists upon using contemporary songs on the wall. We have been there many times, but neither one of us, both of us highly musical, have any memory of the songs. The tunes are meandering and forgettable, even irritatingly complicated, the words repetitive and without any clear order and progression in what they say. It’s a loss really. My generation (I was born in 1966) is probably the last that even has an echo of a memory of real hymn and gospel song singing churches. Even the conservative churches have thrown out the hymns. I have a shelf of hymnals and Psalters from across the spectrum at home. A treasure trove of songs of Christ’s church that span the centuries. Unless we pass a few of these along to our children, they will be soon lost to the mists of time. I think that’s terrible.

  3. Carolyn says:

    Ingrid,

    Beautiful. Singing praise with joy is such a comfort to the heart! I love His Eye is on the Sparrow.

    I also agree with your comment that far too many churches lack worship music that has substantial lyrical content or a memorably melody. I’m also highly musical, and frankly I find the much of the modern music (these praise choruses) annoying. I feel it is disharmonious with the message of Calvary, in both the musical style and the lyrical content. The empty, repetitive lyrics are not edifying. Scripture says to build up one another with psalms, hymns, and spiritual songs.

    I like how you put it: “the tunes are meandering and forgettable, even irritatingly complicated, the words repetitive and without any clear order and progression in what they say. It’s a loss really.” Exactly!

    You are right, even conservative churches have thrown out the hymnals. Therefore, we choose to play and sing the old hymns on our own.

  4. Denise says:

    A multitude of untrained voices singing from a hymnal is the sweetest sound. It takes a bit of effort to hold a hymnal and sing those scriptural lyrics, and the majority seems to prefer one or two easy verses on the screen and be done with congregational singing. Something is lost there, yes.

  5. 'grandma' Jeanne says:

    It’s in the home that true faith will be devloped anyway. You’re doing a good thing for your family. The church no longer is what it was intended to be….Now it’s an entertainment center….

  6. Nancy says:

    Amen to the above!!, I find it impossible to be in the churches without the hymns to which there is none

  7. Judi Hayes says:

    I used to wake up my children when they were young with, “Good morning to you “, ” This is the day (….that the Lord hath made), and “oh ! What a beautiful morning” every single day. You just reminded me of those sweet days so long ago! They probably don’t remember…but I do!

  8. Judi Hayes says:

    I just asked my 19 year old son if he remembered…and I broke into song…His response, “I remember it as straddling the line between nice and annoying!” Lol. I said, “I think you liked it preschool, not so much when school-aged and wanting to sleep longer!” Haha! At least he remembers.

    And I agree with all of the above comments. And I also grew up with those old Swedish hymns, Ingrid. My dad was the one most apt to sing around the house. I think my mom was not confident about her singing voice. Though I remember singing together when we traveled in the car. And I remember my dad getting these little Family Hymn books for each of us to use as we stood around the piano,mom played and the rest of us sang. We all loved, and still do the great old hymns of our faith that connect us to previous generations.

Leave a Reply

