The Gospel of Madeleine L’Engle

I realize the subject matter of this post is a little off the beaten track for the Hope Blog. A friend recently described the growing influence of occult and paranormal  themes in children’s literature.  A trip to the children’s section of any bookstore will show just how true this is.  Like many parents, I have witnessed an acceleration of this in recent years.

The Gospel of Madeleine L’Engle is written by Claris Van Kuiken, an author and researcher I have known for over 25 years. While it is off the beaten track for my blog here, the spiritual nature of the subject matter makes it highly relevant.  One of the early children’s authors to blatantly introduce occult concepts and terms to children was the late Madeleine L’Engle.  The article details just how extensive these ideas are within her books, both for children and adults.  For Christian parents, it’s worth knowing.

 

 

9 thoughts on “The Gospel of Madeleine L’Engle

  1. Beverley says:

    Ingrid,
    Thank you for posting this. I’ve had warnings about the late Madeleine L’Engle from other sources but this article is a valuable resource for warning parents and grandparents concerned about the spiritual food being fed to our youth.

  2. Claris Van Kuiken says:

    Posted this on my face-book page today: “Recently, a friend asked me if she could give out a 20+ year old article I had written about the much praised “Christian author” Madeleine L’Engle. This year, her grand-daughter was being taught L’Engle’s widely-used novel, A Wrinkle in Time, at the Christian school she attended. The article was comprised of information I had researched and put together for Christian parents whose children were being taught the novel by Christian school teachers who believed L’Engle was a wonderful Christian author. I’d forgotten I had even written it, but found it in my files. I never tried to get it published. So, I pulled it out, fixed the grammatical errors (hopefully, I caught all of them), changed wording here and there, changed paragraphs around, and added new information, but I kept it mostly as written. Many of you have read my book, Battle to Destroy Truth: Unveiling a Trail of Deception, so you know the difficult struggle we had because of this author, and the pain my family and friends went through in dealing with our church leaders and other pastors/leaders/teachers in our denomination. We had belonged to our particular church for 14 years and the denomination for over 40 years, but eventually felt compelled to leave. Because L’Engle’s influence (and other authors like her) has been so great within the Evangelical/Reformed community, and we can see the affects of her works throughout, I told my friend I would post it on face-book. It doesn’t have all the church drama in it, but focuses only on her, her fiction and non-fiction. If you would like to read it, please click on the link from Ingrid Schlueter’s Hope blog to get it (thank-you Ingrid!). I have given permission to print and share it so others can know what is being considered “Christian” in so many Christian elementary schools and Christian colleges today.

  3. Claris Van Kuiken says:

    Note: A Winkle in Time is listed on the Sonlight (Christian) Homeschooling website.

  4. Beverley says:

    Claris – Thank you for sharing.
    Your comment concerning the Sonlight Homeschooling website doesn’t surprise me. As a former homeschool mom I was becoming very concerned with what others were allowing to be advertised at the “C”hristian Homeschool Conferences.
    Thank you for confirming that for those of us who were concerned weren’t over-reacting.

  5. Claris Van Kuiken says:

    You’re more than welcome, Beverley. Glad I could be of help to you.

  6. 'grandma' Jeanne says:

    Wow…I remember reading this book thinking it was Christian. I really think I needed discernment….I pray for that all the time. Thank you for sharing this article. I sent it to our daughter…I think she read it as a youth.

  7. Linn says:

    Thank you so much for this article! I homeschooled using Sonlight curriculum and when we read A Wrinkle in Time, we discussed the New Age/ Occult ideas presented in the book. I always used the Bible as the Standard to judge things. I ended up switching out a lot of books in the final years of homeschooling, simply because there were better choices that weren’t so “dark” spiritually. As a result my children can discern truth from error…and I thank God for the opportunity to be able to Homeschool them, even though it wasn’t my first choice. They have a firm foundation in God’s Word! (by the way we never read the Harry Potter books, The Shack, The Twilight books, etc…because they were so obviously contrary to The Bible…but we discussed them to point out the error because their peer groups were talking about them.) Linn

  8. 'grandma' Jeanne says:

    Good for you!! You did a fantastic job teaching discernment to your children.
    May your tribe increase.

  9. carol robertson says:

    Thank you once again, Ingrid, for shining the Light of Truth on false teaching. God Bless, Carol

Leave a Reply

