A Special Find – A Special Name

Me with my grandpa, Oscar C. Eliason

I had a special blessing today in finding a version of my grandpa’s song, A Name I Highly Treasure, on YouTube. There are not many good quality recordings of it on there, I check once in a while for something new. I found this little gem uploaded just two months ago from a recording at a Nazarene church in 1964. The quality of the recording and the voices were a delight! It’s apparently from an LP record.

The beautiful words are true for all Christians. The world uses the name of our Savior as a curse word, walks on it, spits on it. To those of us who love Him, that name is the name above all names. A name we highly treasure.

The singers recorded verses one and three, but I have included the second verse. The powerful emphasis on that chorus really blessed my heart.

(1) I’ve learned to know a name I highly treasure.
O how it thrills my spirit thro’ and thro’!
O precious name, beyond degree or measure,
My heart is stirred whene’er I think of You!
My heart is stirred whene’er I think of Jesus,
That blessed name which sets the captive free —
The only name thro’ which I find salvation.
No name on earth has meant so much to me.

(2) That name brings gladness to a soul in sorrow.
It makes life’s shadows and its clouds depart —
Brings strength in weakness for today, tomorrow,
That name brings healing to an aching heart.
My heart is stirred whene’er I think of Jesus,
That blessed name which sets the captive free —
The only name thro’ which I find salvation.
No name on earth has meant so much to me.

(3) That name still lives and will live on forever,
While kings and kingdoms will forgotten be.
Thro’ mist or rain, ’twill be beclouded never.
That name shall shine and shine eternally.
My heart is stirred whene’er I think of Jesus,
That blessed name which sets the captive free —
The only name thro’ which I find salvation.
No name on earth has meant so much to me.

8 thoughts on “A Special Find – A Special Name

  1. Bethany L. says:

    Love it! I’ve told you I always loved this song and this rendition is so well done!

  2. Beverley says:

    Thank you for sharing this. I wonder what your grandfather had read in the Word prior to composing this? Or what time had he spent in prayer? The lyrics are so rich. Your grandpa surely loved the Lord. ❤

  3. Ingrid says:

    Grandpa had attended a Memorial Day ceremony, I believe it was, at a cemetery in 1946. The minister there managed to do the entire thing without once mentioning the name of Jesus. He came home very troubled by this and asked Norma, his wife, to take the boys for a walk. He sat down and wrote the song in under an hour, again, that is what my memory is recalling of hearing the story. The song was sold to Lillenas publishing for $400, and from there the song made it into various songbooks and hymn books and has been sung around the world. I sat down and played it in a missionary’s home on the border of Mexico once. He immediately knew it and began to sing. He was amazed that I knew the author of it! We also had dinner at some people’s home from Germany. After dinner the man and wife began to sing together. Guess what song they chose? And weren’t they amazed I knew the author! The Billy Graham Crusade choir sang it in Minneapolis and my grandpa was there to hear it. It must have really blessed his soul to see the song used by the Lord. There’s power and hope in that wonderful name.

  4. Beverley says:

    ” He came home very troubled …”
    Those words jumped out at me. Your grandpa used his troubled heart to bring glory to God. He did something with the gift of composing that the Lord had given him.
    How good of God to lead you on a path to others who would know this hymn. That’s just beautiful.
    I’m even more blessed by discovering this little bit of history behind the song and the impact it has had.

  5. Ingrid says:

    Grandpa was trained for the ministry at a time when the Protestant churches were infected with Modernism. Same old thing we have now in different packaging. Back then, seminaries were filled with “higher critics” who claimed they knew better than the Scriptures, denying Cardinal Christian doctrine and throwing out the faith once delivered. Celebrity pastors like Harry Emerson Fosdick were spreading the poison from all the way back in Eden. “Has God really said that?” Grandpa believed the Word of God and rejected Modernist teaching of his day.

Leave a Reply

