A Little Note for Readers

In July, I passed the nine year mark for my small Hope Blog. Before that, I had a Blogger.com site called Front Porch Chats (long deleted.) After moving from South Carolina back to Wisconsin 10 years ago, I changed the name and started over. Somehow having chats on a front porch in the frozen tundra of Wisconsin seemed unlikely!

As noted before, I never started this blog to be a success by blogging standards. It was a simple antidote to writing about the toxic state of the evangelical church and American culture that I nearly killed myself doing on the once busy news and comment site  I published as an adjunct to the talk radio show I co-hosted and produced. My heart has always been first at home anyway, and so I have enjoyed writing about my family and the good things there are in this world—good things that are often obscured by the ugly.

I haven’t written on here for a while. After getting really sick in June of this year, I ended up in the hospital where they diagnosed diabetes. The summer has been spent adjusting to an entirely new eating plan and medications. Because I did not fit the typical Type II profile of being overweight, it was somehow missed. It would be an entirely separate post to write about how crucial it is to protect your health as much as possible and be vigilant about it. No emotional stress, no other  person or their agenda can be allowed to dominate you and take your health away. We are not here to be the emotional punching bags for others.  Walk away and stay away.  Lesson learned. Stress, over time, kills. It’s that simple.

emilysecondgradeOur little girl, our surprise baby (was it just yesterday she was born?), just started second grade today. I debated once again about killing the Hope Blog once and for all. I have other outlets on social media that are more gratifying for sharing ideas and thoughts and allow me to have a little tighter control over who can contact me. There are some sad people in this world who enjoy drive-by insults and inflicting pain for the joy of…inflicting pain. But there are a whole lot of others through the years who have contacted me with appreciation for covering some subjects that have helped them. Spiritual abuse, family emotional abuse and the destructive effects of narcissism are just a couple of those topics. It is a sadly high number I have heard from who are living in near despair in family systems or churches where  these emotional and spiritual vampires are destroying them, and they are at a loss as to understand how to deal with the situation.

My own and my family’s horrific experiences in the last few years in particular have given me a lot of painful insight, and all I can do is share what I have learned in hopes that somebody else may benefit. It is tempting to see God as having abandoned you in these situations. That is the worst effect toxic people can have on others – the sense of God also having turned his back. But in spite of damage done, we need to trust that His hand is there, guiding us in the dark, leading us and sending encouragement through others to help us through.  And then, we can be a light to others.

So, in my small way here, I am back, Lord willing. I have always loved to write, and I hope that if God allows me strength, that I can share here in some way that encourages others. All topics are not good, but what is good in them is when we can point to hope in God, our refuge and strength in this life. No matter how much hatred is leveled at us, sometimes inexplicably.

Fall is around the corner. Like it is for many, it’s my favorite time of year. I’m looking forward to leaves falling and making pumpkin pie. I can’t enjoy it anymore thanks to my new low carb diet, but Emmy and Tom still can!

I hope anyone reading this has a beautiful day. God made it, so it’s good!

 

quote

 

 

18 thoughts on “A Little Note for Readers

  1. Kris says:

    Mornin’ Ing,
    Glad you’re back. Even Mike said to me the other day that we haven’t seen anything on your
    blog. We may not always comment, but we do read your wonderful writings. You have such a
    gift of thought spiritually, humanly, honestly, and just down to earth. We pray for your health
    to be getting better.

    I believe the truest statement you could make is the fact that even though some people will be
    rude and condescending about what you write, hopefully at some point it gives them “food for
    thought”. Maybe it will help someone and if that’s what it does or did, then it was all worth it!
    Thanks for doing what you do for those of us that appreciate your comments. Blessings for you to continue your blog. Just “keep on, keeping on”…love, US

  2. healinginhim says:

    Ingrid, Praying that you have renewed health and ‘hope’ as you endeavour to write again. I’ve always appreciated your Christ-honouring stance on any topic you choose to discuss. God bless you and your loved ones! ❤

  3. Marlene says:

    I am so happy that you are back. I have been checking your blog throughout the summer so it was a nice surprise to see a new post this morning. I have never commented before, but I just wanted you to know that I really appreciate your writings. Thank you so much!

  4. Nancy says:

    Thank you , Ingrid, I missed you and delighted you are going to continue! God bless you and will continue to pray for you and your loved ones!

  5. Janice McKenzie says:

    Dear Ingrid, I was holding my breath that you were going to announce your “good bye” to us, your loyal readers. Whew–you will continue. We are so happy. God bless you and praying for your healing.

  6. Lorrie says:

    Ingrid, I’ve missed you posting recently and am so sorry to hear about your diagnosis of diabetes. It sounds like you’re feeling better now and are adjusting well to your new diet and lifestyle. So glad to hear that you’ll be continuing your blog!! Take care!

  7. Ron Whited says:

    So glad to see this post Ingrid,more so to hear that you are taking care of your health. I have always enjoyed your straight forward approach to what can be sensitive subjects.
    I encourage you to stay strong and fight the good fight.

  8. Judi Adams says:

    Thank you Ingrid for bringing so much hope and encouragement to us over the years. This truly is “The Hope Blog” for so many of us and I’m grateful that you are continuing this site. May the Lord encourage your heart and bless you as you carry on. Praying for God’s grace on you and your sweet family.

  9. grandma121400 says:

    So good to have you back. Your blog has been such a blessing to me. You and your family are on my prayer list as you adjust to this new way of life. My daughter in law was diagnosed several years ago with type ‘ll diabetes. I’m sure you have found many resources through the web and public library- recipes, cookbooks. Not at all easy giving up so many of our favorite family recipes but I think that with a few modifications you will be enjoying pumpkin pie this fall! Loved Emily’s back to school photo!

  10. Carolyn says:

    So glad you’re back… though sorry to hear of your recent diagnosis. Health challenges can be frustrating, especially if you have one that doesn’t make you look “sick”.

    Please know your posts, especially the ones regarding abusive people/situations, have been a comfort and encouragement.

  11. Sandy Whistler says:

    Dear Ingrid,
    when you didn’t post for so long I feared you were ill and wrote to express my concern.
    I have been praying for you and your family without knowing what was going on. I’m sorry to hear about your illness and will continue to pray for all of you.
    Thank you for continuing the Hope Blog as I do enjoy it so much. I have been following
    you since Laodicea and learned so much from that one as well.
    With love and gratitude, Sandy Whistler

  12. Ingrid says:

    Hi Sandy, I meant to respond and then lost the email as new ones came in. I am sorry to not have responded. Your note really touched me, having someone write and check on me. Thank you for your kindness and for remembering me!

  13. Denise says:

    Hi Ingrid, I’ve missed you during your absence! So sorry you’ve had to deal with health issues. Keeping you and your family in prayer. Your writings are an encouragement, and often address me where I am at the moment, and I’m sure it’s no coincidence. Thank you for sharing.

  14. Donna D says:

    I like others who read your blog, get concerned when you don’t post for a while, in this case a couple months. I made a decision some months ago to take better care of my own health. It’s not easy, but I feel better and less sluggish. You’ll be in my prayers.

  15. Judi Hayes says:

    Ingrid, my heart always does a little flip-flop when you mention that you are considering shutting down your blog! And then that blessed sigh of relief when I hear you aren’t! Even though I see you on Facebook too, this is a different format which allows you to go a little deeper than facebook. Plus, I know there are people who aren’t on facebook who would miss what you have to offer. I agree with everyone above for my gratitude that you take the time to share your gifts….your ability to clearly see through so much of the contemporary morass, your sharing of beautiful music, your thoughts on family in general, plus the pictures and stories about your own family, good books, written prayers, beautiful art,and a host of other encouraging thoughts that the Lord brings to your mind, coupled with your ability to write so well. Remember when you are discouraged by the people who come here to put you down, that it is their issue, not yours. And far more people are encouraged and thankful you are here. The LORD bless you. (And perhaps you can still have a bit of pumpkin pie if you make it crustless, lightly sweeten it with maple syrup, (which has good nutrients and not just empty calories), and just take a teensy bit and eat tinier bites to make the enjoyment last longer. I found quite a few recipes I’d play with when I googled low-carb pumpkin pie recipes. I would surely serve it with whipped cream and pecans on top!)

  16. Ingrid says:

    Thank you, Judi! You are one of the great blessings on Facebook with your beautiful posts. Thank you, all of you who have made kind comments. I am grateful for the feedback. Judi, I am learning all the time about what I can eat and can’t and how much. You are right! I met with a nutritionist nurse and she was greatly encouraging in that she explained carbs more fully to me. I had lost so much weight because I thought I pretty much couldn’t eat anything “good.” Thursday night I went out with Jon and the family to celebrate his birthday and I had half a baked potato. Whoa! Awesome. When I had it with the right kind of fat and protein, it was fine. My numbers were great, and I was relieved. I have a lot to learn about diabetes, but yes, pumpkin itself is a good food and I plan to bake some crustless “pie” soon. Yee ha!

  17. Carol says:

    Ingrid, So glad you’re back! Type 2 can be reversed with diet and exercise, PTL! Yes, have some of that pumpkin pie without the crust! Have protein first during the meal , then some carbs. I’ve also learned that keeping the acidity down and alkaline balance up is important to health. Sweet potatoes and avocados are good, as well as water with lemon. God Bless you, Carol

Leave a Reply

