I’d Rather Be Small…

I would rather be broken and tender than to hurt other people.

I would rather be a small nobody, in a small house, in a small town with a small voice, than to be big and leave people shattered behind me, and worse,  do it in Jesus’ name.

I would rather have a few small tasks and do them well, than be rated a “high capacity” person (that popular term cracks me up) in some gleaming church building and make the fatal error of building a ministry on the bones of others.

I’d rather be humbled by God than have tens of millions to build big stuff and be a complete creep and a spiritual fraud.

To be really useful to the Lord, the same one who was homeless and who didn’t even have a pillow for his head, you have  to accept “small” and embrace it fully. There is real peace there.

I was driving home from dropping my little girl at school this morning, and I was grateful once again for the  simplicity in my life, for a short list of tasks to do today, and a few modest writing goals to accomplish. I’m at a season where this increasing quietude is welcomed. If I can bring a smile or encourage someone here at the Hope Blog or on Facebook, I’ve had a good day. If my husband and child are cared for, I’ve done my job for Jesus.

There are moments when I forget and kick myself for not accomplishing this or that. Then I think, but that isn’t what God has for me. He had something so very much better, because my Creator understands me better than I do. What a wonderful thing.

All I can hear as I type is the click of my keys and when I stop, I can hear the tick of our cuckoo clock in the dining room. It’s peaceful here. I wish the same for all of you who are in pain or grief today. I wish the peace of God for you. The God who uses broken people just like me and like you. But you have to give the pieces to him.

“…And let the peace that comes from Christ rule in your hearts. For as members of one body you are called to live in peace. And always be thankful.” ~  Colossians 3:15

broken

6 thoughts on “I’d Rather Be Small…

  1. Carol says:

    Thank you, Ingrid. This is a cup of cold water to a weary soul. I am recovering from sciatica for the third time. The Lord sometimes slows us down and has us simplify.

  2. Denise says:

    Amen. This is where I am right now, simplifying and letting God prune some things that drown me in “busy”. The image and performance demon is always lurking to spread us too thin. When the Lord slows us down, it’s not always pleasant at first, but it pushes the reset button. Thanks for sharing, Ingrid.

  3. Bethany L. says:

    Love it. It so reminds me of this old song:

    In the harvest field now ripened
    There’s a work for all to do;
    Hark! the voice of God is calling
    To the harvest calling you.

    Refrain:
    Little is much when God is in it!
    Labor not for wealth or fame.
    There’s a crown-and you can win it,
    If you go in Jesus’ name.

    Does the place you’re called to labor
    Seem too small and little known?
    It is great if God is in it,
    And He’ll not forget His own.

    Are you laid aside from service,
    Body worn from toil and care?
    You can still be in the battle,
    In the sacred place of prayer.

    When the conflict here is ended
    And our race on earth is run,
    He will say, if we are faithful,
    “Welcome home, My child-well done!”

  4. Carolyn says:

    Well said. Matthew 10:42 says whoever … gives to one of these little ones even a cup of cold water to drink, truly I say to you, he shall not lose his reward. A cup of cold water is a small thing. Most of the Lord’s work is out of sight of men.

    Love Havner.

  5. healinginhim says:

    Ingrid, Thank you for these words of encouragement and reminding us to give the ‘broken pieces’ to the Lord. He so very patient because quite often when I feel I have given them all to Him I feel something and realize that there is still another piece in my pocket.

Leave a Reply

