Singing Nurse Brings Comfort

If you have ever been in the hospital and in pain, you know the difference having a great nurse can make. Sometimes an extra special nurse walks in and does something above and beyond to ease your suffering. One nurse I had when hospitalized in 2009 for three days was one such angel. I’ll never forget what she did for me.

The nurse in this video below has an especially compassionate touch in working with elders in a hospice setting. I can only imagine what it means to have a kind touch and to have someone sing to you, as this video shows. God bless this man and all nurses who bring help and comfort to hurting people of all ages, despite the workload many of them have.

P.S. 27 years ago, when one of my children was repeatedly in the hospital, sometimes for three days at a time, a woman named Carmen became our son’s regular nurse on second shift. I have no idea where she is now, but we were always delighted to have Carmen assigned to us. That’s why we still remember the angel on 7th floor south.

2 thoughts on “Singing Nurse Brings Comfort

  1. Bethany L. says:

    Love this! Several years ago Mike and went to a nursing home for 2-3 years. He would read the Bible and I would talk to and listen to the patients. There was one particular lady who we just loved and once at Christmas Mike suggested I sing carols to her, so I did. Normally she had trouble speaking, but she was able to sing! And she remembered many of the words. So I would sing each time we visited her…old hymns and choruses. It was such a blessing and it meant as much to me as it did to her. It broke our hearts when she died

Leave a Reply

