Islands of Calm

More than anything else, home should be peaceful. Children thrive in a place where they can hear the sound of their own thoughts and ideas and just be together with loved ones. This scene in the painting below (I found it at Homespun Wife, who found it somewhere else) shows that kind of quiet of contentment, without the scream of news or entertainment media telling everyone who they should be and what they should think.

I can’t stand television and radio anymore. My hearing loss is one reason. Before my newest hearing aids, it was getting to the point where I couldn’t hear it anyway over the incessant ringing. With my hearing aids, everything is borderline too loud, so the sound of radio and TV is jarring and shrill. I get tired of it almost immediately.

I like quiet where I can think and where I can write or read. When I showed Tom this image, he said, “I doubt that very many homes look like that anymore.” I think he’s right. But nothing prevents us from creating islands of calm and togetherness  in our homes. Give technology the boot evenings. Children love to draw or look at books if you give them the tools., and they love to show you what they are creating Just being together to talk is my favorite way to spend time with Tom, even when there are long pauses. In a world of insane hyperactivity and meaningless noise, it is a healing thing for all of us.

P.S. To the unknown painter of this, thank you. What a gift to people to be able to portray scenes of homey and lovely things that we can relate to. Contemporary and postmodern art fails to connect with the everyday person and is now reserved for elitists who claim to derive meaning from the incomprehensible and ugly.  They are welcome to it.  I’m grateful to those who use their artistic talents to create things that are meaningful and uplifting.  The need for that is greater than ever.

cozytogether

7 thoughts on “Islands of Calm

  1. Carol says:

    Ingrid, I love that picture also. It actually looks like you and Tom and Emmy with Will in the pic on the wall! : ) My husband and I disconnected our TV service a number of years ago. I love the quiet and I do not miss the monthly bill. I have been reading more, which I love, and do not miss wasting time “surfing” the channels looking for something worth watching. I like being able to have my own thoughts. The painting looks like your family’s values and the home life that you are creating. Beautiful.

  2. Rose says:

    We had our TV service disconnected also. Best thing we ever did. It brought a sense of calm back into our home. Never missed it. Radio, too, has become rancorous with all the political talk shows and loud disgusting ads. I rarely turn it on. The picture reminds me of what family life was like when I was a child before TV came on the scene. Better days.

  3. Denise says:

    I also love pictures like that, and imagine myself in the scene. People become addicted to noise and desensitized to the vile things on the screen. My artwork is amateur as best, but I try to make happy things to bring a smile. This is great inspiration to make more enriching works for people to enjoy. I’ll check out Homespun Wife, also. Thanks for sharing, Ingrid.

  4. Carol says:

    1 Thess. 4:11 …aspire to lead a quiet life…1 Tim. 2:2 …that we may lead a quiet and peaceable life…Isaiah 32:18 My people will dwell in a peaceful habitation, In secure dwellings, and in quiet resting places. Thank you, Jesus.

  5. Judi Hayes says:

    This picture reminds me of a period of time during my single years when I was living back at home with my parents as an adult, teaching first grade in my hometown. We would often spend winter evenings like this, dog and cat sleeping near the wood stove, beautiful classical music playing as a backdrop to the rest of us reading whatever, occasionally pausing to say, “Hey, listen to this….” I used to describe it as so emotionally satisfying. And it was. Married life, due in part to my husband’s job, has not been so simple. (But it is what it is.) This picture is still what I aspire to. I even named our home, “Fridhem” (peaceful home), because it is our goal! Thank you, Ingrid, for the very true words you’ve written here, and to the others who have commented as well!

  6. Donna D says:

    There’s a similar picture that hangs in the oral surgeon’s office where I got my tooth implant work done. I was very pleasant to look at while getting worked on. And I took cut the cable cord; and I can’t use those HD Antenna because of where I live. But I don’t miss the TV nor the bill!

  7. Beverley says:

    This is wonderful. Thank you for sharing.
    I haven’t had the TV or radio on in years and find it very disconcerting when I visit others whom have either one on all day.
    I use the computer and am able to control what filters into my mind minus the “in your face” advertising.

Leave a Reply

