Hymn for a New Year

Happpy New Year, everyone.

This is my favorite rendition of the hymn, Guide Me, O Thou Great Jehovah. I first heard this recording 15 years ago and found it again recently on YouTube. The hymn is often sung way to quickly (in my view), and the import of the words can be lost. This very large choir and the slower tempo, particularly the last verse and ending, just fits!

Guide me, O thou great Jehovah,
pilgrim through this barren land.
I am weak, but thou art mighty;
hold me with thy powerful hand.
Bread of heaven, bread of heaven,
feed me till I want no more;
feed me till I want no more.

Open now the crystal fountain,
whence the healing stream doth flow;
let the fire and cloudy pillar
lead me all my journey through.
Strong deliverer, strong deliverer,
be thou still my strength and shield;
be thou still my strength and shield.

When I tread the verge of Jordan,
bid my anxious fears subside;
death of death and hell’s destruction,
land me safe on Canaan’s side.
Songs of praises, songs of praises,
I will ever give to thee;
I will ever give to thee.

3 thoughts on “Hymn for a New Year

  1. April says:

    This is one of my favorites, too. I never thought about slowing down the tempo, though I will say it is a bit of a tongue twister if sung too fast.
    Happy New Year!

  2. Beverley says:

    Wasn’t able to access the link supplied but I listened to several others. Definitely a beautiful prayerful hymn to start of a New Year. Found it interesting how some have changed the wording to proclaim “Guide me, O thou great Redeemer” instead of keeping with “Jehovah”.

Leave a Reply

