A Special Blessing this Thanksgiving

In God’s perfect timing, today I am going to pick up my new hearing aids with our son, Will, back from college, coming along. We had no means, no way to do this. My hearing has been dropping into a zone where I can’t hardly hear the articulation and voice of my loved ones next to me. Through God’s vast mercies, I was able to get tested and to purchase new hearing aids with the latest technology to replace old ones that never worked correctly. The audiologist put them in last week, and tears just welled up. I could hear the voice of my Tom and Emmy standing behind me. Every word, as clear and crisp as can be. I heard things I haven’t heard in years, like floors creaking and when the audiologist took me outside, I heard the leaves crunching under my feet.

Emmy left this little piece of paper on my desk last night. She does this constantly, writing notes about God or bursting into song. (The other day she sang out,”Thy hand, O Lord, in days of old, was strong to heal and save!” just at the right moment.)

So this will be a very special Thanksgiving for me personally. Emmy’s note says all I can say from a full heart. I am so grateful to the kind people who made this possible, that words don’t really express it adequately. Thank you, dear people. Thank you, God. Soli Deo Gloria.

Epic

10 thoughts on “A Special Blessing this Thanksgiving

  1. Ingrid says:

    “…For He who is mighty has done great things for me,
    And holy is His name.
    And His mercy is on those who fear Him
    From generation to generation…”

  2. Denise says:

    So happy that you are able to enjoy the sounds again! Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family with many blessings beside.

  3. James says:

    I am so pleased for you Ingrid, I give Almighty God all the glory for what He has done for you. He found you worthy and answered your prayers. All praise and honour to Him through Jesus Christ. James.

  4. Donna Knuth says:

    Ingrid, I too am wearing hearing aids. Right before Allen got sick, I took some American Sign Language classes…didn’t get far because that was when Allen had his first stroke. I suggest taking some ASL classes and have your family also take them…it will help with communication. Sometimes I can’t pick up everything, and fortunately I have a couple of friends who are interpreters and they help me out…especially at church. I don’t always catch everything Pastor says.

    Donna Knuth

    ________________________________

  5. Beverley says:

    So happy for you, Ingrid. I had no idea that you had been suffering with hearing loss.
    Yes, Emmy’s note says it all and I am grateful that you have shared your story with us so we can share and help others who are suffering.

  6. Ingrid says:

    Thank you for the kind comments. Donna, thanks for sharing that. With these new hearing aids, I am realizing how much I had lost without realizing it. My old hearing aids were awful in listening to music, and I’d take them out and crank the volume, further damaging my ears. Pitch perception (I had excellent pitch at one time) was bad without hearing aids. I’d think something was in one key and start singing only to realize something was seriously off. Me. Anyway, these new ones are incredible, the range of sound and they are SMALL! The other audiologist only gave me one type that she said would work. She was so wrong. These little ones can be hardly seen. The other clunky ones were really ugly and uncomfortable. I am really happy. Things are too loud right now as they always are when you adjust. My computer keyboard clacking sounds like thunder, LOL. But that changes as your brain begins to adjust. Thanks for writing. Hope you’re well.

  7. Susan says:

    Ingrid, I don’t really know you, but I had Emily in SunSch earlier this year, and my daughter teacher-aides in her classroom. And boy oh boy, I LIKE your girl. She is just delightful! Hooray for those awesome hearing aids for your Thanksgiving gift.

Comments are closed.