19 years Ago…Two Miracles

At a recent eye checkup, I tried out a new machine in the office that takes a very detailed look at the retinas, a much closer look that was possible before.

I knew I had scarring on my retinas from a case of severe preeclampsia with our youngest son, Will, and for the first time, I got a real look at the damage. It was a reminder of how close to being permanently blinded I really was. The fluid that had built up in a life-threatening experience bowed my retinas outward, doing damage as it did so. The eye doctor pointed out to me that in both eyes, the scarring came within a tiny margin of destroying the optic nerve.

The legal blindness I had for two weeks after Will was born eventually subsided, all thanks to the Lord. I remember the day when the dim light I was seeing was replaced with normal vision. All of a sudden it was like a million diamonds were sparkling all over. The light was coming back into my eyes. Within hours, literally, I could see fully again, lines on paper were straight again instead of wonky looking, and things were sharply focused.

Today marks 19 years since that frightening evening when I, by God’s merciful Willgesuorgan1design, went in for a prenatal check-up on a Monday instead of a Wednesday appointment, which saved my life. My blood pressure was through the roof. The doctor, a young man without any experience with preeclampsia he later admitted, sent me into the hospital, and I was hooked up to every monitor in existence. Will was born prematurely that night, but both our lives were spared.

God still had work for me and for Will. I am deeply grateful. Will is a tornado, a man with a plan ever since he was little. I can always tell when he is home, because the piano in our living room will burst into sound at random moments. When I hear that sudden music, I know our son is there.

In between his landscape work this summer, he is preparing for a noon-time concert at a church in Milwaukee in a couple of weeks. He is good friends with many organists in town who seem to like our son a lot. We like him, too!

Every child born into a family brings something to it. Will brings music. The night he was born, I had this piece of music pounding through my head. It’s fitting that the composer, Anton Bruckner, was an organist as well as composer of symphonies! It is one of Will’s favorites, and I don’t think it’s a coincidence.

So, in honor of Will, here’s the finale to Bruckner’s 8th Symphony. The whole 22 minutes is a wonderful listen.

 

6 thoughts on “19 years Ago…Two Miracles

  1. Kim Bravo says:

    Happy Birthday to your amazing Will. Always astounded at his talent and hard work and love watching him. Your eyes. Thank God you can see.

  2. Kris says:

    Didn’t know about the possible blindness Ing. God is always watching out for us.
    So blessed to have you. Happy Birthday to Will…
    Love

  3. Beverley says:

    Happy Birthday, Will!
    And Ingrid, I am deeply grateful for “the work” God has given you and your loved ones …
    Your lives glorify the Lord. Thank you, Lord.

  4. Denise says:

    Thanks for sharing this wonderful story. It’s humbling when we look back and recall what the Lord has brought us through. Happy Birthday to Will. God’s hand is always at work. Listening to this great piece of music right now.

Comments are closed.