Reading to Little Ones: Let Them Reach Up

windinthewillowsThis morning as I got my kindergartner ready for school, it hit me how much she is learning just through our conversations. The array of subjects covered is mind-boggling. Every day it is something new. Every few minutes, a fresh question, a new thought, a just-crafted knock-knock joke.

I have always believed that if you use a varied vocabulary in speaking with children, they will fill their mental storehouse with words they can use all of their lives. I have always loved words and language.  I found a box of vocabulary words once when I was young and played a game of memorizing new words. It wasn’t until years later that I realized how many of those words stayed with me and served me well in my work.

When reading to young children, we sometimes avoid reading words we think our children will not grasp. They may not grasp the words immediately, but by context and with explanation, they are hearing the words and learning.

I have told my own children that if they ever encounter a word they don’t know, they should look it up immediately and try to use it in the next few days. After that, they own that word.

Both of our grandchildren, Peter and Max, are highly verbal. Peter is not yet three and has an astonishing vocabulary and way of using words. His parents read good books to him, and his vocabulary reflects that. Max is right behind him.

I have just begun reading Wind in the Willows by Kenneth Graham to Emily. It is rich language, somewhat above where her comprehension is. But we are taking our time. She loves the characters and gets the thrust of the story from my explanations for those things she doesn’t understand. She is hearing the language and learning so much.

Last week, I came across an article (Thanks Judi) that addresses the importance of explaining up, rather than dumbing down what we read to children. Literacy begins at home in the earliest months of a child’s life. Conversation laced with evocative and descriptive language and good children’s literature all serve to increase a child’s vocabulary and understanding.

Here is the article, Explain Up, Don’t Dumb Down: Why Little Kids Need Big Words

Here is Emmy from last May. I came into her bedroom to find her “reading” to her friends. And yes, I cannot believe how she has grown this last year!

readingtofriends

3 thoughts on “Reading to Little Ones: Let Them Reach Up

  1. Lisa Green Kentala says:

    This is SO true. I talked constantly to my boys when they were babies – sang songs, made up stories/poems, read books to them, etc. Both my boys made up “poems” and songs from the time they were quite small and had large vocabularies. I have seen many mothers with small children not saying one word to them. I don’t understand that at all.

  2. Anne Schaller Koch says:

    I agree 100%. I love words also and hope as I get older I do not forget the rich heritage of words that have rubbed off on me through reading, conversation or just having fun with words. The words that sounded difficult were favorites for our children and road trips went fast as we tried to top one another with our word games. Learning new words can be fun and enriching at the same time.

Comments are closed.