Throwback Thursday

It has already been five years since Emily was born. I’ve been a mother for 28 years in April and a grandmother for almost three. Babies have been a part of my life since I began babysitting at 13 years of age when I had to learn how to fold a cloth diaper (no prefolds for that baby) and use diaper pins (run your hand between the baby and the pin so you don’t poke her!) Since then, it has been babies aplenty. Below my photo is my daughter-in-law with Peter and Max, the two most recent additions!

While I never achieved a lot of the hopes and goals I set for myself outside of motherhood, I have loved every moment of the calling I have had in being a mother and now, a grandmother. I don’t have a professional photo anymore, but this photo pretty much sums up my life’s work. I’m very grateful to have had the opportunity and pray for my children and grandchildren daily.

 

EmmyandMama

 

laura2

5 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday

  1. K. Bravo de Rueda says:

    That’s a beautiful photo of you and Em, Ing. Your face glows in your photos, I’ve always thought that. I love Laura’s photo also with the cute little guys! Your kids show the results of your love and care. I envy you getting to experience that. My nieces are the next best thing though. They mean the world to me as you can tell by my FB, LOL

  2. Beverley says:

    Thank you for sharing the photos, Ingrid. They certainly do sum up life’s work of loving and nurturing the next generation. The years go by so quickly. Many of us live far away from loved ones. I pray that their hearts will be opened to loving the Lord Jesus Christ as Saviour and Lord. I never know when I will see my precious “little ones” again?

  3. Therese says:

    Thank you for always lifting up the work of mothering. I often feel like I have to apologize for being home with my children. It’s real work, but women don’t get much respect for it. Lovely photos.

  4. Michele Morin says:

    It’s so great to read this post from the heart of a mother and a grandmother. I’m still in the thick of mothering, but the first grandbaby has come, and what a gift.

Comments are closed.