Happy 80th Birthday to my Mother

Today is my mother Freda’s 80th birthday. My sister and I and several of our children are planning to meet her at 4pm today, so we can show her our love and honor her on her day. Mom used to put Scripture on little cards around the house, literally on the doorposts of the house. We’d brush our teeth, look up at the mirror, and see a card with a verse we were learning. Over breakfast, she would take a card out of her box of “Daily Bread.” When I went through a very difficult time in my young adulthood, she would write out a whole page of verses for me of encouragement with my name put in every promise of God, like the note below from many years ago. Thank you, Mom, for loving God and loving us all in spite of a challenging road. There is a crown for you laid up.

Four years ago, we held a party for my mother at our home. It was such a wonderful afternoon. The words we had put on the cake were taken from the book of Proverbs, chapter 31:28. “Her children call her blessed.”

 

scripturemom

9 thoughts on “Happy 80th Birthday to my Mother

  1. Rose says:

    God bless your mom on her special day. What a wonderful example of how to instill God’s Word in a child’s heart and mind, making it alive and personal to them. She nourished your soul. What a precious note she wrote to you! Have a great celebration, Ingrid and God bless you all today.

  2. Kris says:

    Happy Birthday Freda! You raised an incredible daughter and such that Ing passed it on to
    her children. Glad she’s my sister-in-law. Love…

  3. Mary Schlueter says:

    I can’t begin to express how excited I am about being able to see my Grandma again after five years. I’ve always loved Grandma. Theres always that reassuring feeling that your Grandma gives her grandchildren and children and I know all of us to a certain extent have felt that despite the distance that has been between us. Ive never stopped thinking about you or forgot about you. Things that you used to tell me as a young girl…I still remember. The smell of your house. All the delicious food you would make for the holidays. When we all would sit in the basement and watch Hogans Heroes, Andy Griffith, The Rockford Files. When the cousins and us would have sleepovers. Go Easter egg hunting. We would climb the huge pine tree in your yard and peel the bark off the birch tree. So many memories. I love all of them. Those are memories I will never forget. I remember you talking to me about God and hearing you pray for me. You never stopped praying for me. Over the years I felt the power of God on your prayers. You loved all of us in a special and different way. I love you Grandma. I hope this birthday is special and will be the one you always remember. Love Always, Your Granddaughter Mary

  4. Jonathan Schlueter says:

    Happy Birthday Grandma!!! i hope this day will be filled with lots of love and kisses.
    Your grandson

    Jonathan

  5. Ingrid Schlueter says:

    Vern Eliason posted on my blog: “I was hoping you would have had a party for her.”

    Dear Vern, we certainly are having a party for her with her children and grandchildren. Always glad to have you stop by to remind us of how the enemy of souls works and the spiritual nature of what has gone on. Within seconds of my posting the Scripture and love for my mother, your comment showed up as an attempt to derail and discourage. God has used you many times in our lives to show what happens when demonic pride takes over in someone’s life. Thank you for serving as God’s Exhibit A and warning. The antidote to that is humility and love, and that’s the spirit that we have chosen to surround ourselves with. It’s amazing how much joy that brings a family!

    Then Apollyon, espying his opportunity, began to gather up close to Christian, and wrestling with him, gave him a dreadful fall; and with that Christian’s sword flew out of his hand. Then said Apollyon, I am sure of thee now: and with that he had almost pressed him to death, so that Christian began to despair of life. But, as God would have it, while Apollyon was fetching his last blow, thereby to make a full end of this good man, Christian nimbly reached out his hand for his sword, and caught it, saying, Rejoice not against me, O mine enemy: when I fall, I shall arise, Mic. 7:8; and with that gave him a deadly thrust, which made him give back, as one that had received his mortal wound. Christian perceiving that, made at him again, saying, Nay, in all these things we are more than conquerors, through Him that loved us. Rom. 8:37. And with that Apollyon spread forth his dragon wings, and sped him away, that Christian saw him no more. James 4:7.

    ~ from Pilgrim’s Progress

  6. Charlie says:

    Hi Grandma,

    My life has been blessed by you in many ways and I know that God has heard your thousands of prayers over me and your children and grandchildren. You have been a prayer warrior and a shining light of God in many people’s lives. May your years be blessed and may God reward you for your faithfulness. I have so many memories of you spending time with us as kids. You are an example of true love. Thank you grandma for all you have done with your amazing heart of love. I wish you a very happy 80th birthday grandma!

    ~With Much Love~

    Charlie

  7. Lisa Turner says:

    And what a beautiful party it was. Mom deserved to be honored…and she certainly was this evening. How thankful I am for our mom and for her influence in all of our lives! If there was one thing that could be felt tonight while we were together, it was the love we all share – love that has always been so beautifully modeled by our Matriarch.

  8. healingInHim says:

    What a precious tribute. Happy Birthday, Freda! Thank you for faithfully nurturing your loved ones in His Word. Your diligence inspires me to persevere amidst great hardship.

Comments are closed.