A Little Sunday Miscellany

We have a lot of snow coming down today, so I’ve been perusing food links shared by my friends on Facebook. A lot of the food ideas I admire but wouldn’t try. But this page of ideas for making food in muffin tins looked like something I could do. I especially am going to try the mini-meatloaf idea and the egg muffins. Here’s the link in case you’d like to check it out.

Music friend and Will’s former piano instructor, Stefanie Jacob, is part of the Prometheus Trio, a real gift to music lovers in Milwaukee. It is pure pleasure to sit and listen to her on piano with the cello and violin in the little gem of a recital hall at the Conservatory. The Prometheus Trio is doing a concert with vocals this week, and if you have a chance to go, you will enjoy some lovely, lovely chamber music. Here’s more information on it.

Here’s a great article called, The Heresy of Worshiptainment. I don’t have to summarize what it’s about, because the header pretty much does that.

At school, Emmy has learned Luther’s table prayer. Last night, I had made some homemade soup for supper and the simplicity of the table prayer really struck me as she prayed before we ate.

The eyes of all look to you, O LORD, and you give them their food at the proper time. You open your hand and satisfy the desires of every living thing. LORD God, Heavenly Father, bless us and these your gifts, which we receive through your bountiful goodness, through Jesus Christ our Lord. Amen.

After dinner, the prayer is this, taken from Holy Scripture:

O give thanks unto the Lord, for He is good; for His mercy endures forever. He gives food to all flesh; He gives to the beast his food, and to the young ravens which cry. He delights not in the strength of the horse; He takes not pleasure in the legs of a man. The Lord takes pleasure in them that fear Him, in those that hope in His mercy.

With these simple words, the child’s heart is encouraged toward gratitude for blessings received and pointed to the true giver of them.

dinner

3 thoughts on “A Little Sunday Miscellany

  1. healingInHim says:

    Ingrid – Thank you for the links … too bad I didn’t live closer to enjoy the music.
    Worshiptainment? I’m going to add that to my vocabulary and see what reaction I receive?
    Now for the blessing … I must memorize these prayers and keep them sincerely in my heart … the simplicity of their thankfulness says volumes as to our attitude towards a very holy and gracious Lord.

  2. Ingrid Schlueter says:

    I accidentally left out several words in the table prayer, and I have added them now. Sorry about that!

  3. healingInHim says:

    No problem about some words being left out. You drawing attention to Luther’s prayers had me “searching” on the topic of prayers before meals.
    I’ve had quite a wonderful time praying 🙂

Comments are closed.