Just Because

Last night was one of those rare occasions when I got to hear Tom play. I see him go off to work as a musician and often do not give much thought to what he is playing when he is gone.  But there have been these moments in the last 20 years where I’ve gotten to see him, not just as my husband, but as the music professional he is. He played a fun holiday show with a big band last night. They were playing White Christmas, and all of a sudden, it was just Tom playing. His sound was beautiful, rich and flawless, and it brought tears to my eyes. It was the second show for that day, and it entailed a lot of loud playing, but he pulled it off so well, despite his schedule.

I snapped a photo of my favorite trumpet player before Emmy and I left with him to hear him play last night. Em particularly enjoyed the alto saxes. When they were warming up, she went off into fits of giggles every time she heard them. By intermission, she had fallen asleep, and even the loud sounds of the second half didn’t wake her up. She was the only child there, but she had a wonderful time.

TomChristmas

One thought on “Just Because

  1. Kris says:

    Love the tie!!! Would have loved to attend too. Glad you and Emily got to hear him play all the Christmas favorites. Thanks for sharing your wonderful evening.

Comments are closed.