“No Man Cares for My Soul”

This below was originally posted in August of 2013. My friend Teeky in the UK put up the attached video in conjunction with the Sanctuary Conference they held that year. I listened again to the audio of the pastor speaking, and all I can say is, yes. This is the entire root of our problems among Christians who are content to carry on without real love for anybody but themselves. This is it. Here’s the post from 2013:

Since posting on the subject of the love missing among Christians, I have heard from several people who are really hurting. One woman in our area has health problems that now keep her from her large, bustling Baptist church that she had been a part of for years. In the several months that have passed since she has had to stop attending church, not one on the large pastoral “team” has bothered to call on her. There is every program you can create at church, but no shepherd has visited and inquired how she is doing physically, let alone spiritually. This is the reality of institutional churches that have everything, but they lack the most important thing of all, the real Jesus.

This clip from Richard Owen Roberts (sent by my UK friend, Teeky,) really gripped me. We have to be the love or there won’t be any. We can’t look to spiritual leadership today, much of which is bankrupt and obsessed with programs and growth and image. We have to each be the love to each other. That’s all of our job in the body of Christ.

11 thoughts on ““No Man Cares for My Soul”

  1. Truthinator says:

    Today’s church has no time for people in need. They’re all about the high-capacity people… Yet Jesus is all about those who are in need. Do the math. Thanks for posting this wonderful message.

  2. Anonymous says:

    Thank you Ingrid, for bringing this to the forefront, again. Being in an abusive relationship(s) has dampened my joy as “No Man Cares for My Soul” 😦 I cry out daily for God’s strength and I know He is faithful. It would be nice to have a church family who preaches The Truth and truly cares about ‘souls’.

  3. Janice McKenzie says:

    We moved temporarily to the beach here in North Carolina and have attended a conservative upbeat church for almost a year. To date, except for the requisite greeting at the door, no one has ever spoken to us. They have never asked our name, invited us to Sunday School or anything. I even signed up to work and never received a phone call. We’ve even gone on Wednesday nights. I am including the pastor and associate pastor. We even went to a meet and greet and next Sunday the pastors didn’t even remember us. This is a small church of about 200. I am very sad as I do not know of a single theologically sound church in that area that I think will be kind to anyone we have witnessed to. Thanks for sending this.

  4. Ingrid Schlueter says:

    I am sorry that you have had that experience, not in a big church, but a small church. How utterly sad.

    Most churches today are about assembling an audience, not gathering together as Christ’s followers to love, exhort and encourage one another. It isn’t just the mainline or circus megachurches that have an endless stream of social activities – it’s the same nearly everywhere, an entire world of its own with a hierarchy of organizers and directors and managers who keep everything ticking along, running smoothly and staying aesthetically pleasing. For many, this model of “Church” isn’t a problem. If your life is going well, you are reasonably attractive and maybe even have something to offer in terms of talents, who doesn’t like a pleasant, busy “church” like this? But those who are looking for Christian support and fellowship, because they don’t have it anywhere else, those who maybe are ill, unemployed, who don’t drive nice cars, who can’t trade on their looks or prestige, those whose lives have been turned upside down by some new or long-standing tragedy or struggle, the depressed, those are the ones who feel the terrible loneliness it is to see face upon face walk past without a glance. They are invisible. Ultimately, they walk out with their pain and some simply no longer see the point in attending. They can pray or read a devotional at home, or listen to some media preacher. Who needs to be alone in a crowd as part of an audience when nobody cares whether you are there or not? Who needs it? I don’t think the “assembling of yourselves together” as it says in Scripture refers to filling a seat somewhere with a bunch of strangers who don’t care if you live or die. You don’t want to go where nobody knows your name. You have a better shot at that at your local bar or coffee house.

    To those who are depressed, one of the most powerful helps is to be able to talk and have a listener, even for a little while. It humanizes you again, because depression often leads to isolation. A genuine interest from someone not so absorbed in their own charming life can save a life, literally and spiritually. Don’t look for it in the organized church, especially if you are hurting in some way. The absence of love in a church can be like that final door closing in your mind, convincing you that not even God cares, if you can’t find a hand of kindness in his house. That’s why the message of this video is so important, and I’m glad I rediscovered it today. Sometimes in life we need the listener. And sometimes, WE are the ones called to fill that role.

  5. Teeky says:

    “Not for yourself, O church, do you exist, any more than Christ existed for himself.”
    – Charles Spurgeon

    Dearest Ingrid, every time I listen to that clip it’s as if a tremor literally goes through my soul. I wept sore when I first heard it and haven’t stopped weeping since.

    The body of Christ is no longer seen as a living ORGANISM where we all exist for God and for one another “growing up into Christ, from whom the whole body, joined and knit together by every joint with which it is supplied… each part…working properly” thus “building up itself in love.” (Eph 4:16)

    But instead a thriving ORGANISATION where we all exist for ourselves independent of one another!

    Why do we persist in standing on rostrums in a concerted effort to debunk the atheist when the atheist isn’t the greatest threat to the church? There is nothing more threatening and fearful than a church that has lost the call of Christ! The Church has lost sight of Jesus, the love of Christ no longer constrains or compels us with loving fervour. Instead, we’d rather comfort and deceive ourselves with empty professions of faith as we contradict the gospel message with our “dead fundamentalism”.

    And yet in light of all this, I am reminded of how often I need to search my own heart (daily) and be on my guard against this kind of leaven. Messages such as this one often serve as a litmus test, gauging the level of love within our own hearts. Are we loving others as we ought? Or are we allowing the spirit of this age (selfishness) to creep in? Am I allowing the weeds of bitterness or unforgiveness to kill me softly? Are the cares of life and the deceitfulness of riches threating to choke out the word, causing me to not bare fruit to perfection?” Am I too busy to care for others, minding my “own things” instead of being mindful of others?

    Even now, I am somewhat convicted as The Lord has bought certain dear individuals to my attention. Thank you Lord!

  6. Ron Whited says:

    I have heard this many times,and it impacts me tremendously each time I hear it. This describes to a “T” the Assembly of God church I recently left and I have subsequently found this same lack of love in nearly every church I have since visited. My family now simply has our own time with the Lord and I minister to my fellow workers on the job when I can. Forty years ago when I surrendered to Christ I could never have envisioned what has happened to the church,and my heart weeps over her.

Comments are closed.