A Turkey Full of Blessings

turkeyofthanksEmmy came home from school with a poster board with a turkey on it. She is supposed to decorate the turkey with all the things she is thankful for. It’s sitting on our dining room table, and tonight we’re going to work on the project together.

My daughter-in-law, Laura, is helping me with Thanksgiving dinner this year, and today I went shopping for the things I’m going to make. I was standing in the aisle deliberating over an item when I was overwhelmed with a sense of thankfulness for just being in the store, able to buy things for our family, let alone a nice dinner like we’re planning. It’s a blessed thing to be able to have anything with which to feed our families, isn’t it?

As important as material things are, life without friends and loved ones would be a sad thing. Our gratitude this year centers around the people in our lives who are a daily reminder of our deepest blessings. They give us hope and joy, as we hope we give them.

My son wrote this the other day, and I thought it was simple, yet profound.

“True heroism is found in small but consistent deeds of love to those closest to you. God’s view of things is often the exact opposite of our own. While we fawn over the big deeds, God is paying attention to the ones we deem insignificant. It is those “small things” that will be revealed before the throne of judgement. Above all, love is the ingredient that gives worth to all our deeds, big or little. Without love, it is so much straw that will be consumed.” ~ Sam

(Son Samuel and grandson, Max and my little grandson, Peter with his frog this summer.)

 

SamandMax
Froggy

7 thoughts on “A Turkey Full of Blessings

  1. Ingrid Schlueter says:

    A special thank-you to my friend, Donna, who never ceases to be a comfort and well of good sense I can draw from. You amaze me with your kindness, and I am honored to be your friend. I hope you have a wonderful Thanksgiving.

  2. Ingrid Schlueter says:

    OK, I can’t stop there. Thank you also to my sister Lisa, simply the bestest sister in the whole world, her husband, Russ, who is a true brother, Wallace and Carol, my sister-in-law Kris and brother-in-law, Mike, another true brother, my dear friend, Sherry, in Des Moines and her mother, Frances, who have done so much for Emmy, my friends Paula and Paula (the two P’s), and Kim, who always posts cheery music on Facebook and makes me laugh, and so many others who brighten our lives. You’re our real family.

  3. Donna says:

    We are thankful that you and Tom are in our lives. And we wish you a peaceful and beautiful Thanksgiving.

  4. Lisa says:

    Thanks for this post, Sis. A great reminder of how we can remain content and find joy every day. Truly, renewing the mind with the things God has blessed us with is the key…and of primary value, are the family members and friends to whom we give and receive love…the greatest gift of all.

Comments are closed.