Thanks for the Children

jesus_with_children4I picked my daughter up from school last week. As she got into her booster seat in the car she said, “I had a GREAT day!” When asked why, she said, “I had a cupcake today!”

I made a big deal out of it, “WHAT? A cupcake? How did that happen?” That child then did something that just got me. She giggled. It was that unbelievably dear sound moms sometimes hear, like music bubbling up. “It was a teacher’s birthday. There was chocolate frosting.” The simplest thing in the world made her so happy.

I have to give thanks to God today for children. At times they can be exhausting, and they are work intensive, but their innocence and delight in the smallest things makes life bearable to me. That music of Emmy’s laugh reminded me of the Lord Jesus with the children on his lap, the ones his disciples tried to shoo away from him. He took them in his arms instead and blessed them. I think he probably heard a giggle. The cultures that are aborting children by the millions are aborting away all of that music, all of that hope and all of that God-given life. How evil. How foolish.

“He called a little child and had him stand among them. And he said: “I tell you the truth, unless you change and become like little children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven. Therefore, whoever humbles himself like this child is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven. “And whoever welcomes a little child like this in my name welcomes me. But if anyone causes one of these little ones who believe in me to sin, it would be better for him to have a large millstone hung around his neck and to be drowned in the depths of the sea.” ~ Matthew 18:2-6

One thought on “Thanks for the Children

  1. Judi Hayes says:

    Amen, Ingrid! I had a day like that today too. I get to watch a friend’s almost four year old daughter for a few hours once a week. She is a happy, giggly, ray of sunshine. Today we ventured out on this blustery, cold, but sunny day for a walk with Bella, our Old English Sheepdog (who is also a happy girl with delight in her every footstep.) Ellie giggled with delight at each new discovery, whether a patch of sand covering the cement sidewalk squares in front of someone’s house to stop and play in, running through the dry skittering leaves, finding a grey dandelion gone to seed to blow, or a milkweed pod to take apart and watch the wind set the seeds a-sail, and best of all down on her knees observing a banded wooly bear caterpillar which we brought home so she could share it with her older brother when he came home from 1st grade. And then once home she climbed on my lap for a snuggle while we read some books till her mom came to pick her up, and she said, “I’m not tired!” But her body language proved otherwise. Such a blessing.

Comments are closed.