In Memory of Ken Silva

A good friend and fellow blogger for many years, Ken Silva, passed away Sunday night at his home. His website became the go-to place for information on the disturbing trends within evangelicalism. I interviewed Ken many times on radio about the emergent spirituality, and we shared information constantly behind the scenes about the latest pertinent news in order to share it with our readers.

Words don’t convey the sense of loss to many of us who appreciated his work and contributions that helped readers to understand our spiritually tumultuous times. He, like all of us, took a lot of personal attacks for the work he did. I witnessed it many, many times at hate sites that smeared him in every way possible. He kept right on going. I am glad he is with Jesus now, beyond anyone’s ability to hurt him, beyond all pain and suffering. We’ll see you again, Ken. It won’t be long now.

16 thoughts on “In Memory of Ken Silva

  1. Beverley says:

    “His website became the go-to place for information on the disturbing trends within evangelicalism.” There is a sense of loss …
    Ingrid, it was a particular interview that you did with Ken Silva and Deb Dombrowski several years ago that presented a turning point in my Christian walk. I knew there was something wrong in ‘the local churches’ … as I was sorting through home school material on the basement floor, several comments later had me on my knees, tearfully thanking the Lord for leading me to this insightful interview. So, thank you Ingrid for introducing me to Ken Silva – I had not heard of him until this particular interview.
    Praying for Ken’s wife, Donna, family and many, many friends.

  2. Teeky says:

    This is such a great loss as brother Ken Silva was a true watchman continually alerting the body of Christ about dangerous trends and teachings infiltrating the church. I myself have benefitted tremendously from his extensive and comprehensive well researched body of work!

    This news has saddened me greatly…..a couple of weeks ago Caryl Matrisciana suffered a terrible bike accident and now this! But yes, our brother is now with THE LORD… if it weren’t for this vital truth I would be severely discouraged….

    God knows all things,
    Teeky

  3. J.L. Pattison says:

    This is terribly sad news. It reminds me of when blogger Jim Bublitz of OldTruth.com passed away in July of 2012.

    Even though I never met either of these men, their deaths are more personal because I (like many readers) became acquainted with them through their writing.

    Both men were needed to wake the Laodicean church, both men suffered in health, and both men will be sorely missed.

  4. Teresa says:

    Ingrid,
    When I came out of the WOF>NAR movement, I did not know where to turn. By God’s grace, I found these discernment websites, that the LORD entrusted to you guy’s to help open my eyes. Apprising ministries, slice of Laodicea, Let us Reason, deception in the church, Bob Dewaay. Justin Peter’s and several more. Ken Silva will be missed but he sure did fight for the truth of God’s word and his reward will be great. I notice up to the day before he died, he posted an article. Way to go Ken and many prayers for his family. Thank you Ingrid for all that you do as well. Teresa

  5. Ingrid Schlueter says:

    Thanks, Teresa. If you don’t mind me looking back for a moment. the Slice blog started in 2004 as a small blogger site, just before our family moved out of state. Within weeks, literally, it took off like a rocket. It was a natural extension of the radio show I co-hosted and produced for many years. Suddenly, blogging had opened up new avenues for sharing what we had previously only broadcast on the radio. In South Carolina, readership continued to grow, and a new blog site was created to handle it. That’s when I met Ken shortly after relocating. He had a small site at the time with some very well-written articles on the Purpose-Driven movement and what it was doing to churches all over America. I had him on the radio program and he was articulate, to the point and knowledgeable. (He had once been in radio as well.) From there, I began linking frequently to his site, and then he had his website re-designed. Apprising was off and running, ultimately becoming one of the top religion sites according to Technorati. He has a wealth of information on that website on all of the spiritual trends of the last decade with the postmodern spirituality, the seeker church movement, the rise of mysticism within evnagelicalism and general abandonment of biblical theology in the West with the predictable decay.

    I will always remember Ken as that voice on the phone with important news, as the sender of info-laden emails at all hours, as the fellow fighter in the trenches who would not be schmoozed and wined and dined out of publishing truth in our time. He, I and Chris Rosebrough, and Bob DeWaay were all invited, all expenses paid, to Saddleback Church by Rick Warren. The intent was self-evident. Rick felt we could be flattered out of what we were writing. He was wrong. When you don’t have much and you aren’t hanging with the elite, you don’t have much to take away. That’s the beauty of being small. But as the story of David and Goliath demonstrates, God often uses small things and small people to accomplish His ends. Ken Silva was a warrior, and he did it all in the midst of some very difficult situations personally, including bad health. I am grateful for his service to the Lord and look forward to seeing him again some day.

  6. Beverley says:

    Ingrid, Thank you for reflecting … I can remember thanking and praising the Lord when you and others declined the offer to be schmoozed. Yes, we look forward to seeing Ken again, someday and I am forever grateful that you and your family remain faithful to the Lord; serving Him where He has placed you.
    I also appreciate the reminder about how “… God often uses small things and small people to accomplish His ends.” I for one, feel awfully small but ‘the names’ you mentioned who are faithful in the battle are a great example and encouragement to me.

  7. Ingrid Schlueter says:

    I saved an annoyed tweet from Rick Warren about Ken Silva, me and Chris Rosebrough shortly after the invitations were extended. It still makes me smile. He was trying to say that if we weren’t on board for the Purpose-Driven movement, we were do-nothings, like the Veggie Tale characters. LOL.

  8. Beverley says:

    Sooo sad, Ingrid. Once again, because you’ve been in ‘the public eye’ you get more than a double whammy of abuse! Have prayed and continue to pray for you and others who “contend earnestly for the faith.” JUDE 3
    Ken Silva, fought to the bitter end and we can encourage one another to do the same.

  9. Truthinator says:

    Being a burr under the saddle of a chief Seekermergent cowboy like Warren is priceless. Glad you and Ken “made his day”… Many thanks to Ken for his years of dedicated & valuable service.

  10. Rose says:

    Yes, I remember Jim Bublitz too, J. L. What a wonderful website he had OldTruth. I eventually wound up on Ingrid’s website and then Ken’s soon after that. Ingrid and Ken were the targets of so much meanness back then. I remember at one time there was even a website set up to purposely mock them both. It was very disturbing. Thankfully, the truth kept being told regardless and that website finally disappeared. I will miss reading his well researched articles. It was one place I always stopped by every day without fail.

  11. April says:

    Ken was one of the BEST! I, along with so MANY others, will miss his daily commentary. I started reading his information right at the beginning and was educated in so many things…all thanks to his wisdom and knowledge. I liked to listen to the interviews you did with him. So enlightening. He remained faithful in the fight for truth no matter what. I always closed my emails to him with: “Keep the armor on and your sword polished”…and he did. He suffered more than most of us can know and he’s now at peace and pain free. Praise God.

    Thank you also for your continued faithfulness to our Lord.

    2 Tim 4:7-8
    I have fought a good fight, I have finished my course, I have kept the faith: Henceforth there is laid up for me a crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous judge, shall give me at that day: and not to me only, but unto all them also that love his appearing.

  12. D. V. Aguiar says:

    Death is the result of sin not a truth we want to hear but a truth we all need to hear. To brother Ken death is now a sweet victory in the presence of his redeemer . People like yourself, Chris Rosebrough and brother Ken understand this truth of the true gospel which sets people free from death and gives them eternal life. My family and I are grateful for the work you all are doing realizing it brings no fame or earthly glory until we all go home with our Lord. Our prayers must be directed to Brother Ken’s family for strength and wisdom and to allow the Holy Spirit to comfort them at this time. For all of us still here we must seek the Lord’s wisdom and power daily to continue the good fight. Good- by fellow brother Ken

  13. henningsam says:

    Ingrid, thanks for sharing! I remember reading your blog in the midst of your move to S. Carolina and I must have linked to Ken Silva through you. I looked forward to your posts on Slice of Laodicea because you were able to put into words the disturbing trends I was seeing in the local church. I can’t explain why I feel so sad over Ken’s death except that he taught me so much! I never met him but exchanged a few e-mails and he was so gracious and kind to answer every one. I just wonder if the warnings to the church will eventually cease because no one seems to be listening ..Jim Bublitz….Ken Silva..Bob Dewaay is very ill I hear..but these are voices that God has used to keep me on a biblical path of understanding. May God raise up more just like them! Thanks to you Ingrid for your efforts as well!

  14. Rose says:

    The world is definitely becoming a lonelier place for the raiment. Another one whose voice of warning is gone from us now is David Wilkerson. And all of those you mentioned, henninghsam… I came to appreciate and love them as family. I pray that God will raise up other voices to take their place. So many are still asleep… not alert to what is happening right under their noses. How can that be? But then I remember I was once that way myself until I found Slice and Old Truth. God bless you Ingrid and the others out there who are still faithfully sounding the alarm.

Comments are closed.