Good Medicine

I don’t need vacations to exotic places, although those are really nice if you have them. I don’t need a credit card and retail “therapy” in a department store or in a glittering mall or even Target. A new car isn’t necessary, nothing against nice, new cars. I don’t need the latest movie or music or expensive restaurant or social event of any kind, including those at church, as nice as social events can be. I don’t need ten friends or ten places to go.

When the world presses in and the news feed is one long scream of outrage, when questions of “how to” loom in my mind, when energy flags in the face of constant demands and discouragement hangs like a cloud, the most effective cure is time with my husband.

His time is limited these days as he works very hard to take care of us all. But last night he made time, and we took a walk with Emmy dancing ahead in front of us through the fallen leaves. There isn’t a price you can put on quiet understanding and intelligent conversation. Just a few minutes with the one I love, that is the best restorative there is.

Not a day goes by when I am not freshly aware of the blessing of a kind husband, someone who strengthens rather than depletes you, someone who accepts and loves you the way you are. I once said that Tom is a “fix-it” man. Wherever he goes, he makes it better, whether it’s a house or a heart, he leaves it in better shape than before.

God bless these men who live this way in a world that is so horribly broken. And I pray God allows me to give back even a fraction of the comfort and joy this man has given me and our children.

The righteous man walks in his integrity; His children are blessed after him. ~ Proverbs 20:7

fall

4 thoughts on “Good Medicine

  1. Karen says:

    You are blessed! I listened to you on Stand Up For The Truth today, so I think I know you, I know you know HIM!

Leave a Reply

