Last of the Summer Beauty

My friend Kim lives in Ottawa, Canada. She is wonderful with her garden. This photo is of her last rose of summer, and I wanted to share it in all its beauty. (This pink is my favorite color ever.)

She wrote:

It is a David Austin rose called ‘Heritage.’ I planted it in honor of my grandma, whose birthday was the first day of summer, and I always gave her a bouquet of roses on her birthday from my mom’s gardens. This rose is absolutely gorgeous, it opens up as a fragile-looking cup of shells…If it’s hardy here, you can grow it in Wisconsin, so see if you can find the plant someday! It is the perfect pale, peachy pink. I always think of the poem at this time of year. Also, that first stanza always makes me think of elderly women.

 

‘Tis the last rose of summer,
Left blooming alone;
All her lovely companions
Are faded and gone;
No flower of her kindred,
No rosebud is nigh,
To reflect back her blushes,
Or give sigh for sigh.

—Thomas Moore

(Full poem here.)

 

kimsrose

4 thoughts on “Last of the Summer Beauty

  1. Carol says:

    Lovely shade of pink! It makes me think of Emmy, and also my granddaughter Felicity, (the old-fashioned word for happiness).

  2. Ingrid Schlueter says:

    Carol, that is the color Tom painted her room. I told him I wanted her to feel like she was floating on a pink cloud! Emmy’s a pink girl all around, much to my delight. Not all girls are, because God loves variety, but it’s nice to have pink around.

Leave a Reply

