3 thoughts on “The Father Who is There by Samuel Guzman

  1. Lori Glass says:

    This post really touches my heart. My father, Carroll Zietlow, was a wonderful man and a great father. He always had time for my brother and me. He played with us and was very patient and took the time to show us how to do our chores like how to stack wood or wash a car. When I was a little girl I loved Saturdays when he might need to go to the hardware store and I would get to go with him. I would hold his hand and watch and listen as he asked questions and joked around with the other men in the store. What fun. My dad was a forester and sometimes in the evening when he came home very tired I remember untying his work boots and helping to get them off, I did this out of love for my daddy. We had devotions in the evening and would kneel and pray together as a family. What people saw on Sundays is how he lived the rest of the week. My dad has been in Heaven for eight years and I miss him. Happy Fathers Day, Daddy.

  2. Sam says:

    This poem sums up well the responsibility of fatherhood!

    A careful man I want to be;
    A little fellow follows me.
    I do not dare to go astray
    For fear he’ll go the self same way.

    I cannot once escape his eyes,
    Whate’er he sees me do, he tries.
    Like me he says he’s going to be;
    The little chap who follows me.

    He thinks that I’m so very fine,
    Believes in every word of mine.
    The base in me he must not see;
    The little chap who follows me.

    I must remember as I go
    Through summer’s sun and winter’s snow,
    I’m building for the years to be;
    The little chap who follows me.

    Author: Unknown

  3. Rose says:

    Thank you for posting this wonderful piece by Sam. I am sending it on to my son. He and his wife are expecting their first child in December.

    Sam must be a wonderful dad.I love the poem posted above too.

Leave a Reply

