What is Missing

You know what is missing from those who call themselves Christians? There is more than one right answer. But after seeing the inside of ministries, seeing what goes on among so many who defend “truth”, experiencing the hatred, malice and slander of those closest to us, I think the biggest answer is love.

Many things are more important to Christians than love: image, fear, territory, causes, finances, free goodies being handed out. The nightmare we have lived is a case study in the absence of love. My husband, who is the most loving man I have ever known, said to me the other night, “Know what has been missing from this scene? People with love in their hearts for us.” And Tom was right. There is nothing that has happened that could not be solved, healed and forgiven if there was love for truth and love for us. There simply is none from the leadership at VCY.

We have had love from others outside VCY America who have seen what has happened—love from those who know who Tom and I really are, not the ugly caricatures painted by others for their own protection. Thank you to the loving friends God has put in our lives. We’re richly blessed by you, and that is what helps us to keep going, past all of this.

“By this all men will know that you are My disciples, if you have love for one another.” ~ John 13:35

7 thoughts on “What is Missing

  1. Beverley says:

    Yes, love is missing in so many Christian ministries. The timing of your post is remarkable … Yesterday I was pondering, “I live so far away; how do I let Ingrid, Tom and their family know that I care and love them?”
    Love you with the ‘love of the Lord’ and pray that your love for one another remains strong during the battle.

  2. Jean Selden says:

    Ingrid,
    Tom speaks for many in regards to loveless people. I extend my sympathies for all you have had to endure. But your love and dedication to God and your witness to us during this trial has been an example to me to never give up and that God is always my source for help.
    Even though I have never met you or Tom, I believe that you are truly my sister and brother in Christ and you have been a tremendous lift to my life.
    PS. I think God gave you little Emmy so you could experience real love when those whom you loved rejected you. To Him be praise and glory.

    In Christ Alone,
    Jean

  3. Ingrid Schlueter says:

    Thank you so much Jean, Cal, Beverly. You give us so much hope and encouragement.

    10 By this it is evident who are the children of God, and who are the children of the devil: whoever does not practice righteousness is not of God, nor is the one who does not love his brother.
    11 For this is the message that you have heard from the beginning, that we should love one another.
    12 We should not be like Cain, who was of the evil one and murdered his brother. And why did he murder him? Because his own deeds were evil and his brother’s righteous.
    13 Do not be surprised, brothers, that the world hates you.
    14 We know that we have passed out of death into life, because we love the brothers. Whoever does not love abides in death.
    15 Everyone who hates his brother is a murderer, and you know that no murderer has eternal life abiding in him.
    16 By this we know love, that he laid down his life for us, and we ought to lay down our lives for the brothers.
    17 But if anyone has the world’s goods and sees his brother in need, yet closes his heart against him, how does God’s love abide in him?

    I John 3

  4. Cindy says:

    Ingrid,
    I feel so bad for you and your family and I don’t know what to do except continue praying. I took your advice from an earlier post and spent time reading all of your posts from the beginning (all the snow we had today left the perfect excuse to do this). The posts are encouraging. I don’t know how you can be encouraging when you are in such an extremely hurtful situation. It just goes to show how strong your faith must be. I don’t think I could be the same if it were me. The only way I can think to encourage you is to let you know I am thinking and praying for you and your family.

  5. Sam says:

    At the core of the faith is the merciful heart of Jesus that beats with a fiery love for mankind. How can we say we know him—indeed are united to him—if we do not possess the same self-sacrificing love for those we call our brothers and sisters? It is unthinkable.

    Jesus, meek and humble of heart, make our hearts like unto Thine.

  6. Judi says:

    “Jesus, meek and humble of heart, make our hearts like unto Thine.”–Amen! Sam.

    “There is nothing that has happened that could not be solved, healed and forgiven if there was love for truth and love for us.”–This is my heartfelt prayer for ALL of you. And that it would happen SOON for the glory of GOD.

Leave a Reply

