Flying into a New Year!

This is the last day of 2012. Emmy wears her new pink wings as we fly into another year by God’s grace.

At the end of a year, there’s a tendency to look back and review all that happened. That looking back can be fraught with danger if we look only at the negatives, losses, hurt and difficulties. But looking back with an eye to seeing God’s providence, kindness, and every day grace makes looking back an altogether different matter.

Each day we live is an opportunity to see God’s mercies in small things and big things. Patience and faith in dark times is the hard part, but that is the essence of our faith— believing when we don’t see the answer in front of us. That kind of faith can only come from God, because in our flesh we faint. But inwardly, God renews us day by day so that we can mount up with wings like the eagles, no matter how many earthly weights try to tie us down.

Thank you to all who stop by this little blog. I sometimes question the worth of continuing it, but if I can help others who struggle by showing an honest portrayal of walking with God through the good and the bad, than it’s worth keeping it up. It’s my home-spun testimony of a family that desires to honor God through hard times and through joy, despite our failings. Our hope is not in our faith, but in the object of our faith, Jesus Christ, who is able do exceedingly, abundantly above all that we ask or think.

To God be the glory, great things He has done and continues to do!

Here is Emmy in her new pink wings. At left, she demonstrates her take-off position. 😉

emmywingsemmywings3

9 thoughts on “Flying into a New Year!

  1. Ingrid Schlueter says:

    And yes, Emmy’s wings are upside down and my camera calendar is off! It’s only the 31st today!

  2. Jess says:

    Happy New Year Ingrid,

    I am thankful for you and your blog. May the year hold much joy and growth in our sweet Savior!

    Love ya,
    Jess

  3. Rose says:

    I loved this post… pictures of Emmie are so sweet. Thank you again, Ingrid, for your blog. It is such a blessing and, though I don’t always take time to comment, I enjoy all the things you post. God bless you and your family in the new year.

  4. Lori Glass says:

    I hoped you would post pictures of Emmy wearing her wings for us to see. She is so cute.

  5. Anne Schaller Koch says:

    I check your blog every day for sure and sometimes oftener. Keep it up as you provide a peaceful place to visit amid the chaos of our times. It reminds me of home……safe and secure. My thanks to you also.

  6. Judi says:

    Let me add to the chorus of thanks, Ingrid. I also appreciate everything you put up here: the family photos, the music links/videos, the thoughtful posts. I enjoy your way with words, and appreciate your honesty. And your desire to be positive and an encouragement. You are a blessing, and I thnk you. Praying for all GOD’s good work in the New Year. I pray for you and that GOD would break through and restore all that is broken. I know how much it must hurt.

  7. Kris says:

    Thank you for always taking time to post on your blog. I too, may not
    comment all the time, but so love to read the posts. A Happy, Blessed
    New Year to everyone. Love ‘ya Ing…Kris

  8. Lorrie says:

    HA – I wouldn’t have even known Emmy’s wings are upside-down! (I have boys and am uninformed on that kind of thing. 🙂 ) I, too, enjoy and appreciate your blog. I enjoy your articles, and the pictures you post of your family; your house in the background is always so neat and clean.

  9. Carol says:

    Ingrid, what with the world being upside down, maybe her wings are on correctly! With the Lord’s help we will soar above it all with the strength of the Word and with the wind of the Holy Spirit beneath our wings! Thanks again for your insights and sharing and inspiration and encouragement. Emmy is so precious! God Bless you and your family. Hope the illness has passed and everyone is feeling well.

Leave a Reply

