Now We’ll See What God Can Do!

My grandmother told me once that a relative of hers would go to prayer when there was an insurmountable obstacle in her life—something important that was lost, some need that emerged, a situation that could not be humanly resolved. Then, after praying, she would look up and say, “Now we’ll see what God can do!”

In Scripture we are told that God’s thoughts are not our thoughts, nor are his ways our ways. He sees the big picture, but we only see what is directly in front of us. We ask for something to be fixed, and he does something altogether unexpected and different. Not what we ask for always, but something that takes us further on the journey God has intended for us.

Relinquishing our own vision of what needs to happen is key. Otherwise you can completely miss the hand of God, or even shun it. I am seeing this so clearly in my life these days. We can rattle door handles at times, yearning for an answer to our pleas,  looking around for that open door or the next step, maybe even take off in a direction, only to learn that God had something else entirely.

More than anything else, I have found freedom in relinquishing human goals in exchange for what God has for that moment, however humble. Chafing and casting around constantly is not peaceful, and it isn’t productive. That’s because it’s too much of us, and not enough of Christ. As we take on whatever tasks God brings before us, however different from our human ideas, we can stop wasting energy, time and emotion. It’s called contentment.

The work we often vest with so much importance in our thinking can not only be the least important for our souls, but can serve as an obstacle to the deeper heart work God has for us. There’s a time to charge ahead with something, and there’s a time to step back. Failure to do this results in a great poverty of the soul that manifests in bad fruit in our lives. We can become brittle, impatient, prideful and defensive.

I am convinced that when we embrace contentedness and quiet, even in the face of what appears to be insurmountable difficulties, God will act. What He does in our lives may surprise us. I’ve learned that some of God’s richest gifts often come in strange-looking packages (tied up with string, as the song goes), but if He is truly sovereign, as His Word unmistakably declares, we can accept and even embrace those packages delivered to our door.

Today I am faced with a couple of exciting new packages in life! As my forebear said it so well years ago, “Now we’ll see what God can do!

For My thoughts are not your thoughts,
Nor are your ways My ways,” says the Lord.
“For as the heavens are higher than the earth,
So are My ways higher than your ways,
And My thoughts than your thoughts.

– Isaiah 55:8-9

Now to him that is able to do exceeding abundantly above all that we ask or think, according to the power that works in us, to him be glory in the church by Christ Jesus throughout all ages, world without end. Amen.

– Ephesians 3:20-21

8 thoughts on “Now We’ll See What God Can Do!

  1. Yvonne says:

    “I am convinced that when we embrace contentedness and quiet, even in the face of what appears to be insurmountable difficulties, God will act.” Love this!

    It is a tough lesson to learn; I, too, have begun to recognize this truth. We serve an amazing Lord!

    May His ‘new packages’ be for your good and His glory!

    ~Yvonne

  2. Jessica says:

    Thanks Ingrid. just took a 15 min. break from homeschooling my little 5 year old Aspi. Sweet boy and I just struggled through, “A map is a picture of a place from above.” I prayed a lot. And yes he did finally see that Kim and Kari live on 1st Avenue. God did good. 🙂

  3. Jean Selden says:

    I find this lesson of submitting and letting go of control of our lives to God seems to be happening to a lot of believers today. I, myself, was brought to this conclusion through a terribly difficult period of life. The fruit of submitting ALL to the Lord has been the most freeing and liberating thing in my life. I believe that it was a chastening in my life and as hard as I struggled letting go, He loved me enough to push me to a decision moment. I am so grateful for His lovingkindness. May He be forever praised.

    Tizzy Selden

  4. Linda says:

    Absolutely wonderful what the Lord is teaching you Ingrid! No he may not answer our prayers the way we want because HE wants us to be content with what he HAS given us-His SON. We always and I struggle with this from time to time have the mentality that “the grass is greener on the other side of the fence”. Somehow we know this is not true mentally but we are drawn away with the silly idea that we are not happy because God didn’t give me an answer to what I thought was best. But God knows what we really NEED and we do have to relinquish and submit to what HE chooses to bring in our lives and learn to be Content-“Godliness with contentment is great gain”. I’ve even noticed in my own life that when I stopped trying to probe for open doors or whatnot and just stopped where I was and began thanking the Lord for who he is and all that he’s provided in my life,,, I’m a much happier and joyful person.

    “We can rattle door handles at times, yearning for an answer to our pleas, looking around for that open door or the next step, maybe even take off in a direction, only to learn that God had something else entirely.”-very profound statement and very wise..

    thanks for sharing Ingrid and I’m so happy for you!

  5. Ellie says:

    A very sweet, thoughtful inspirational blog. I’ll look forward to how God leads you in the future. As I say in my own blog, God Doesn’t Make Junk!
    He certainly has a purpose and will do mighty works through you.

  6. Nancy says:

    Isaiah 5:8,9 was the answer to one of my questions in my Bible Study this a.m. God always confirms His word. If we wait upon God, and listen to His still small voice, He will direct our paths and reveal the plans He has for us as stated in Jeremiah 29:11. He is a great and mighty God and worthy of all of our praise.

Leave a Reply

