Spring is Coming, Spring is Coming!

February can be a tease, and the last few days have seen temperatures in the 40’s. For Wisconsin, that’s balmy weather. I’m fostering cheerful thoughts of spring today (even though it may not be here for a while.) The light is coming earlier in the morning, a hopeful sign. Emmy heard the birds singing as we got ready to take Will to school.

I like these quotes.

Mirth is like a flash of lightning, that breaks through a gloom of clouds, and glitters for a moment; cheerfulness keeps up a kind of daylight in the mind, and fills it with a steady and perpetual serenity. –Joseph Addison

Cheerfulness, it would appear, is a matter which depends fully as much on the state of things within, as on the state of things without and around us. – Charlotte Bronte

These photos of our lilacs by son Samuel a few years ago brought a smile today. I can almost catch the scent…

10 thoughts on “Spring is Coming, Spring is Coming!

  1. Elaine says:

    Three cheers for spring! Spring fever has hit us all. We homeschool and the house seems to get smaller as the winter winds down. In Kansas we sometimes get warm weather sooner than you. It can’t come soon enough! Nice lilac photos!

  2. Ingrid Schlueter says:

    Elaine, you may have 42 today in your part of Kansas, but I noticed on the weather channel that you’re supposed to have it in the 60’s by Wednesday! Lucky you.

  3. Lisa Green Kentala says:

    We have had a VERY mild winter in Chicago. I keep thinking we will get hit with the real winter before spring is here.
    I love those lilac photos and actually remember the first time you posted them. I was going through a lot of physical illness that year and the blooming lilacs outside (and in your son’s photos) were so lovely. It took my mind off my pain!

  4. Kris says:

    I can smell the lilacs as I write this. They don’t grow well here so I take advantage of the beautiful scent when visiting (if I’m there at the proper time.) Wisconsin has had a great winter so far. Sorry to say but AHHHH….almost near 70 on Wednesday here in Oklahoma : )…Kris

  5. Bobby says:

    It was mid-60’s while I was cramping and wobbling the final 12km of Saturday’s Bi-Lo Myrtle Beach Marathon XIV, and sunny, but as I awakened myself the next morning off my hotel, it was in the 40’s and raining on the beach as I showered and dressed myself (in a three-piece suit, no less) for church before leaving for home.

  6. Ingrid Schlueter says:

    Fickle weather this time of year, even in Myrtle Beach. Congrats on finishing, Bobby! I know you were working for that for a while. Also congrats on your suit for church. A lot of guys settle for schlumping in with sports jerseys and flip flops, even in winter. 😉

  7. Christina says:

    I think tomorrow should be another hint of spring…hopefully….never know in Wisconsin! I love the lilacs. Both of my neighbors have them and no matter which way the wind blows I can always smell a hint of them.

  8. Carol Blair says:

    I love the year-’round warmer weather in Texas (today it was 80 degrees!), but I lament the fact that that same warmer weather prevents lilacs from growing here.

Leave a Reply

