Good-bye 2011

The year has been one of loss and sadness on many levels. I had a sense of foreboding last Christmas that I couldn’t shake. It was an accurate feeling about what the year would hold. But through it all, God’s grace has been evident, sometimes in subtle ways, sometimes in big ways.

If I have posted a lot of music from our son William, it’s because it has been one of the rare bright spots in an otherwise dark year. He began organ lessons in May, the month when we most needed our heads lifted up.

One day in August, Tom and he were gone to his lesson and returned that afternoon when my discouragement was at a new low. Tom plugged in his digital recorder to the speakers in our family room and out came the most glorious music. It was like the sun broke through the clouds. Father and son had played together for the first time on trumpet and organ, my long time dream. It was the Callahan Fanfare. My men stood there smiling at me, and I recognized what God was doing. In the midst of darkness, He brought a moment of sheer joy.

Since then, many exciting things have happened for Will as he is working hard on his music. I believe that’s one of the reasons God gives musical gifts. Good music is a light in an otherwise dark world, and those gifts point back to God himself.

If you’re going through darkness right now or if 2012 holds great challenges for you, God knows when you most need encouragement. Seek His hand no matter how dark things get and He will lead you through. There may be times when you sense complete Divine silence. The challenge to your faith is to hang on through those times in trust. The truest Creed (“I believe”) is said in the dark, as one Christian put it. It wouldn’t be faith if we could see everything plainly that God is doing.

A blessed New Year to all of you. Rejoice because God is truly a good God. His ways are above ours. His thoughts are not ours. But we can always rest in His character.

 

14 thoughts on “Good-bye 2011

  1. Jessica says:

    May God help us all to see the blessings of each day in 2012. God bless you and keep you Ingrid. – Jess

  2. Marilyn says:

    It is a hard place to be when you are seemingly stuck in a valley. I am grateful for the joy your son and husband bring you through their music. May God give you a blessed 2012 filled with His presence. With love and gratefulness for your blog, Marilyn

  3. Judy G says:

    I don’t know what you have been going through but I want you to know that you have been a true blessing and inspiration to me. I listened to you for several years on the radio when I was able to on Rejoice Radio/Pensacola Christian College radio station and was so happy to find someone who was willing to stand for true righteousness in our nation today. I want to thank you for telling the truth about what is happening in our churches today! I am sure that many people have been encouraged by your stand for the truth most of which you will never know. I found your blog a couple of years ago and I look forward to reading your entries. Thank you for your Reflections on an Old Church. It is truy amazing what has happened to our churches but to me it was just another reminder of John 4:35 Lift up your eyes and look on the fields for they are white already to harvest. We need to be diligent about witnessing and discipling and filling the churches again with those who love the Lord with their whole heart and want to share the wonderful gift of salvation through Christ Jesus. I am also excited to see and hear your son playing the organ! What a blessing! Thank you Ingrid for the blessing you have been to me

  4. Paulaann says:

    Ingrid, I had the same ominous sense last Christmas, so much so that it had me in tears. I remember thinking, ‘why am I crying’. And sure enough there was a very good reason. I know what you have been through this year and I hope and pray 2012 is going to be a bright, happy, good year for you. Thank you for the inspiration. Just what I needed to hear.

  5. findingthemotherlode says:

    Praise God, Ingrid, that you’ve looked into the face of wickedness and were not overcome by it.

    “The truest Creed (“I believe”) is said in the dark…” Amen.

    May the abundant grace of the Lord be upon you and your household in 2012.
    -E

  6. carolynb says:

    Grace and peace to you and your family in 2012, you are in our prayers. (And we hope your elbow is feeling better… you have a tender hearted daughter, praise the Lord!)

  7. Kris says:

    Peace, love, health, happiness, and all God’s richest
    blessings always. Thank you for all your heartfelt
    messages throughout the year. We love you all,
    Mike & Kris

  8. Cindy says:

    I just read this post today – much later than when you wrote it – in God’s perfect timing for when I needed to see it and absorb the truth within it. Thank you for sharing it. Many of us have appreciated your writings over the years, as the Lord has led you to write about the things on your heart. Thank you for remaining faithful to Him!

Leave a Reply

