Homey Christmas Notes

The light snow outside this morning was the cause for great excitement from the youngest in our family. Over the last two hours, I have probably been informed 100 times that there’s “snow out ‘der, Mama!”

Em’s new pink boots are at the ready by the front door. Sadly, most of the white stuff has melted already. She’s eagerly awaiting her first chance to actually play in snow.

Aunt Kris is arriving tomorrow for a Christmas visit, and she is bringing pink snow pants (what other color is there?), so our daughter will be fully prepared for the elements!

We’re working on the winter village on the dining room table. Tonight Tom will hopefully finish it up for me. Little daughter is going to be enchanted when she sees all the lights and little people. Tom made a hill underneath the “snow”, and there’s a sledder figurine that slides down the hill.

My favorite of the shops and houses is the one I have in the photo–the coffee shop. In a perfect world, that’s where I’d like to live–over the shop. The back of the store would be a book shop, and the living quarters would be upstairs. The third floor attic with the light on would be a combo trumpet studio and a private library for me (sound proofed.) If you’ve ever read The Haunted Bookshop by Christopher Morley where the couple lives at their store in Brooklyn, that about describes it!

There will be lots to look at and talk about when the village is finally up, and tonight Em will hopefully get to see it.

We have the tree up and the Nativity scene is nearby. It’s an inexpensive set I have had for many years. Emmy likes to pick up the various figures and talk about them. She calls the camels “horses” and sings happy birthday to the wise men as well as Jesus, but she’ll get it straight eventually. She brought her stuffed gorilla to sit on the roof of the stable. When I asked her what the three Wise Men brought Jesus, she got a big smile on her face and said, “Toy toys!”

My agenda for today is house cleaning, dusting in particular which takes a back seat, and grocery shopping with an eye to ingredients for gingerbread cookies. Em’s going to try her hand at decorating. It should be interesting!

Here’s one of my favorite Christmas carols, In the Bleak Midwinter.

7 thoughts on “Homey Christmas Notes

  1. Diane says:

    Isn’t this time of year fun with little ones? Explaining the Christmas story to a four-year-old has been interesting. I have a village also and I would be interested to see yours if you could post some photos. I add pieces here or there as I find them on sale. It’s fun to collect them/ They seem new every year when we take them out. Merry Christmas and have fun with the cookies!

  2. Jackie says:

    Can I come over to your house? It sounds like a lot of fun. Being single my Christmas amounts to a light in my condo window and a very tiny tree on my dresser. What I really miss is a fireplace like we had growing up. At Christmas that’s the best. Thanks for sharing your day with us. Love the carol.

  3. Judi says:

    I love In the Bleak Midwinter too, and don’t remember ever hearing it during the first 40+ years of my life. But I’m glad it’s in my Christmas repertoire now. I love the purity of boy soprano voices.

  4. Elizabeth says:

    We do an arrangement of In the Bleak Midwinter hubby wrote, with me on cello, hubby singing. He sings much better than I play, but it’s good fun and a tradition.

    Down here today I was making curtains, and baking croissant and blueberry muffins.

    I like to get as much of the food stuff down and in the freezer before the hoards arrive so I can just visit and not worry about food overly. The curtains were the last step in a remodeling project that started when I foolishly poked at a piece of tile which gave way.

    We are merry and bright, even in these dark times, because we walk with Jesus. Oh, can you imagine the sorrow of walking though these times without Him?

  5. Ingrid Schlueter says:

    How I’d love to hear that arrangement! I have been working on the house again today – in between breaks for daughter, but I just finished dusting my end tables and I can almost see my face in them. Our company is due to arrive within the hour. I’m serving up a rather casual meal of sloppy joes as our dining room table is taken up with my winter village! But it is smelling good. I must dash!

  6. Elizabeth says:

    Jackie: Christmas hugs to you.

    Let me tell you something: that light in your window, bearing witness to the advent is a wonderful thing. As a child of atheistic parents, those little witnesses to something I couldn’t grasp, but was deeply drawn to, meant so much. Your witness means just as much, to some lost and lonely little girl, looking for a bit of light, a bit of hope. Thank you, for bearing witness.

    If you were here, you’d have the seat of honor by the wood-stove and could poke the fire to your heart’s content!.

  7. Margaret L. Been says:

    That choir is beyond words to describe! The English are masters at choral music–their diction is so beautiful. You can always spot an English (or English trained) choir!

    Thank you for posting all this great music!

    Merry Christmas! Lots of fun for you this year, with your little one enjoying every detail! I love the gorilla on the manger.

    Our children always enjoyed rearranging the manger scene. I normally put the wise men afar off on a book shelf, because they didn’t get there that night, but this year they have resumed their traditional place beside the manger so that the little people (we have lots!) can enjoy them and move them around. Usually all the animals end up peering into the cradle. 🙂

Leave a Reply

