An Op/Ed Piece From Sam

Sammy - The Early Years

Whether you agree with his political views or not, I thought I’d share my son Samuel’s piece on Herman Cain’s run for office in today’s Christian Science Monitor. It’s the third time they have run one of his opinion pieces in the last few months, and I’m proud of his writing ability. The editor told him it was a pleasure to work with such “clean, thoughtful copy.” Those are words every writer wants to hear.

Sam has always liked words. When he was a preschooler, I played a game with him using big words, just to see if he would remember them and their meaning. I took several words that ended in “ology” and quizzed him whenever we were in the car. He was probably the only 4-year-old in town who could tell you what epistemology was.

“Sam, what’s epistemology?”

“The study of what we can know and how we can know it.”

“Theology?”

“The study of God.”

Sam and Laura

And on and on we went with words like archaeology, paleontology, anthropology, etc. Sam never went to kindergarten, as we were having too much fun to stop learning at home.

As a parent, it is fascinating to see your children develop into adults and individuals. And you thank God when they are using the talents He has given them. Sam married his dear Laura nearly a year ago already, and they are happy living where they can see the Rocky Mountains each day.

7 thoughts on “An Op/Ed Piece From Sam

  1. Jean Selden says:

    Ingrid:
    You should be so proud of that boy. He is truly using his God-given talents.

    I also have been wondering about our presidential choices having once leaning toward Cain. Bur after reading Sam’s articulate piece, it brought all of my doubts to a conclusion. I will not be voting for Cain.

    I just wish that the remaining republican candidates that are in the top four were either truly Christian or a reputation that lines up with their profession of faith.

    To Sam–you are a gift to your mother and I so appreciate hearing about young people serving God wholeheartedly. I wish you and Laura the best.

    In Him,
    Jean Selden

  2. darlene Schreiner says:

    I like Mr..Cain for his straight forward approach to situation. I do agree with Sam he does not have the experience needed. I’m leaning more and more
    for Gingrich. I know he has much baggage but I think he has the know how to be pres. I also would love to hear him debate obama. I think Mr. Gingrich could run circles around obama. At least we wouldn’t have to listen to Mr. Gingrich ham and haw to get to an answer.
    Sam keep up the great work. You write clean and concise just what we need in this day and age when people feel the more words they use the better they get their point across. Good writers don’t need a lot of words to get one point across. You hit the nail on the head.
    Thank you once again Ingrid for sharing your family with all of us.

  3. Mary Simon says:

    You don’t want a futurist like Newt Gingrich in the White House. Gingrich stabbed America in the back and helped pass GATT/WTO in late 1994. This was after the elections of 1994 and before the conservative freshman could get in to oppose Mr. Gingrich’s efforts to pass the World Trade Organization legislation.
    I am older than Sam and he needs to do a LOT more studying before any attempts to influence Christians to vote for a globalist like Newt Gingrich.
    Please Sam, read Creating a New Civilization: The Politics of the Third Wave. This book was written by Alvin and Heidi Toffler with the forward written by none other than NEWT GINGRICH.

  4. Ingrid Schlueter says:

    Mary, Sam wasn’t seeking to influence anyone to vote for Gingrich. I said at the beginning of the post that nobody has to agree with his conclusions or views. I don’t want to turn this into a political dispute here. There are enough other forums for that. I was just proud as a mom to see his op/ed piece published in a respected newspaper.

Leave a Reply

