Autumn Spice Revisited

 I posted this recipe a year ago, and due to several requests for this recently, I am reposting it. This is a very easy spice cake to make. It has a wonderful rich aroma and is very dense and moist. I found the recipe in an old cookbook. Years ago, I decided to make it and take it with me to a bring-a-dish/dessert event.

It was at that event in spring of 1994 that a man with dark hair and warm, twinkly brown eyes came up to me and said, “Are you the one who made the spice cake?” Well, it was Tom, of course. He told me how much he had enjoyed it. Well, this cake is a little part of the story of how we eventually got married. So if you’re looking for the fragrance of spices in  your home today, try this easy recipe. The caramel frosting is as simple as it gets.

2 c. sugar
2 c. water
1 c. raisins
1/2 c. shortening
1 tsp. cloves
1 tsp. cinnamon
1 tsp. of allspice
1 tsp. of salt
2 1/2 c. flour
2 tsp. baking soda
2 eggs

Bring to boil the first 8 ingredients. Let it cool off. Then add the flour, soda and eggs. Bake in a 9×13 pan at 350 degrees for 40 minutes. (Make sure the boiled ingredients have cooled enough before adding the flour or the flour will cook making little flour balls.) Frosting is just as easy:

Ingredients:
1 c. brown sugar
1/4 c. milk
1/4 c. butter
1 tsp. vanilla
1 c. powdered sugar

Boil first three ingredients for 3 minutes. When cool, add 1 cup of powdered sugar and 1 teaspoon of vanilla.

There you have a rich, spicy cake as easy as can be! Just a warning. You may get an extra kiss from your spouse or kids if you make it…

26 thoughts on “Autumn Spice Revisited

  1. Ingrid Schlueter says:

    Tell her to make sure not to overbake it as that wonderful moistness disappears if you leave it in even a couple of minutes too long. Under is better than over with this one…Hope you like it. It is wonderful with a tea like Constant Comment that has a little bit of orange flavor in it.

  2. Sam says:

    Mmm…I bet it does taste good with tea. Do you think altitude might affect this recipe though? I just remembered that some don’t work as well at 9,000+ feet :/

  3. Marilyn says:

    This is a good cake! Everybody make it and we will make the world smell tons better!!! I will make on Thursday, my day off. Yummmmm.

  4. Ingrid Schlueter says:

    Marilyn, that made me laugh. Let’s make the world a better-smelling place! World peace through spice cake. All at once now, cake lovers…

  5. spit316 says:

    That looks just sublime as autumn rushes in to WNY. My mind is grasping for reasons to bake one (that involve more than three people eating it all). I’m really glad to see the Hope Blog up again and the Lord hearing the prayers of your many friends. God Bless you.

  6. Paula Coyle says:

    1994? Wow… For some reason I thought you have been married longer, but then you’re not much older than me and we got married in 1991 so…

    That sounds like a very sweet story of meeting your hubby. I think that might be a good subject for a blog post in itself maybe?? 😀

    Just FYI if I log in with my wordpress account you do know it’s terriergal right? Just so you know!

  7. Ingrid Schlueter says:

    I know Terriergal! Yer famous, Paula!! 🙂 I know wherever I see that name I’ll get the unvarnished truth.whatever the topic. At home, I call you Paula the Huntress to distinguish you from my other friend Paula. On email, I frequently almost send emails to the wrong Paula!

  8. Christina says:

    Cant wait to make it. Andy wants me to wait until Sunday to make it so he will be able to smell it baking in the house. 🙂

  9. carolynb says:

    Well, I pulled it together with a few minor changes due to what was in my kitchen. I think it’s delish, and my husband loved it! Thanks for sharing the recipe! But I have to laugh, because of all the boiling, I’m tempted to rename it: “Ingrid’s Victorian Spice Cake”. Because someone once told me that Victorians used to boil everything for sanitation. Don’t know if that’s true, but makes me giggle nonetheless.

  10. Lori Glass says:

    I made this earlier in the week and it turned out great. I do not like the texture of cooked rasins but I know they are good for you and add a good flavor so I put them in the blender with the water. I also do this with applesauce cake. It is a good way to sneek rasins in things if your kids do not like them either. Thanks for the recipe.

  11. Judi says:

    I love recipes that come with stories. In fact, a friend who was moving away told me she’d like it if I organized a few friends to write up some of our recipes for her. About that time, a former second grade student of mine was getting married and invited my family and me to her destination wedding in Charleston. Part of her wedding gift was a recipe notebook I compiled by copying favorite recipes and then writing on each page a blurb of whatever came to my mind about that recipe. It’s become one of the gifts I give now to those I love best. (I should just get it printed!) I’m copying yours off now, with your story, and if we love it, it just may end up in my “book” someday! ;D(Is that okay with you?) Thank you. (My mouth is watering.)

    Judi

  12. Ingrid Schlueter says:

    Hi Judi, that sounds like a fun idea! That’s fine with me!! The old saying about the way to a man’s heart is through his stomach is still as true as ever!

  13. Judi says:

    Well thank you, Ingrid. I figure that recipes are meant to be shared, not kept secret, I learned the hard way. I had a recipe for Swedish Skorpa (kind of like biscotti) that my younger brother loved. He wanted me to give the recipe to his wife, so he could have it with his coffee for breakfast, and for years I refused to share it, telling him that I would give him some for his birthday and at Christmas as a special treat. That way I’d have something to give him that I knew he loved. He insisted I could still do that, and he would love it. But I was obdurate. “No. It won’t be as special then.” Then, when he was 42, he got cancer, and died a year from the date it was diagnosed. During that year, I finally relinquished my hold on the recipe, making him a batch of skorpa with the recipe tucked in at the bottom. I realized what a foolish idea I’d hung on to for so many years. All I can say is, like Anne of Green Gables, I try never to make the same mistake twice!

    If I have time tomorrow, unlikely as I have six big bags of apples from another brother’s tree to make applesauce, I’ll try your spice cake in celebration of the autumnal equinox. Good-bye summer.

  14. Christina says:

    Just made the caka and frosting. Delicious and makes the house smell wonderful 🙂 thanks for sharing

  15. Judi says:

    Ingrid, I just want to let you know that I tried this recipe today for the first time for a Bible study that my husband leads with a few friends on Sunday nights at our house. It was a hit with everyone. It was not overbaked, and it was indeed delicious. (I only baked it for 35 minutes.) In fact, every lady took a copy of the recipe home with her. The last words one of the men spoke to my husband as he walked out the door of our home were these: “Take a ROW of that cake with your coffee for breakfast tomorrow morning!” Haha. 😀 Thanks again for the beginning of a great autumn tradition. And you are right; it is easy-peasy to make.

  16. Karen Walters says:

    What a heartwarming story Ingrid. I am anxious to try this. I love the smell of spices in my home, especially in the fall and winter months.. Thanks for sharing it!

  17. JD says:

    I saw this on your FB a few weeks ago and decided to try it. It was a roaring success with our Bible study. It was moist and the frosting was a perfect accompaniment. TY!

Leave a Reply

