Update on the Hope Blog – Sept. 2011

I’ve published the Hope Blog since 2007. It has provided a means to write about the things closest to my heart, my family and home life, including some of my interests. It has been a necessary antidote to a job in religious talk radio that had me focused on the negative aspects of our nation, world and the church on an hourly basis for 23 years.

The blog here has been an encouragement to me, and has served to remind me of all of God’s blessings even in the middle of some very difficult times. Having been at the forefront of issues blogging and radio for so long means that even though I have removed myself from that very difficult domain, there is a continual backwash of ugliness that occurs from the old world.

It spilled over here late this last week after my articles were deleted completely from a popular website, without any explanation, by someone I have known and respected for 2 decades. I was in total shock. The man who deleted my articles receives air time from my former employer (my father.) The picture has become clear, and it has been devastating. The last communication I had from him, in writing, was one of kindness on July 27. You can understand how stunned I was to be deleted without even the Christian courtesy of an answer to my inquiries.

With this latest situation and the hurt it has caused, my choices are to delete the Hope Blog in discouragement and lose my one outlet for the kind of writing I love to do, as simple as it has been, or to resist the joy killers and blog on. I privatized the blog for a couple of days to think about this, and have come to this conclusion. Even though some come to this site out of malicious curiosity or other non-Christian reasons, I still intend to write on.

If I shut down this Hope Blog, I am admitting that hatred, unforgiveness, slander, opportunism and ugliness wins. It would be saying that the users, the abusers, the spiritually sick, the happiness-killers can win. They cannot win in the long run. It’s our job not to let them. One thing I have learned in the last few months is the importance of guarding our lives and relationships with other Christians more carefully. There is such a thing as being too trusting.

Meanwhile, God is doing some exciting things in our lives (just in the last few days), and while I can’t share all of it publicly, He has blessed us beyond measure with hope and a future. He is already restoring ten-fold what the enemy has taken from us. God doesn’t always work on our schedule, but we are never alone even in our darkest times. Something to remember.

Have a hope-filled day. Evil can only win when we allow the light of our lives to be extinguished. We may flicker sometimes, or go dim for a moment, but we can’t let it completely go out. Shine on, friends.

51 thoughts on “Update on the Hope Blog – Sept. 2011

  1. Jessica K. says:

    I’m so glad you are going to keep on blogging here, and I’m glad to hear that God has provided you with hope and a future – what wonderful news!

  2. joyfulgardener says:

    So thankful you have gone back publicly! Your blog is an encouragement to others. Praying for your joy to be made complete.

  3. Rose says:

    It was such a blessing to find the Hope Blog back up today. I have been praying for you daily and it was wonderful to read of God’s faithfulness…that good things are happening for your family. I am so glad you will keep your blog going, Ingrid. It is a tremendous blessing and encouragement to me. I come here every day. Even when you were gone for awhile, I kept coming here daily in hopes you would be back…praying for you all the while. You served the Lord faithfully for many years warning and alerting the brethren . Now you are in new season of your life where He has given you a ministry of hope and encouragement ….and it is SO needed! God bless you dear sister!

  4. dearingkids says:

    Hi Ingrid,

    Thank you for keeping The Hope Blog going. Have subscribed to the blog by RSS and look forward to new posts. I listened to you while you were on the radio, and miss hearing your voice there. I have learned a lot from both. I am a wife and homeschooling mother for 5 ages 4 (she will turn 5 in a couple of months), 7, 9, 12, and 15, and your words are both encouraging and inspiring., to me and I am sure tho many others who read you words.

    Praying for you,

    Tammi

    Isaiah 41:10

    Fear thou not; for I am with thee: be not dismayed; for I am thy God: I will strengthen thee; yea, I will help thee; yea, I will uphold thee with the right hand of my righteousness.

  5. kathy says:

    Please don’t stop! We will most likely not meet this side of heaven, but God has used you to encourage me many a time. I have prayed for you, having never seen you but knowing we are sisters in Christ.

  6. Judy says:

    What a tragedy it would be if you ceased writing. Selfishly, I would miss you because your blog brings sunshine into my life. I love Emmy pictures and the stories of Tom and Will and the other boys. Don’t ever let the enemy win by giving up. There are so many women out here that love you. Many more than the ones who deal in hurt. Lean on us for support and we won’t let you down. You also shine on, sister.

  7. Bridgette says:

    Sorry you are going through this Ingrid, I always leave this blog feeling better and I am glad you are continuing to write. I enjoyed your articles too, particularly “9-1-1 on Christian Girlhood”. I am in North Carolina and I enjoy hearing about your part of the country too.

  8. Christina says:

    Ingrid, I am so thankful that you decided to keep writing on your blog. It is important to you and dont stop because of others. I continue to look forward to your posts and cherish your friendship as well. Also, what an answer to prayer for the many blessings in your life!

  9. Becky says:

    Ingrid,

    I am so happy that you’ve decided to stay with it and blog on. Your blog/writings are a bright spot to my day. You have so much wisdom and I learn so much from you. Your writings cause me to think and dig deeper in God’s Word or outside of the box.

    Praising the Lord for answers to prayers!

  10. Judi says:

    Just one more wanting you to know how much I appreciate you and your blog. I’ve been very busy, and the last post I read was the Emily Moisturizes video you posted. I was surprised to hear all that transpired since then, and am sorry. But so glad you’re not quitting. Thank you, Ingrid.

    Where is the 9-1-1 on Christian Girlhood article that Bridgette mentioned above? Is that referring to the podcast you did on you Hopecast about raising Christian girls in our culture, or is it something else?

    Btw, how can someone else just delete your articles? (I had this momentary panic–Are they all gone?!!! So glad you got them all back!)

    Judi

  11. Ingrid Schlueter says:

    Hi Judi, they were articles I had written for that particular website dealing with some of the spiritual issues of the day, not posts here at the Hope Blog. I had articles up over several years at that site and would have lost them entirely had a friend not gone back into the printable article cache for the website and found them. They had even been deleted from the regular google cache. A man spent an hour and a half for me finding them all and saving them. I am deeply indebted to Jason for his Christian kindness.

  12. Carolyn W. says:

    I am really glad that you have decided to continue your blog. i have been blessed and encouraged by it. I am sure there are lots of other people who need to find “Hope” in such a time as we live in , which can only be found in God through his Word. Your blog points them in that direction which is a real blessing. My prayer is that you will have the peace in your heart that passes all understanding as you go through this trial in your life.
    i look forward to reading your future posts.

    May God richly bless you!

  13. Lisa Green Kentala says:

    Ingrid – I’m glad you’re back!! However I don’t see why because someone dropped you from his site should have any bearing on whether you continue the Hope Blog. Shouldn’t that choice be made by you? You are doing nothing wrong! I (and many others) enjoy reading about your children, your experiences, faith and don’t forget those great reading recommendations LOL. Your posts run the gamut from lighthearted to serious and all are well-written. Please don’t let someone else’s behavior influence you! You are helping many here!

  14. INC says:

    Thank you very much for deciding to continue your blog. I checked in the other day and found that you had gone private—I realized something such as you’ve described probably occurred. In this quote from Francis Schaeffer he writing as a pastor and evangelist in his book, Death in the City, but his words have encouraged me. I hope they encourage you in your faithful work. It’s long, so feel free to edit it as you wish:

    “In Jeremiah 20:14–18, we read one of the great cries of discouragement in the Bible, parallel to some of the cries of Job. But the intriguing thing is that neither Job, nor Jeremiah, nor David in the Psalms (where David often cried out to God, saying, “Have You turned away Your face forever, O God? Where are You?”)—in none of these cases does God reprove His people as long as they do not turn away from Him, nor blaspheme Him, nor give up their integrity in their attitude toward Him. There is no contradiction here. It is possible to be faithful to God, and yet be overwhelmed with discouragement as we face the world. In fact, if we are never overwhelmed, I wonder if we are fighting the battle with compassion and reality, or whether we are jousting with paper swords against paper windmills.

    “So Jeremiah says in 20:14–18, “Cursed be the day on which I was born; let not the day on which my mother bore me be blessed. Cursed be the man who brought tidings to my father, saying, A man child is born unto thee; making him very glad. And let that man be like the cities which the Lord overthrew, and repented not; and let him hear the cry in the morning, and the shouting at noontide, because he slew me not from the womb; or that my mother might have been my grave, and her womb to be always great with me. Wherefore came I forth out of the womb to see labor and sorrow, that my days should be consumed with shame?” Jeremiah was discouraged because he was a man standing against a flood. And I want to say to you that nobody who is fighting the battle in our own generation can float on a Beautyrest mattress. If you love God and love men and have compassion for them, you will pay a real price psychologically.

    “So many people seem to think that if the Holy Spirit is working then the work is easy. Don’t believe it! As the Holy Spirit works, a man is consumed. This is the record of revivals; it is the record of those places in which God has really done something. It is not easy!

    “As I stand and try to give a message into the world—at the café tables and in the universities, to individuals and large seminars, publicly and privately—a price has to be paid. Often there is discouragement. Many times I say, “I can’t go up the hill once more. I can’t do it again.” And what is God’s answer? Well, first it is important to know that God doesn’t scold a man when his tiredness comes from his battles and his tears from compassion. Second, this involves learning to say, and mean, “Lord, please make your strength perfect in my weakness.”

    “Jeremiah, we recall, was the weeping prophet. This has psychological depth as well as historic meaning. He is really the man weeping. But what does God expect of Jeremiah? What does God expect of every man who preaches into a lost age like ours? I’ll tell you what God expects. He simply expects a man to go right on. He doesn’t scold a man for being tired, but neither does He expect him to stop his message because people are against him. Jeremiah proclaimed the message to the very end…”

  15. Annee says:

    I too went to read the other day and found it had gone private, and I was hoping you were just uploading something, and the blog was down for just a short while. I wanted to see how I could continue to join you and read at your blog, but I’m happy to see you’re back up and marching on:) You’re blog is a blessing, and we’re so like-minded, it is something I really appreciate, as finding one so like-minded is difficult these days. I will pray for peace in your lives, and will look forward to what may come. Stay with us Ingrid, we enjoy what you offer . . . a little respite in this crazy world.
    Ann

  16. terriergal says:

    By the way, I remember when I first got online and would express and opinion and get flamed for it. It used to completely knock the wind out of me. Over time I think I’ve gotten a thicker skin, but it is REALLY hard at first, especially when you are struggling with understanding where healthy boundaries are to be drawn – learning not to embrace false guilt and trying to only own the guilt for which you are indeed guilty. The better we get at differentiating those things by God’s grace, the easier it is to maintain an emotional balance.

    I still lose it from time to time when really contentious issues come up or friends seem to ‘turn into monsters’ nearly overnight. Or you find out they may talk a good talk but when push comes to shove and you need support, they are nowhere to be found, and shrink back from the fight… man that hurts.

    I am so glad you are getting to the point where you can say NO to further abuse/manipulation/emotional blackmail from people who claim to love and care for you. Gut wrenching is all it is. But these lessons really do equip us to tend to the broken suffering sheep of God’s flock better in the long run.

  17. Wendy West says:

    Ingrid, I join the chorus of those grateful you are not shutting down this blog. It is hard when you are slandered and attacked especially from close family members. I went through that about 4 years ago. Granted my family and I weren’t in the ministry as are yours but it was the enemy behind it all. He would love nothing more than to shut up the prophetic voice. Coming to your blog always reminds me that there are 7,000 in Israel who haven’t bent the knee to Baal and it encourages and edifies me greatly.

    I agree with the commenter who quoted Jeremiah. These are difficult times that are getting harder every minute. We must stand firm and not allow the pain to stop us. It’s hard. But there is hope and God can restore the lost years that the locusts have eaten. Also I have been reading the story of Joseph this week. Although there was a time of separation and trial for him he came out the victor. so did so many others. Genesis 50:20: “As for you, you meant evil against me, but God meant it for good in order to bring about his present result, to preserve many people alive.” God grants not only salvific grace but persevering grace as well. Praying for you and your family.

  18. Elmarie says:

    Dear Ingrid , you have been in my thoughts and prayers Sister. Just a note here from South Africa to say you are dear to us , who have come to know you via the media , and we love you. May the Lord keep you safe and His will be done. Praying for you and your household to stand strong.

    Much love and blessings

    Elmarie
    (Red Clover)

  19. Kris says:

    Praise the Lord! None of us want you to discontinue your Hope Blog.
    That is what you are passionate about and you do extremely well. We
    cannot let the devil win! Looking forward to the continuation of your
    writings guided by the hand of God. Blessings always…
    Love, Kris

  20. Ingrid Schlueter says:

    Love you, Kris. You and Mike are our true family and you will never know what a blessing you have been, not until your reward in heaven.

  21. carolynb says:

    There is a friend that sticks closer than a brother… I believe you’re finding those souls here, Ingrid. Glad to see you back online; Hope is one of our daily “go to” sites and we love it. 🙂

  22. Margot says:

    Dear Ingrid – thank you for continuing with this precious blog. I lost so many “friends” since parting company with false teaching at a huge mega-“church/corporation” here in Australia. It’s wonderful to have a Christ-centred blog for women to be reminded of who they are and what a treasure we have in Christ and each other….

  23. kim says:

    Good for you sis! Never let evil steal your joy, your peace of mind, or your blog! Not in any way attempting to lessen the hurt that has caused, because it IS hurtful, and mean….and I wish I was with you right now, so I could give you a hug. Family can be SOOO hurtful…but hang on to your REAL Family, and to our Father, who comforts us in all our afflictions. Remember…what someone meant for evil…God will turn into good. And never stop fighting the good fight, okay? You have the Creator of EVERYTHING on your side, and your family (the good ones!) who love you…and we love you as well. Will keep you in prayer….and Praise God…my sister is still here and speaking the truth boldly! I love you, dear Ingrid. ❤

  24. Bible Berean says:

    Been thinking of and praying for you and Tom and family Ingrid, you are “under His wings” Psalm 91. Trusting the Lord should He tarry that we will yet meet for sweet fellowship here…

  25. InTheSticks says:

    I, too, was also disappointed to see that the Hope Blog was set to private a few days ago. Like someone else mentioned, I was hoping you were just uploading something at the time.
    I check the blog often and reread old posts when there is no new one. Something always lifts my spirit, old or new.
    I am so glad to hear that things are looking up. That’s such great news!

  26. Lorraine says:

    Just a thought, but one that has been on my mind for a couple of days: do the slanderers really not know that God sees it all and hears it all? They may fool some of us, but do they honestly think they are fooling Him? It boggles my mind that people who claim to know and serve God, could treat a fellow Christian so badly, and have no fear of God! Amazing!
    Ingrid, I add my voice to the chorus of those who have expressed their relief that your wonderful blog is back up for all of us to enjoy:-) It is so refreshing and God honoring!

  27. Ingrid Schlueter says:

    Those who are engaged in an unrepentant, systematic campaign to destroy others’ reputations and credibility cannot know God, so there is obviously no proper fear of God that regulates conduct. The great irony is that many in ministry operate like practical atheists when it comes to how they relate to others. They believe a convenient “truth” when someone can do something for them.

    I have said it before and I’ll say it again. There are men and women who would drive over their own mothers if it meant the advancement of their ministry. One of the hallmarks of malignant narcissists is a sense of kingship where they honestly believe they can destroy the names and reputations of others and that should be kept a secret–that they can pick and choose what things go public about themselves. If a victim does go public, well, that’s what lawyers are for. When my letter of appeal to ask for pastoral involvement for reconciliation the other night was greeted with scorn and insults, I realized why God removed me from that whole life. It’s because God has had no part of most of it for some time. I asked the question, “Where is Jesus in all this?” I received no reply. I think that speaks for itself.

    I am increasingly of the opinion that all ministries should be under the authority of a local church with a board of elders overseeing what goes on. I have seen enough carnage in parachurch ministries started by individuals who bend the knee to no person, not even the Word of God in their private dealings. Attempting Matthew 18 with such people is an impossibility. They simply flip an email back saying, “My pastor and I want nothing to do with you.” Or they just ignore you as though you never existed. Gross disobedience to God’s Word. No heart for reconciliation, no mercy, no kindness, no love. That is the behind the scenes reality of the world in which I have lived. I praise God for opening my eyes and moving us on.

    Here are some verses that directly address this situation that are being willfully ignored with many excuses.

    Ephesians 4:32

    Be kind to one another, tenderhearted, forgiving one another, as God in Christ forgave you.

    2 Corinthians 5:18

    All this is from God, who through Christ reconciled us to himself and gave us the ministry of reconciliation;

    Matthew 5:23-26

    So if you are offering your gift at the altar and there remember that your brother has something against you, leave your gift there before the altar and go. First be reconciled to your brother, and then come and offer your gift.

    Matthew 18:15-17

    “If your brother sins against you, go and tell him his fault, between you and him alone. If he listens to you, you have gained your brother. But if he does not listen, take one or two others along with you, that every charge may be established by the evidence of two or three witnesses. If he refuses to listen to them, tell it to the church. And if he refuses to listen even to the church, let him be to you as a Gentile and a tax collector.

    2 Corinthians 5:18-21

    All this is from God, who through Christ reconciled us to himself and gave us the ministry of reconciliation; that is, in Christ God was reconciling the world to himself, not counting their trespasses against them, and entrusting to us the message of reconciliation. Therefore, we are ambassadors for Christ, God making his appeal through us. We implore you on behalf of Christ, be reconciled to God. For our sake he made him to be sin who knew no sin, so that in him we might become the righteousness of God.

    Ephesians 4:31

    Let all bitterness, and wrath, and anger, and clamour, and evil speaking, be put away from you, with all malice.

    Matthew 18:21-22

    “Then Peter came up to Him and said, Lord, how many times may my brother sin against me and I forgive him and let it go? [As many as] up to seven times? Jesus answered him, I tell you, not up to seven times, but seventy times seven!”

    Matthew 5:9
    “Blessed are the peacemakers: for they shall be called the children of God.”

  28. carolynb says:

    “The great irony is that many in ministry operate like practical atheists when it comes to how they relate to others. … Attempting Matthew 18 with such people is an impossibility. They simply flip an email back saying, “My pastor and I want nothing to do with you.” Or they just ignore you as though you never existed. Gross disobedience to God’s Word. No heart for reconciliation, no mercy, no kindness, no love.”

    Ingrid, sadly that behavior isn’t just reserved for the leaders of church and parachurch ministries. I’ve seen it in my own personal Christian friendships as well. Is this perhaps a sign of the times – the love of many will grow cold? You’re right, “Where is Jesus in this?” The answer is self-explanatory. Yes, all those above mentioned verses are being “conveniently” ignored by many “believers” today. How are we to tell the world to be reconciled to God through Christ when we won’t even reconcile with each other???????

    Shameful.

    I’m sorry you have gone through all of this – I’m sorry any of this happens at all. What is the world to think of our precious God and Savior when Christians (genuine or not) behave like we’re in a bratty, sophomoric clique? How I long for the Lord’s return; only when Christ returns will any of this be set straight. But in the here and now, I am always glad when the Lord opens our eyes to see things as they are, and shows us how to remove ourselves from situations where He is not present.

    Anyhow, remember 1 Peter 2:20 – second half.

  29. Ron says:

    Many are the afflictions of the righteous….many….but the LORD delivers him (or her!) out of them all. Very glad to see your blog back on. Keep up the good work.

  30. Sam says:

    I believe the reason some groups of Christians don’t love each other very much is they are taught over and over that love is secondary to being “right”. In other words, as long as you hold to this “key” doctrine or this confession or these fundamentals, you can treat others however you please.

    However, the Bible clearly states that we will be judged by our actions and the love they contain, not by our doctrinal statement. God isn’t going to care how strongly you believed in his sovereignty or how carefully you had defined the order of salvation if you didn’t bother to love the members of his body, your neighbor, and even your enemy.

    By the way, I have found plenty of love in the church I attend. Christian love is out there, it is just not in a place where most people want to look.

  31. carolynb says:

    For Sam – if Ingrid will allow – you are right, truth without love is void (1 Cor 13:2). Nowhere in Scripture does God say that love is secondary to being “right”; there is no carte blanche for a Christian to treat people in an ungracious manner.

    However, the Bible also says that love without truth is equally void, for genuine love rejoices in the truth (1 Cor 13:6) and hates what is false (Psalms 119:12,104,111,127-8).

    When it comes to love and truth, It’s not an either-or situation; it’s a both-and. BOTH must be present for the true church to exist. Doctrine is absolutely important, and we are told in Scripture in many places that we must be able to clearly and correctly discern truth from error (Eph 4:14-15, 2 Timothy 2:15, Titus 1:9, 1 John 4:6). Jesus never tolerated doctrinal error, especially error that had to do with how someone gets saved. We can’t jettison correct doctrine for love – soul damning error is never loving. The devil frequently cloaks himself as an angel of righteousness. The only way to expose his lies is to correctly know and apply the word of God.

  32. Sam says:

    Hi Carolyn,

    I certainly agree that doctrine vs. love is never an either-or situation. I believe doctrine is vitally important, and it was not my purpose to denigrate doctrine. However, my point was primarily in response to the statement that Christian love seems to be lacking among many professed believers, and I do maintain that this because teaching on love has often been given a back seat, or a secondary role, to a specific doctrinal formulation.

    You are absolutely right, that one should not trump the other. That’s why it bothers me that teaching on love gets so little attention, and when it does, it is rarely presented as an essential thing for the Christian.

    I also maintain that what we believe inevitably affects how we act, and if our beliefs aren’t leading to Christlike actions, then we should examine our beliefs as there is probably something wrong.

    In Christ,
    Sam

  33. Joanne says:

    I’m so glad you’re back in the public domain! I’m sorry that you and your family are still under attack; but praise God that He’s working in your situation to bring blessings! You and your family are in my thoughts and prayers.

  34. paulacummings says:

    Bravo Ingrid!!! remember that poem that states “The good you do today, people will often forget tomorrow, Do good anyway.” … in the final analysis, it is between you and God; It was never between you and them anyway.”
    That is how I think about things. I have come to learn that the saying ‘No good deed goes unpunished’ is a fact of life. And so, to be upset by it or change my behaviour and alter who I am is ultimately foolish because it is my loss and it is the loss of those few who I might have helped. I suspect the majority of people are often too immersed in their own pathology to recognize their hurtful behaviour. I make a note of it, so as not to invite that into my life, but I carry on and put it behind me. I know all that is easier said than done. But you actually can get there, with a lot of prayer and learning what forgiveness is and is not. YOU have too big a light to shine on to this world to hide it under a bushel simply because some pathetic, ignorant people resent the fact that you have it and they don’t. Don’t let them steal your joy EVER. I personally don’t know what I would do without all the delightful and intelligent and creative and religious and knowledgeable things you write and speak about.

  35. Ingrid Schlueter says:

    And I, Paula, don’t know what I would do without you to hang out with for coffee and conversation in our usual spot. 🙂 Coffee tastes better when you’re in a Dodge mini-van with Emmy clutter scattered around. (It beats shouting over the crazed baristas crushing coffee beans with jack hammers inside. LOL) You are a dear friend. Thanks for the wise words always.

  36. Paula Coyle says:

    “In short, the gossip and slander becomes meaningless to us, as we no longer have to associate with these people any longer. Let them label us anything they want (drug dealers, gamblers, child-traffickers, “vicious”, “mentally unstable”, LOL”

    Now who in the world would have said a mean and vicious thing like that??
    🙂

    to INC – OH thank you for that Schaeffer quote. I think I shall have to swipe it.

    to Sam – truth should not trump love nor love trump truth. Well, I’m not a fan of that phrasing. You have both or you have neither because Love is an essential aspect of having of truth. Without love you don’t have the truth. Without truth, you don’t have love either. (you may have an illusion of either one though.) It doesn’t seem to be a matter of balance. Each thing encompasses the other, and they can’t be separated.

  37. darlene says:

    When I looked the other day and couldn’t find you it was like another friend lost. The joy returned this morning. I really am so sorry for all the hurt you and the family are going through.

    Very encouraging to hear the good things that are happening for you and Tom. God Bless and keep up the good fight we are praying for you.

  38. Jim De Arras says:

    This is the email I received after simply questioning his decision in email, and ONCE on his FB page: Not attacking him other than the one sentence “you will reap what you sow”.

    Jim,

    I am sorry you feel the way you do but you do not know all the facts.

    ——— ——- is a federally registered trademark and is a national organization that is largely based on my credibility and reputation. You seem to be seeking to harm our company and my reputation. I am asking you to stop posting negative comments on our facebook page that are seeking to damage my reputation. I don’t know if you are familiar with the laws in relation to liable and slander. You should do your homework. I am coming to you as a Christian to ask you to stop. If you post anymore comments on our facebook or send out anymore e-mails that are an attack on my character and reputation, I will be left with no choice other than to turn this over to our corporate attorney.

    Sincerely,
    ——- —–

    Mighty nice of him to threaten to sue me “as a Christian”

    Jim

  39. Ingrid Schlueter says:

    Very very sad, Jim. I’m sorry that this is the kind of “Christianity” you’ve been hit with. It’s disillusioning, depressing and can derail faith if we don’t keep our eyes on our perfect Savior. Legal threats show character faster than anything among professing believers. The idea of getting to the source of all of it in repentance, humility, and reconciliation is not even an option apparently. God has mercifully gotten me out of that world where reputations and years of work can go up in smoke in a matter of hours if it serves someone’s larger agenda. We’re walking into the light of Christ. And if there is the slightest hint of a desire for biblical reconciliation to stop this insanity, I will run, not walk towards them.

    Blessed are the merciful for they shall receive mercy.
    ~ Jesus

    …bearing with one another and, if one has a complaint against another, forgiving each other; as the Lord has forgiven you, so you also must forgive.
    ~Colossians 3:13

    “To the contrary, if your enemy is hungry, feed him; if he is thirsty, give him something to drink; for by so doing you will heap burning coals on his head.”
    ~ Romans 12:20

    …Then his master summoned him and said to him, ‘You wicked servant! I forgave you all that debt because you pleaded with me. (33) And should not you have had mercy on your fellow servant, as I had mercy on you?’ (34) And in anger his master delivered him to the jailers, until he should pay all his debt. (35) So also my heavenly Father will do to every one of you, if you do not forgive your brother from your heart.
    ~Matthew 18:32-35 (Jesus speaking in a parable.)

    “At my first defense no one came to stand by me, but all deserted me. May it not be charged against them!” (Paul)
    2 Timothy 4:16

    As for you, you meant evil against me, but God meant it for good, to bring it about that many people should be kept alive, as they are today. (21) So do not fear; I will provide for you and your little ones.” Thus he comforted them and spoke kindly to them.” (Joseph)
    ~ Genesis 50:20-21

    Anyone whom you forgive, I also forgive. What I have forgiven, if I have forgiven anything, has been for your sake in the presence of Christ, (11) so that we would not be outwitted by Satan; for we are not ignorant of his designs.
    2 Corinthians 2:10-11

    The best way to stand in opposition to Satan is to refuse to be drawn in. Satan comes at me with the latest slander spoken about me and we’re off to the races. But this is where our faith meets reality. Instead of calling an attorney, the answer is to fall on our knees and ask God for His intervention. Satan despises peace, reconciliation, wholeness, forgiveness. He can’t live there. He’s banished. So if we want to send Satan and his minions packing, we have to ask God to place that forgiveness supernaturally into our hearts, because on our own, there is nothing but pure anger at being lied about, seeing your work and reputation of years destroyed by others. And God will deal with those who trade in the destruction of someone’s good name. It is a form of murder to take someone’s name and reputation dishonestly. Psalm 5 is a vivid depiction of David’s calling on God for help in just such a situation. That’s a fantastic passage to read.

  40. Rose says:

    YaY! You’re back. I knew something was going on and that it involved our enemy who is constantly looking for our vulnerabilities and looking to manipulate who he will in order to harm us. So glad to see you back. Love you, Ingrid, and your family.

  41. carolynb says:

    Regarding Jim’s comments:

    …”_____ is a federally registered trademark and is a national organization that is largely based on my credibility and reputation”?

    Um, what’s with the “my”? I thought Biblical ministries were to be based on the credibility and reputation of Christ.

    …”I will be left with no choice other than to turn this over to our corporate attorney.”

    Seriously? Wow.

    1 Cor 6
    1 Does any one of you, when he has a case against his neighbor, dare to go to law before the unrighteous and not before the saints? 2 Or do you not know that the saints will judge the world? If the world is judged by you, are you not competent to constitute the smallest law courts? 3 Do you not know that we will judge angels? How much more matters of this life? 4 So if you have law courts dealing with matters of this life, do you appoint them as judges who are of no account in the church? 5 I say this to your shame. Is it so, that there is not among you one wise man who will be able to decide between his brethren, 6 but brother goes to law with brother, and that before unbelievers? 7 Actually, then, it is already a defeat for you, that you have lawsuits with one another. Why not rather be wronged? Why not rather be defrauded?

  42. Angela says:

    Ingrid, I didn’t see you on FB any more and wondered how you were. I’ve been praying for you and your family. I’m glad to see your blog is still here.

    Jim, so, for this guy, being restored with a brother is to *not* go through the proper channels the Lord laid out but to resort to his corporate attorney to save his “reputation”? That’s disgusting.

  43. kim says:

    I have to echo the comments regarding FB…you are sorely missed dear sister. I hope you will come back. In the meantime, know that you and your family are ever in my prayers, and don’t let the ucky people get you down…you stand upon the rock that is Christ…and they have nothing to stand on. 😉

  44. Donna says:

    I was so sorry to have your blog down–and am so happy to have it back. While, as you and I have privately discussed, I come here for “non-Christian reasons,” they are the opposite of “malicious.” Thank you for letting me participate.

  45. Jessica says:

    I have not read all the comments but I wanted to say that I have really missed you on Crosstalk. I noticed you were gone and tried to find out. I don’t know all the details and doing a search online just further confuses the issues.

    But I want to say my heart really goes out to you. I feel like I kind of know what you are going through. Last February, I had to set some boundaries with my parents because they had some issues with the way we thought and raised our kids. My father was a PK and has really become antagonistic to the gospel thus causing much friction. Boundaries were necessary. But what has resulted is a situation that has become something far different from intended. I have not talked with my family since May. Very difficult. So I know some of your pain.

    Thank you for standing firm.

  46. Ingrid Schlueter says:

    I think the biggest gift we can give our own children is the knowledge of our unconditional love and support. It doesn’t mean we have to agree with our adult children on everything, but acknowledging their adulthood and individuality and respecting boundaries is a gift we need to give them. It’s a cold and increasingly bleak world out there. Real love is in short supply. If we can’t love our own family, as Christians, why do we think we can love God who we have never even seen? I’m sorry you have that sad situation going on. The holidays only serve to underscore how sad these things are. But we can let our children see an abundance of love and joy in our own homes, and that’s enough.

Comments are closed.