“Happy to You!” Says Emmy

When Tom Schlueter married me, the man ended up walking into what has seemed like non-stop drama. For nearly 16 years he has weathered every crisis, sometimes weathering multiple crises at one time, and has never complained. Even in the crises (yes, that’s plural) we are presently facing, he remains the same kind, caring and loving man that he is with me, our 6 children and everyone else in our lives.

I want to say Happy Birthday to my husband who has not only my deepest respect, but my love forever and always. Or as Emmy says it, “Happy to you, Daddy!”

Yes, Tom Schlueter. Lots and lots of ‘happy to you.’ You deserve it.

12 thoughts on ““Happy to You!” Says Emmy

  1. Ingrid Schlueter says:

    I remember Tom trying to oversee repair of the (uninsured) flood damage in our finished basement two years ago while simultaneously trying to paint the baby’s nursery while running to the hospital when I was on complete bed rest with high blood pressure before Emmy. Then there was the time recently when we were dealing with an explosive family situation, water was coming through the ceiling of our downstairs bathroom and Emmy inexplicably had an allergic reaction to something and was covered head to toe in terrible hives, resulting in an ER visit. We sometimes haven’t known which disaster to tackle first, but Tom has guided us through it all and somehow, with help from the Lord, we’ve made it.

  2. Donna Knuth says:

    There’s something I’m learning. Life is filled with crises…it’s how you handle them that counts. I don’t know you Tom, but I wish you a very happy and blessed birthday.

  3. Lisa K says:

    What a blessing Tom has been in your life! I know so many couples living in discord – and – as everyone does – I know many divorced couples. It’s a breath of fresh air to read about such a great guy and a happy marriage.

  4. Joanne says:

    Happy Birthday Tom! Thank you for being an example of what a Christian husband and father should be!

  5. Kris says:

    Sorry I didn’t read your blog yesterday. Even though Tom would rather “pass by” the birth day where would we be if there wasn’t a “Tom”. Tom, we need you in our lives and the
    Lord blessed us so. Thanks Mom & Dad…HAPPY TO YOU!!!!! Love, Kris

  6. Ingrid Schlueter says:

    Thanks, Kris! He read my post after I told him I had a birthday card online for him. πŸ˜‰ I even got a kiss for that. πŸ™‚ We had a nice dinner together last night to celebrate, so he didn’t get away with canceling his big day, ha!

  7. carolynb says:

    Ingrid – you are indeed blessed to have Tom for your husband. A belated “happy to you” to Tom!

  8. Paula Coyle says:

    Thank you Tom for standing by your lovely wife! We are very thankful for both of you.

    LOL I just got a friend request from someone who, on her wall said “Birthdays are of pagan origin” — so now I’m thinking hm. Do I accept her request?

  9. Ingrid Schlueter says:

    No, Paula, no! Don’t accept the request! LOL. Birthdays are of pagan origin? You couldn’t make it up. I’m thinking Facebook is of pagan origin. Did you ever wonder how the “taste not, touch not” crowd rationalizes hanging out at such a place? πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

