Can You Pass the Civics Test?

Newsweek gave 1000 Americans a basic civics test. Thirty-eight percent failed the test. Even liberal Newsweek acknowledges that this kind of ignorance imperils our nation’s future. I would say that it is this kind of ignorance that explains the election of our current President. If there is vast ignorance about our basic founding documents in this country, how would Americans know if the candidates running for office even believe in the Constitution?

Our children need to know the basics about our country and how it works, and civics or government classes have gone the way of logic and Latin. The schools have made way for comprehensive sex education, drug education, death education, multicultural education, anti-bullying education and so forth, but have failed to teach history and civics to American citizens. It’s a travesty.

Take the test and see how you score.

10 thoughts on “Can You Pass the Civics Test?

  1. Slice Fan says:

    This is the closest thing I’ve seen from you in a week of an article that’s worthy of The Slice. You can’t keep yourself out of the online discernment ministry forever. It’s in your blood. Rob Bell’s new book escaped your pen? How many more itches will you refuse to scratch? Bring back The Slice.

  2. Lisa K says:

    Ingrid – it’s not just civics – I can personally attest to incompetence of many educators. I offered to proofread a donation letter being sent to vendors by the vice-principal of my son’s Chicago public grade school. It was riddled with syntax and grammar errors! The kicker: it had been proofread by the teacher who is considered the grammar expert of school!
    It’s obvious our school system is a mess and has been for a long time. They simply cannot educate large numbers of children with wildly diverse capabilities.

  3. Rose says:

    I passed it! But, then I knew I would because when I went to school back in the late 50’s early 60’s civics and government classes were mandatory.
    And, I took Latin, too. Can you believe it…four years of it! It is a shame how the educational system has deteriorated.

  4. Sean says:

    It is not the schools, it’s the idiot kids.
    I have taught all the Newsweek questions, and three months from now, they won’t remember anything they were taught.

  5. christina says:

    How sad. I wonder what the future of America will be….scary.

    I remember in Highschool we had a government class. I did not like it at all. We have to memorize the Constitution and back then I never thought it would matter. Even though the teachers had us memorize things they never told us why. We never even had history…it was called social studies. Thanks for posting this.

  6. carolynb says:

    If I had to guess, I’d say no, I can’t pass the test. I have a very poor memory for names and dates. History was always my worst school subject. I did well in math. Though I will add this: history is more interesting to me now that I am saved, because through the Biblical lens, it makes sense. I still can’t remember much as far as facts and figures go, but I am glad to know Christ will return and bring with Him everlasting righteousness.

    I do agree with you, tho, Ingrid, that what has replaced traditional subjects of history, civics, the three R’s (rather, 1 R, 1 W, and 1 A), etc, is utter foolishness. Children don’t need sex ed, drug ed, multicultural ed, and ed-cetera. They need basic schooling and a healthy fear of the Lord, for that is the beginning of wisdom.

  7. paulacummings says:

    Loved the show, was summarizing it to my daughter after school and said ‘ can you believe there are kids that do not know who the missing animal is in Little Bo Peep come blow your horn?’ Thankfully, she knew it was Little Bo Peep Has lost her sheep. I was thinking, wow, here I am complaining about all of this, and I can’t even get my nursery rhymes straight – that’s not good. Was a good laugh between us. Ahh humility, gotta love it. Do think I will get the work book from Abeka just in case!

  8. Paula says:

    Hm. I got most of them. I didn’t keep track. But I was amazed at some pretty typical things like “the supreme law of the land” that 70 percent of people got it wrong. yikes. I can only hope they answered “ten commandments” – at least that would be a good reason to get it wrong.

  9. Truthinator says:

    I passed, Ingrid. But then again, I went to school before they began to indoctrinate about moral corruption & communistic woodstock mentality, before they instructed 5Kers about how to correctly use condoms, before yoga and eastern mysticism were installed into every reading lesson, and before self esteem was the new god of the age. So we had time to learn about history, government, and economics.

    I hear the newest thing on campus today is to label anyone who is learned in history, gov’t, economics and who has common sense & morals a domestic terrorist…

Leave a Reply

