Autumn Falls

The nights are “drawing in” again, as the English say. There’s the scent of woodsmoke on the night air that tells me neighbors are beginning the cozy autumn ritual of lighting their fires. Maybe it is the jacket weather that is causing my nesting instinct to kick in. I brought out our Fall decorations and pumpkin scented candles today. Jon helped me dust the living room, and I set out my little acorn people on the piano, and lit an apple pie scented candle on the kitchen table. I brought out my red and white checked table cloth and made chocolate chip cookies. My house smelled very inviting this afternoon.

Like most people, I love this time of year when jackets are still a novelty. Emmy wore her warm fleece hat today while taking her daily swing in the back yard. The wind was blowing, and it really was chilly. Not that Emmy minded. Having a rare chance to have Daddy push her in the swing, she was thrilled, as usual, to be outside. Tom had her screaming with laughter with his male way of doing things. Dads play differently with children. My sedate style of pushing her in the swing couldn’t hold a candle to Daddy’s. She cries every time she has to leave the swing. I think she would live there if she could.

I have fallen in love, readers, with a new book. I am barely into it, and I cannot wait to read the next chapter. It is a book by Christopher Morley from 1919 called, The Haunted Bookshop. It is not a book about the supernatural. It’s the story of a used book dealer in Brooklyn who converts his old brownstone into a shop. His wife and he live in a nook within the store. Just the description of the bookshop and its funny, book-loving owner has been worth it.

When I took 6 books out of the library yesterday, the librarian checking me out said, “Looks like you got the oldest books in the library!” The pages were all yellowed in most of them. “Those are usually the best kind,” I said with a smile. She nodded. “I know what you  mean!”

Speaking of literature, Will is going to see the American Players in Spring Green, Wisconsin for a performance of As You Like It this week. I’m having him brush up on the plot of the play so he knows what’s going on on stage. I’ll have to hunt up my copy of Shakespeare’s complete works that Tom brought me. He was in a shop in London’s Charing Cross Road which is famous for its bookshops when came across a leather bound edition with the simple inscription, “To Harry With Love from Molly.” I always wonder who Harry was and whether he liked Molly’s gift. The date inscribed was 1931. The London Blitz and WWII were just a few years away. The book doesn’t look very used so perhaps Harry wasn’t much on Shakespeare.

I’m going to get the meatloaf going. Tom has been working in the yard and putting things away in the shed for the winter and will be very hungry. Tonight we will light our own fire. It would be perfect to sit in my rocker and read my new (old) Morley book. I have to find out what happens next in his magnificent bookshop. I’ll let you know!

15 thoughts on “Autumn Falls

  1. Roxanne says:

    I have never seen acorn people…can I request a picture? Fall is my favorite season. As everyone is complaining about the cold weather returning, I am feeling quite smug because I can appreciate it. I love that you do, too. The Haunted Bookshop sounds great and I will request it on interlibrary loan.

  2. Elizabeth says:

    The Haunted Bookshop sounds like a good read. Just DLed it from Internet Archive (free, as it is in the public domain)for my Kindle. They also had an audio version available, so folks might want to check that out.

    We fired up the wood stove this weekend for some serious heat during the drear, windy Saturday. I had a pot roast in the slow cooker, made a pumpkin pound cake, with a rich walnut sauce. Between the warmth of the fire, good music, books, and food, we were most content.

  3. Lisa K says:

    I’ve heard of the Haunted Bookshop but have never read it. Let us know if you like it after you are done!

    One thing I’ve noticed about recent fiction is there seems to be a trend of vague or inconclusive endings. I call it lazy writing – and I’ve seen it with recent movies, tv shows and books.

    Years ago authors knew where they were going with a story and didn’t just have a whim or an vague idea and a “let-the-chips-fall-where-they-may” attitude!

  4. Margot says:

    Couldn’t resist downloading “The Haunted Bookshop” on Kindle, a bargain at $3.19! Chapter 1, page 1 “If you are ever in Brooklyn……..”

    As much as I like to see a wonderful collection of books on the shelf, I’m really enjoying reading on Kindle. Even have an ESV Study Bible, handy at our bible study.

  5. paulacummings says:

    Ingrid you are amazing, with all you have to do each day, you are a fantastic reader as well. I would ask you when you have time to do so much reading but I guess the answer is obvious because you find it somehow! I love your taste in books as well. How do you find these forgotten gems? I feel most alive in autumn and am right with you, I had my pumpkin smelling candle going for 3 weeks already. Speaking of pumpkin, did you hear about the shortage of canned pumpkin? I haven’t seen it in the aisles, so maybe there is something to it.

  6. Ingrid Schlueter says:

    Well, Paula, I fit most of my reading in before I go to sleep. I get comfortable as early as 8pm when the baby goes to bed, and get propped up on my pillows to read. I have my stack of books on the nightstand waiting. Sometimes I read out of more than one. Tom practices till 10:30 some nights, so I got in the habit of reading during that window. It’s a very nice way to end the day, especially on long, cold fall and winter nights. I mentally look forward to that time all day long when things are hectic. I like being alone with my books. It’s soul restoring after a crazy day!

  7. Jean Selden says:

    Ingrid:

    Autumn is my favorite time of the year. I am hoping that because of the recession many will find out how to enjoy their homes. It is fun to decorate as you can leave it up through Thanksgiving.

    I am not a fiction reader but can see the enjoyment in them. I have to look harder to find healthy well-written non-fiction. I love that your local library is so full of good reading. I don’t know if it is because I live in the liberal Northwest or not, but I quit using our local library as it became overfilled with new age spiritual books. I usually use half.com. I am able to choose from thousands of books and it is rare that I can’t find what I am looking for.

    Autumn blessings to all,
    Jean Selden
    Paula, I just read that the pumpkin shortage is over that there will be plenty on the shelves.

  8. paulacummings says:

    That’s when I read as well, and usually have like 5 books going depending on what mood I’m in. I’d like to read during the day because I tend to fall asleep reading at night, but somehow I feel guilty doing daytime reading. Yeah for the pumpkin shortage being over!

  9. Elizabeth says:

    Morley’s Mince Pie is just hilarious! It’s a collection of humorous sketches I d/led it from Internet Archive as well as Haunted Bookshop. I started reading it last night, and it kept me up far too late. There are parts of it that are just side-splittingly funny.

  10. Lisa K says:

    Those of who truly love reading always have many books going at once. Currently I have two Christian non-fiction, two bios, all partially read, plus one Robert Ludlum book. I have at least five on my bedside table at any given time. Checking them out of the library speeds me up in reading knowing I have a deadline. I love that I can reserve library books online now! In fact after I drop my son off to school this morning I’m going to pick up The Night Bookmobile. I have 4 others in transit from other libraries.

  11. Ingrid Schlueter says:

    Roxanne, here are my acorn people. Just for you. Dollar store special, but I put ’em out every fall on the piano. 🙂

  12. christina says:

    The acorn people are adorable!
    I too love fall. The crisp air when you wake in the morning. Being able to be a little chilly and not so hot! A candle favorite of mine is a soy candle my cousin makes. Its called amish friendship bread and it smells delicious!

  13. Lorrie says:

    Great article, Ingrid. About a year ago you mentioned Temple Bailey’s book “The Dim Lantern” and I was able to order it through Amazon. It was such a good book — I’ve been wanting to thank you for the recommendation.

Leave a Reply

