Sisters, Sisters…

Sisters, sisters, never were there such devoted sisters…

~ Rosemary Clooney and Vera Ellen in White Christmas

I found this old Polaroid photo of my sister and me. It was in rough shape when I rescued it from a box of junk a few months ago. Fortunately, it was found in time.

This is me and my sister Lisa. We are 21 months a part, and we were close growing up. We are wearing dresses my mom sewed for us. It was the 70’s so you will understand why the dresses were pink and purple. These were short versions of the long dresses worn by the New Life Singers we traveled with, and the material was chosen so that when the black light would hit the dresses, they would glow.

Our favorite thing to do was to play “church.” She would be the song leader, and I would be the pianist. We set our dolls up on the sofa and used a candy dish for an offering plate. I always played an offertory, but those dolls were pretty stingy.

Lisa would pinch hit as the preacher, too. Mom would lurk in the dining room sometimes to listen to the “sermons” Lisa would preach and Mom said she sometimes made some pretty good points!

Sisters that stay close are a real blessing from God. They share your childhood memories like nobody else can. We shared a bedroom for a long time also, so we shared secrets and excitement on birthdays and Christmas and all the other times in childhood. There were a few arguments over whose things were on whose side of the room, but all in all, Lisa was a great roommate. In college, the girls fought over having her for a roommate. Lisa could make me laugh better than anyone. She still can.

Once as young adults, we were at a convention together, and we shared a hotel room. We were afraid our neighbors would call the front desk because we laughed so late into the night. I’ll never forget those times. Let’s hear it for sisters!

9 thoughts on “Sisters, Sisters…

  1. Jessica Fales says:

    Yes let’s hear it for sisters! I love my two more than I can say. I miss them terribly sometimes. One lives in Colorado and the other in Ohio. That is a long way from Southern California. I am the youngest girl in the family. My sister’s always watched out for me. I always say, it was nice to be the last girl. I was able to watch them and learn. Sometimes, I learned what to do. Sometimes, I learned what not to do. I avoided a lot of pitfalls because of them and the Lord. I am sure He put me last because had I gone first I would have been a real mess. As it is my family nickname is “Messica, Jess the Mess, Messy, etc… šŸ™‚

    Jess

  2. Ingrid Schlueter says:

    Ha, that’s funny. “Messica”! Lisa and I had a few skirmishes over the bedroom. She was too passionate about getting outside to worry about a little thing like picking up her clothes. So, being the superior big sister (or so I thought), I looked in disdain at her habit of clothes on the floor. The Lord seems to pair “Oscar” and “Felix” type siblings together to balance things out, I am convinced!

    P.S. Whoa, are those bangs of mine crooked, lol. I just noticed it.

  3. paulabukacek says:

    Lately I have been realizing how lucky I am to have 2 older sisters. As we were growing up we weren’t very close, but as we have gotten older I couldn’t imagine life without them. All three of us could not be more different, but we come together on the things that matter. I’m lucky that they live close by and I see them often.

  4. Lisa K says:

    That picture is great!
    I shared a room with my sister Paula who is two years younger.
    We would make up songs and games at night when we should have been sleeping. We also loved singing harmony songs together such as “You Are My Sunshine” and songs we learned at Bible camp. When we see each other we can break into one of those little songs like it was yesterday and we are now 55 and 53!
    Did any of you ever play the game of how old you each would be in the year 2000? We are now ten years older than the oldest ages we could ever imagine being!

  5. Judi Hayes says:

    I always wanted a sister. (I was in the middle of 3 brothers.) Around age 6, my only request of Santa was for a sister. When he didn’t deliver, I took to checking the want-ads in the Milwaukee Journal looking for a sister to adopt. Brothers are great too, and I wouldn’t want to be without them, but I wished the LORD would have given my daughter a sister and my son a brother so they could have the best of both worlds! Of course, I know the LORD knows better than I do what we need, and I do trust Him.

  6. Ingrid Schlueter says:

    You’re right. God knows best, but it doesn’t stop us occasionally from wishing. When my friend next door had a baby brother, I wanted a baby brother or sister in the worst kind of way. I didn’t get one, but I would pick babies out of the JC Penney catalog from the baby clothes section and choose which one I would have if I could. Emmy may feel the same way as all her siblings will be gone from home likely by the time she’s old enough to know what’s going on. Twins would have been nice, but I doubt if I could have survived all the work! Feeling my age some days.

  7. Lisa K says:

    I think God gives us what we need. I always imagined myself with daughters, but ended with only sons. It’s taught me to look at the world from the male point of view. I grew up in a female dominated house – and now I’m the only female in my house! As a child I was wary of noisy, active boys as I was rather sedate and loved playing with dolls and reading books. God knew I needed to see boys can be wonderful – and I wouldn’t trade them for all the girls in the world (though of course it would be nice to have a granddaughter some day!)

  8. Kris W. says:

    Unfortunately I don’t have a sister, but a great brother
    who God blessed me with. The person that I call my sister is my cousin Cindy. I am just 5 months to the day her senior. Also, my very dear friend Terri is like a sister to me. Both Cindy and Terri are Christians and I am very thankful to have both of them in my life. Love the picture Ing and glad you found it in time…Kris
    P.S. My sister-in-law is pretty special too!

  9. Ingrid Schlueter says:

    I was just about to say, “Hey wait, I’m your sister-in-law!” šŸ™‚ We were even at the same Brewers game in 1982 when the Brewers got the pennant! We just didn’t know each other then…We could probably pass for biological sisters, don’t you think, with the hair color?

Leave a Reply

