Our Father

Bad things happen here on earth because of sin that entered the world with Adam’s fall.

We experience sorrow and grief and loss, and sometimes nothing seems to make sense.

But we have a Savior who knows what suffering is. He entered our sin ravaged earth, 2000 years ago, and took our sin upon Himself on a rugged cross so that we might be made right before our holy God.

Those who repent from sin and put their faith and trust in that work that was done on the Cross will find the forgiveness of sins, healing and the blessed hope of eternity with God.

The Lord Jesus Christ taught us to pray as recorded in Holy Scripture. These words, lifted up and supported by the lovely notes of this music, remind us of the essence of our relationship with our Heavenly Father. This world will hurt us, discourage us and bring us sometimes almost to despair. Then we must lift up our eyes to our Savior who now sits at the right hand of God the Father, and pray according to His direction. For His is the Kingdom, and the power, and the glory, forever and ever, Amen.

(This is from Bocelli’s latest Christmas album. It’s not Christmas, but the Lord’s Prayer should be with us every day.)

6 thoughts on “Our Father

  1. Margaret L. Been says:

    Oh, Ingrid–thank you so much for sharing that! I will play it over and over, and find the CD when I get to Barnes & Noble!

    Andrea B. is WONDERFUL! My grandson, Adam, gave me the album, “THE Best of Andrea Bocelli”. It’s so romantic and beautiful! I can picture the hills and vinyards of Italy in the music. The songs make me feel young at heart!

    What is it about the tenor voice? It moves me more profoundly than all the others—and I love good vocal music in all ranges.

    Our son, Karl, has a fine and well-trained tenor voice, and he sings in his church. Years ago he was in a lot of his high school musicals.

    I used to say Karl was the world’s greatest tenor. (The 2nd greatest was Luciano Pavarotti.) That’s an example of a mother’s subjectivity! 🙂

  2. Margaret L. Been says:

    The Lord’s Prayer! In our fundamental Bible churches, we rarely say it anymore. I guess the idea behind that is to pray “spontaneously” rather than say something we’ve memorized as children.

    But what a tragedy! Occasionally we attend a service in a traditional church and I realize the complete-ness and perfection of our Lord’s prayer! I love to read it and pray it in my quiet time.

    These thoughts open a whole “can of worms” concerning what we’ve lost in our “modern” churches–the perfect prayer, great music (I nearly cried when I listened to your U-TUBE!), and a sense of awe in the sanctuary.

    We have some great Bible teaching in our fundamental churches, and that has got to be the #1 priority. But why can’t we retain some of the meaningful worship ingredients of the past, especially when they are Biblical?

  3. Ingrid Schlueter says:

    The other night at a very difficult moment, I found the Lord’s Prayer sung on YouTube. The simplicity and God-inspired beauty of the words just made everything fall into place. Thy will be done. Give us our daily bread. Help us to forgive. Deliver us from evil. How can any of this, so beautifully and Divinely summed up, be considered “rote”? Rote and vain repetition is in the heart, not in the words themselves which God wrote. The same goes for the Apostles Creed, the Doxology, the Benediction, the Invocation prayers, all of which have pretty much been jettisoned by today’s evangelical and fundamental churches.

    We taught the children written prayers because of the thoroughness which was instructive to us all in how we should pray spontaneously.

    Would you rather a child pray, “Uh, Dear God, we just, we just thank you for this day. Thanks for the food. Give us a great day, Amen.”

    or

    “The eyes of all look to you, O Lord, and you give them their food at the proper time. You open up your hand and satisfy the desires of every living thing. Lord God, heavenly Father, bless us and these thy gifts, which we receive through thy bountiful goodness, through Jesus Christ our Lord, Amen.”

    These prayers teach awe, reverence and order in how we approach God. I am with you 100%.

  4. paulabukacek says:

    Thank you, as always very timely of you and quite discerning. I get so much from your beautiful blog, and can’t thank you enough for the sensitivity you seem to demonstrate by your choice of topics and your gentle comments.

  5. Judi Hayes says:

    Ingrid, in answer to your rhetorical question, “Which prayer would you rather your child pray?”–the latter, the latter!!! It is wonderful. Where did/do you find these prayers? I’d love to see more (all?!!) of the ones you taught your children.

  6. Ingrid Schlueter says:

    LUTHER’S MORNING PRAYER

    These are from Luther’s Small Catechism that he wrote to instruct fathers how to teach their children the basics of the Christian faith. He gave several examples of prayer that are beautiful expressions worth learning. Mary and William used these when they were in Lutheran school each day.

    Luther’s Morning Prayer

    In the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit. Amen.

    I thank you, my heavenly Father, through Jesus Christ, Your dear Son, that You have kept me this night from all harm and danger; and I pray that You would keep me this day also from sin and every evil, that all my doings and life may please You. For into Your hands I commend myself, my body and soul, and all things. Let Your holy angel be with me, that the evil foe may have no power over me. Amen.

    LUTHER’S EVENING PRAYER

    In the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit. Amen.

    I thank you, my heavenly Father, through Jesus Christ, Your dear Son, that You have graciously kept me this day; and I pray that You would forgive me all my sins where I have done wrong, and graciously keep me this night. For into Your hands, I commend myself, my body and soul, and all things. Let Your holy angel be with me, that the evil foe may have no power over me. Amen.

    O give thanks unto the Lord, for He is good; for His mercy endureth forever. He giveth food to all flesh; He giveth to the beast his food, and to the young ravens which cry. He delighteth not in the strength of the horse; He taketh not pleasure in the legs of a man. The Lord taketh pleasure in them that fear Him, in those that hope in His mercy.

    We thank Thee, Lord God, Father, through Jesus Christ, our Lord, for all Thy benefits, who livest and reignest forever and ever. Amen.

    Two other sources of beautiful written prayers are the Book of Common Prayer, the older the better, and the Puritan Valley of Vision. Here is a link to those in the Valley of Vision. These are much longer and not necessarily to be memorized, but a father or mother can read this aloud during devotions. They are so THOROUGH. That is what I noticed, and they provide a right model for prayers from our hearts. These prayers not only talk with God, but they also teach us to pray.

    http://www.oldlandmarks.com/puritan.htm

Leave a Reply

