Emily Frances is One Year Old Today

It’s hard to comprehend that it has been a year since Tom and I were at the hospital for Emily’s arrival. Below is a little clip of Emily with the nurses when she was about 5 minutes old. Tom was telling them her name and getting some footage she’ll enjoy seeing some day. After all we had been through, hearing her loud cry was beautiful music to our ears. She stayed in the NICU for three weeks, but all in all, she was in fine shape.

My doctor was walking a tightrope the weeks I was in the hospital preceding Em’s arrival. We had to get far enough along for Emily’s sake, but not so far that I ended up losing my eyesight or having a stroke or seizures. With William, I was in a life-threatening situation 13 years earlier due to preeclampsia. But the Lord had his hand on the situation, and the staff at the hospital was so kind and professional.

I had many different nurses during that time, and there was not one that was problematic. They were angels, all of them, and I gained a new appreciation for the work that these women do, sometimes literally running to meet the needs of everyone on the floor on busy shifts. God bless them. The NICU nurses were also wonderful in the way they handled all those little babies. I never worried with Emily in their care, and there were tears in my eyes more than once in gratitude for the world’s best health care that was available to us in America that day. What a difference it made for our baby.

It’s 6:55 AM. Emily was born at 6:57. When we finally brought her home three weeks later, we gathered around her in our family room and sang the Doxology together.

Praise God from whom all blessings flow,
Praise Him all creatures here below,
Praise Him above ye heavenly hosts.
Praise Father, Son and Holy Ghost.

Amen

15 thoughts on “Emily Frances is One Year Old Today

  1. Becky McGraw says:

    Ingrid –

    It has been such a joy, for me, to read and watch her grow this first year. Yes, Praise God From Whom All Blessings Flow!

  2. Ken Silva says:

    The Lord be praised. Happy birthday Emily, and may God continue to bless this family.

    I’m very happy for you Ingrid. 🙂

  3. Pearl says:

    What touching memories. And such a happy day it is! Happy Birthday to the precious, little lady Emily…and many more.

  4. Lisa K says:

    I can’t believe it’s been a year already! I remember reading about the horrific scares and medical problems you experienced during the pregnancy. What a joy it must be to see her growing every day!

  5. Carol says:

    God is so good, and His mercies endure forever! May His blessings and praises continue to flow!

  6. Jessica Fales says:

    It always makes me cry when I hear my newborns cry for the first time. Love that sound! – Jess

  7. Ingrid Schlueter says:

    I know what you mean, Jessica. Every time I see those birth shows on Discovery Channel, it makes me shake a little and cry. It’s such a miracle, such an amazing, God-created, stunning miracle how he made these babies. Meanwhile, back here at home, things have descended into farce. The photographer who was supposed to get photos of a cleaned-up Emmy in her party dress at 4 before the rest arrived for the party didn’t show—miscommunication–Emmy is now dressed way too early and was trying to eat her hair bow, so she’s crawling around in nothing but her pink fancy bloomers that went under the dress, and the dress is on the coffee table so it won’t get wrinkled by her crawling around before things start here. Her hair bow is gone, her hair is all over the place, and I’ve collapsed on the couch with my laptop. Don’t ya just love events like this? Company won’t be here for another hour and a half so my half naked cherub can crawl around for a while yet…

  8. Mrs. C says:

    Happy Birthday to your sweet Emily. I’ve not commented for some time, but have read through the year.

    What amazing blessings God pours out on us. She is beautiful and so precious!!!

    I visited a dear friend yesterday who has been put on bed rest, and her little guy isn’t due until October. Please keep this precious lady in your prayers, and her little guy. God is doing mighty things for her, in her time of need. She shared some amazing stories of God’s grace, and He is proving His faithfulness to her.

  9. Ingrid Schlueter says:

    Thank you to everybody for the birthday wishes. We had a nice party last night for family, despite historic flooding and storms in SE Wisconsin. Mrs. C., when a person is on bed rest it is SUCH a blessing to get visits. You are no doubt being a real blessing to your friend. It can be so isolating. I wish I had used my time better on bed rest, looking back. I needed to rest in the Lord more and not be so agitated. Your friend is in my prayer that the Lord will sustain her and her precious little boy!

  10. sunnypatchcottage says:

    I can relate to the pre-eclampsia, as my middle son (my only bio son in our blended family) was born at 28 weeks, weighing 1 pound 5 ounces due to severe preeclampsia. He wasn’t expected to survive, but here we are 8 years later, a healthy and stout 85 pounds, almost as tall as mom, and doing things his original doctors swore he’d never do if he even survived the night. We spent 89 days in the NICU with him, and went through all the ups and downs that happen in there…back then it was a nightmare to me (I wasn’t saved), and the time after the NICU with all the delays, dr’s appts, medications for him, breathing treatments every 4 hours for a few years, etc, seemed to be one long blur. But it’s given me a unique insight to be able to minister to women who are there now or who are just out of the NICU, who need an understanding shoulder… 🙂

Leave a Reply

