11 thoughts on “Emmy Frances and Her Friend

  1. Christina says:

    Emmy is growing so quickly! She has such big beautiful eyes. Love the poem & picture!!!!

  2. Ingrid Schlueter says:

    Hi Christina,
    That’s the first verse of a children’s hymn I learned at my Lutheran school as a child. The kindergarten teacher had an old pump organ and we’d stand around and sing. Good memories.

  3. Kris says:

    The breath of fresh air on a spring day(or any day for that
    matter!) X’s and O’s…Kris

  4. Raedene says:

    My grandson is 3 1/2 and has a stuffed polar bear, Day Day, that was once as white as Emmy’s lamb. His weekly music class (Kindermusik) homework was to bring a favorite stuffed toy. Of course, he took his grey, worn, and tattered bear which he sleeps with nightly. I was a bit embarrassed because it look so bad in spite of the numerous trips to the washing machine. However, once we arrived to see all the other stuffed toys, Day Day was in like company. I hope Emmy’s lamb becomes a treasure, too.

  5. Ingrid Schlueter says:

    Th lamb is known by the creative name of “Lambie” and it is her favorite. A trumpet colleague of Tom’s sent it home with him a few months ago. It’s the only stuffed toy she likes to hang on to at this point. It’s a nice size and very soft, and she actually hugs it to her sometimes. She goes to sleep with it in her crib at night, so it may end up being her favorite lovey.

    When Sam was a baby, his blanket (he called it “kiki” when he was 12 months old because I used to ask him if he wanted his blan-kie) was what he dragged around. He kept that with him until he was two or three. It was pale blue, pink and green. I had a sweater vest of similar colors, and one time he saw me put it on and looked up at me puzzled, thinking I was somehow wearing his blanket. “Kiki?” he asked, pointing to my vest. I got a laugh out of that. The “kiki”, ragged and torn, but washed, and his back-up “kiki” is in my cedar chest. Just can’t bear to get rid of them yet. 🙂

  6. Lisa K says:

    My 23 year old son still has “blankie” somewhere in his room. It was a handknit pale pink/baby blue/white blanket my dad and step-mother brought me in the hospital after he was born.
    The funny thing is babies will pick their own “lovey”. I would have preferred he be attached to a smaller blanket, but he always wanted this large somewhat heavy “blankie” which at first he called “byak”.
    I tried “steering” my second son to a nice small thermal blanket, but he became attached to a flannel one because he liked feeling the pointy edges. To this day we aren’t sure what happened to “pointy” but I think it simply wore out!

Leave a Reply

