Emmy Notes

Emily is three-weeks-old tomorrow. Time flies. Before long, I’ll be saying three months. I’m trying to savor each moment with her because only moms with older kids realize just how fast the days go. I must admit I am adjusting physically and mentally to having a newborn again. It’s been so long since I’ve known that hypervigilance that mothers of babies have. Tom and I have been, er, arguing over nighttime feedings. He keeps sneaking away to do the nighttime feedings, and I keep trying to stop him so he gets some sleep. I can rest during the day and he can’t. I caught him sneaking out of the room for a late night feeding and stopped him in his tracks before he got out the bedroom door. Seriously, I am so grateful for his help, but sometimes wives have to step in and say, look here, you’re going to sleep, and I’ll do the feeding. I can take naps, he can’t.

Em’s a great little sleeper. She got on a three to four hour feeding schedule in the NICU and has pretty much stuck with that. If I get three hours of sleep in a row, I’m good to go. She even likes her baths and barely makes a peep. She even likes getting her hair (feathers I call them because her hair is so soft) shampooed. A true girl. I got a new tub in the mail from a company that wants me to review their Spa Tub for babies. It’s like a giant bowl and it’s supposed to keep the baby immersed up to her chest so she doesn’t get cold. I am leery of trying it until the baby can sit up. They are so slippery when wet and soapy that I’m afraid she’d get away from me. The tub comes with a video, so I’ll have to watch and see how the experts use it first.

Here’s a little video of Em this morning. She’s over 8 pounds now and gaining fast.

25 thoughts on “Emmy Notes

  1. kathy says:

    So glad you have your precious girl and the pink and white room! I have lifted you in my prayers often. Many blessings on you and your family, from a reader in NC.

  2. Anjelle says:

    That is the CUTEST video ever! HI EMILY!! Digging all the pink! “boombox” made me crack up. Her room is so SWEET! Thanks for posting Ingrid! Made me smie! God bless you both! xoxo

  3. Christina says:

    How precious! Her bedroom is adorable. It is nice that Tom wants to help. My husband tried with both of ours but I always heard my name being called to help him, it was sweet to try. Just seeing pictures and this video of her is getting me really excited to hold my little girl soon too…hopefully less than a week!

  4. Ingrid Schlueter says:

    Christina,
    You’ll have to let us all know about your baby when she comes! I’ve thought of you numerous times in that our due dates were so close. Emily’s was August 22, but the doctor took her early as my BP was getting dangerously high. I’d love to see a photo of your baby when she arrives! May the Lord give you a good delivery and healthy baby.

  5. Ingrid Schlueter says:

    “Moppet” wondered where her big brother was today among her adoring fans, Sam. Drive safely home…

  6. Becky says:

    Ingrid –

    She is just precious. Loved the tour of her room…cracked up when I saw the boom box.

    Thanks for sharing and updating. Nice to see and watch answered prayer!

  7. Mrs. U says:

    Hi Ingrid!!!
    I am SOOO happy to “hear” things are going well!! And what a wonderful sleep schedule she is already on!!

    I can’t wait to hear your review of the baby tub. I saw one on the news a month or so ago and was wondering about them. I’ll be waiting for it!

    We will keep praying for all to continue to go well for all of you!!!

    His,
    Shari

  8. Helen says:

    Bach is good, but it’s Mozart that’s supposed to make babies smarter. (I’d avoid Don Giovanni, though.)

    What a lovely room for a precious baby. And such a wonderful Daddy who wants to do night time feedings. I say, “Let him!”

  9. Francesca says:

    Let him, indeed. Maybe he misses her during the night. Maybe he loves those quiet night time feedings with his little girl. Sweet.

  10. Ingrid Schlueter says:

    Maybe I better clarify why I try to let Tom sleep. He gets up at 5:30 each morning and sometimes not to bed until 11 or later as he pays bills and the multitudinous things that need doing. He has rehearsals and a run of performances coming up that will get him home extremely late for four weeks straight It bothered me to see the fatigue on his face often before the baby with all the fallout from the flood and the chaos it created and he juggles so many things in caring for our family. Now with the added loss of sleep, I just plain worry about him because I love him. I didn’t mean to sound ungrateful, as I am DEEPLY grateful for his constant support, and yes, those quiet nighttime feedings can be precious time for sure!

  11. Jessica Fales says:

    What a sweet little baby and room. Thanks for the tour. I tried to imagine it many times while you were writing about it taking shape. My Owen was in a cradle too at first. The crib looked enormous when he was first home. I loved that fluffy hair on mine too. So soft. Like peach fuzz. I miss it. Fluff it as often as you can.

    Jess

  12. mel says:

    Oh Ingrid! I have forgotten how small infants truly are. I wish I could have heard all the infant gurgles and grunts as she moved around. The language of babies! How precious! And did I see chubby cheeks in that video?! She is growing so quickly. I know so many people prayed for you and her. Thank you for “sharing” her with us- just a little bit!

    God bless you both!
    mel

  13. Darlene Schriener says:

    Thank you for sharing your family with us. I go everyday to
    your blog hoping you had the time that day to share. Your
    little one is beautiful. Whenever I see a picture of her it makes
    me think of Kay Arthur and how she tells us when she had a new
    baby (grandchildren) in the family. She would say we had a new
    little sinner born. I thank the Lord for you and your family

  14. ab says:

    In light of all the bad news in the “world,” it is an uplifting moment in our days to see these posts from you, Ingrid. To echo the sentiments from other bloggers thank you so much for sharing your new precious daughter with us all.

    In Christ,
    Ann

  15. Sherry Goodwin says:

    What a lovely peaceful place for Emily and you! Just right, simply elegant and so p-i–n-k! This video was so precious and you sound so relaxed in this environment, Ingrid. God is so gracious to help us bring order out of chaos, beauty out of ashes, rest after striving. . .so many blessings and the Lord has set Emilly in a committed Christian family! He has truly answered so many prayers sent up on your behalf. I know you are a woman most blessed! Love to all of you. . .Sher P.S. The Beatrioux Potter prints are really just right. Mother will be so pleased!

  16. Christina says:

    Ingrid-

    I will keep you posted about when I deliver. My due date is Aug 25th but the doctor says she is ready to go anytime! Hopefully sooner rather than later. My daughter keeps asking when she is coming. 🙂

  17. Karen says:

    Ingrid, your Emily is so perfectly beautiful! I continue to pray for you, Emily and your family. I wish I could be there to see her in person. So, I thank you for the updates and the wonderful pic’s. God Bless you my dear friend.
    Karen

  18. Denise says:

    Beautiful baby! My middle daughter, Noel (12) and I along with Olivia, our 5 year old, watched videos of Livs when she was a baby. It was so fun!

    The nursery looks great!

    How neat that you guys have to fight over who feeds Ems in the middle of the night! LOL.

    Tim truly goes by SO fast with our Surprise Love Gifts from the Lord…and its a blessing b/c with age we lose a lot of anxiety since we have older kids, and we have confidence in knowing what we want and don’t want this time around.

    Its fun to enjoy a baby through the eyes of the older children, too!

    Glad you’re getting sleep! Its amazing how human one feels with even 4 hours of sleep. =)

  19. Deborah Hannon says:

    Did I notice a pink blanket from Babies R Us “Koala Babies Pink Luxe Blanket”? All my children have one in different colors (my Emmy has a pink one) and they are THE premiere security blanket. My kids call it their “blee”. I’m so glad your Emmy has one!
    Blessings from Cincinnati,
    Deborah

  20. Carol says:

    Ingrid, The pics did not come up on my computer. : ( It seems that I have “a non-supported operating system”! Anyway, it is a chance to use my imagination and I enjoyed reading all of the reactions which helped to fill in some detailsof her room. And you and Tom remind me of the story “The Gift of the Magi” because of your love, concern and sacrifice for each other. How you put each other’s needs before your own is just precious! What a beautiful environment that gives little Emmy! God Bless you both! Love, Carol

Leave a Reply

