From God Can Nothing Move Me

I wanted to share this hymn we sang this morning in worship. It was written during the heart of the Reformation, but its message is timeless truth.

From God can nothing move me; He will not step aside
But gently will reprove me And be my constant guide.
He stretches out His hand in evening and in morning,
My life with grace adorning wherever I may stand.

When those whom I regarded as trustworthy and sure
Have long from me departed, God’s grace shall still endure,
He rescues me from sin and breaks the chains that bind me.
I leave death’s fear behind me; His peace I have within.

The Lord my life arranges; Who can His work destroy?
In His good time He changes all sorrow into joy.
So let me then be still: My body, soul, and spirit
His tender care inherit according to His will.

Each day at Hhis good pleasure God’s gracious will is done.
He sent His greatest treasure in Jesus Christ, His Son.
He every gift imparts. The bread of earth and heaven
Are by His kindness given.  Praise Him with thankful hearts!

Praise God with acclamation and in His gifts rejoice.
Each day finds its vocation responding to His voice.
Soon years on earth are past; but time we spend expressing
The love of God brings blessing that will forever last!

Yet even thou I suffer the world’s unpleasantness,
And though the days grow rougher and bring me great distress,
That day of bliss divine, which knows no end or measure,
And Christ, who is my pleasure, forever shall be mine.

For thus the Father willed it, who fashioned us from clay;
And His own Son fulfilled it and brought eternal day.
The Spirit now has come, to us true faith has given;
He leads us home to heaven. O praise the Three in One!

Amen

Text: Ludwig Helmbold, 1532-98

5 thoughts on “From God Can Nothing Move Me

  1. healtheland says:

    Would you be able to recommend a good hymnal CD? Usually I listen to mostly Christian rap and rock and contemporary urban gospel, but lately I am finding that those aren’t good for my quiet times … for when I am trying to study my Bible or for setting my mind at ease and combating how chaotic it gets sometimes. I did pick up a CD of traditional hymns performed by the London Philharmonic orchestra and choir, which is pretty good, but a hindrance is that I have difficulty understanding the lyrics (a problem for me as most of the songs of it I do not know). I would really appreciate any help that you might be able to provide me with. Thanks!

  2. Ingrid Schlueter says:

    I’m so glad you asked. Most of the hymn CD’s I own have booklets with them where all the lyrics are printed out. I have learned innumerable hymns this way and I often now can sing along with the hymns I’ve learned. We have a treasure trove of hymnody left in the West and Christians who have never had the opportunity to know them are missing out!

    I can recommend several hymn CD’s. The finest I have ever encountered is John Rutter’s, “Sing, Ye Heavens” by the Cambridge Singers. It has both the grand festival hymns, but also the quiet meditative hymns and evening hymns as well which really serve to move our hearts and minds into the presence of the Lord to pray. Many times when I feel I can’t pray because my mind is racing on too many earthly things, these hymns sing of our Savior and how great He is and I am then moved to pray as I should. Here’s a link to Sing, Ye Heavens online for ordering. You can also hear samples on the page if you scroll down.

    http://www.amazon.com/Sing-Ye-Heavens-Hymns-Time/dp/B00004WGEZ

    Also, Jerusalem the Golden” Great Hymn Tunes from the Nineteenth Century by the Wells Cathedral Choir is just superb. I spent most of Sunday afternoon listening to it and learned some new hymns. I have never heard one more majestic than Lord, Enthroned in Heavenly Splendor, nor one as lovely and peaceful as “Hail, Gladdening Light”, the oldest hymn in Christian history. (The site claims that John Stainer wrote it in the 19th Century, but he’s the one who put it to a hymn tune. The actual hymn dates back to 150 years after Christ’s feet left the earth.) Christians used to sing that hymn when they lit their oil lamps at night. I’m going to post that on this site today. Here’s a link to that CD online. You can even hear the first minute of “Hail, Gladdening Light” if you scroll down. It’s cut number 4.

    http://www.cduniverse.com/productinfo.asp?pid=1584671&cart=618257391&style=classical

    The third suggestion is Hymns for All Saints, available through Concordia Publishing House. There are some gospel songs as well on this one like How Great Thou Art, and My Hope is Built on Nothing Less. The quality on all three of these is just great. Here’s the link to this one. It is a TWO CD set so there’s a lot of music here.

    http://www.cph.org/cphstore/sendemail.asp?part_no=991725

    Every one of these hymns will encourage, comfort and uplift your heart in the worship and adoration of Christ. I hope you can get one or all. You won’t be sorry!

  3. J. Michael Thompson says:

    Dear Ingrid:

    Are you aware of the recordings of the Schola Cantorum of St. Peter the Apostle (once known as the Schola Cantorum of St. Peter’s in the Loop)?

    There are 50 recordings by this ensemble, and many of the recordings have great hymns of the Western Churches…both for seasons (Advent, Lent, Easter, etc) and for other themes and times.

    I thought you might like to know!

    In Christ,
    J. Michael Thompson, director
    The Schola Cantorum of St. Peter the Apostle

  4. Ingrid Schlueter says:

    Thank you so much for that information. I am always looking for excellent recordings! I am going to look at the site now!

Comments are closed.