Till the Storm Passes Over

lightening.jpgI remember a terrible storm that went through South Texas where I lived. I lived an hour and a half from South Padre Island in the Gulf and we had caught the edge of a hurricane. Seeing the rain blowing sideways and the trees bending nearly in half was quite a sight. My tiny house shuddered against the onslaught, and I was terrified. I remember not knowing quite where to go to hide. Objects from the yard were blowing and hitting the side of the house. I was sure the roof was coming off. I stood there trembling and utterly helpless. I was young and far from the Lord. In the moment I remember feeling my total vulnerability. I was so small and so completely alone without the Lord. The physical chaos outside was just a manifestation of a deeper spiritual storm going on inside me.

Years later I think of that time whenever I hear of the Lord spoken of as a refuge in a time of storm. The ill winds in our culture are blowing ever harder and they are battering the sides of institutions that have stood for centuries. Some are being uprooted completely and swept away. Individuals who are living in the world are carried away by every wind that blows in our culture, and they are destroyed. We have a fortress in Jesus that can’t be moved by the winds. We have a refuge and a hiding place under the wings of our Almighty Savior. Those wings cover the defenseless heads of all those who place their trust in him. I love this song by Mosie Lister. It really says it all.

In the dark of the midnight have I oft hid my face,
While the storm howls above me, and there’s no hiding place.
Mid the crash of the thunder, Precious Lord, hear my cry,
Keep me safe till the storm passes by.

Till the storm passes over, till the thunder sounds no more,
Till the clouds roll forever, from the sky;
Hold me fast, let me stand in the hollow of thy hand
Keep me safe, till the storm passes by.

When the long night has ended and the storms come no more,
Let me stand in Thy presence on the bright peaceful shore;
In that land where the tempest, never comes, Lord, may I
Dwell with Thee when the storm passes by.

Till the storm passes over, till the thunder sounds no more,
Till the clouds roll forever from the sky;
Hold me fast, let me stand in the hollow of thy hand,
Keep me safe, till the storm passes by.


7 thoughts on “Till the Storm Passes Over

  1. Coram Deo says:

    Thanks for this post, Ingrid.

    Matthew 7:24-25

    Therefore whosoever heareth these sayings of mine, and doeth them, I will liken him unto a wise man, which built his house upon a rock:

    And the rain descended, and the floods came, and the winds blew, and beat upon that house; and it fell not: for it was founded upon a rock.

  2. Judy says:

    What a joy this blog is to me. It truly is a resting place.
    I always enjoyed your page from South Carolina Front Porch and missed the stories of your family. You have a wonderful way with words and expression of love for our Lord. I’m so glad you are back.

  3. bree0cheese says:

    Hi–I know you don’t know me, and I don’t know you, but I saw your blog in the fastest growing blogs at WordPress, and read this. I just wanted to tell you that it really touched me and made me think, so thanks 🙂
    -bree

  4. Ingrid Schlueter says:

    Bree,
    Delighted you stopped by. I hope you’ll be by again some time soon!

  5. nancyj07 says:

    This is a beautiful post! Thank you for letting me visit.

    I have just registered to blog on wordpress and have yet to enter my first post.

    I am looking forward to reading more of your postings.

Leave a Reply

