*Updated* What Happened to Ingrid Schlueter? (And other Google Searches)

UPDATE 8/15/14

MilestoneAward**This post was originally published in March of 2013. Since that time it has become clear that additional lies and fake (very creative) narratives have been told by my father about our departure from VCY America.  They would be funny if they were not so slanderous. I received a phone call over a year ago from a pastor down south, someone I had known and helped for years to get on the air and promote his ministry to the inner city. I had not seen him in several years. The pastor told me he was calling because he was concerned about me. He had been told by my father, Vic Eliason that I had “lost my mind.” I had known what Vic had told the tiny board at VCY America to justify Tom and my departure, which was legally actionable slander, but the fact that he was further spreading these lies was breathtaking.

I assured Pastor Jones that my mind was, indeed, still intact, :-),  and that Vic had been on a smear campaign to justify his sin against our family that forced us to have to leave our jobs of a combined 43 years, and for me, a lifetime at VCY.  Since that time, it has come back to me from several, who doubted what Vic was saying, making it evident that these lies are far flung.

Sitting on my desk, I still have the evidence of my father’s hate mail that he sent me at my home under the fake woman’s name, DadsHateMail“Barbara.” This hate mail contained a cover-letter from “Karen” promising to spread the contents of the envelope to “her” church. The contents were printed off a hate site (now abandoned) in a blog post about me that referenced oral sex including a description of the male sex organ, and featured a fake account of my departure from VCY that was completely made up. What kind of a “Christian” father mails this kind of filth to his own daughter, a wife and mother? What kind of non-Christian father does that? (Vic justified this psychotic behavior to his wife and son by saying he only wanted me to know what was being said about me online. LOL! Using a fake name “Karen” and promising to spread the lying account around “her” church?)

Dr. Randall Melchert, chairman of the board of VCY, is fully aware of what Vic was doing, as I personally informed him in the presence of two witnesses in a phone call. Vic was caught at this when he chose to send a a hateful email to me under the same name, “Karen” that said several of the same things. He also posted lies about me under a woman’s name on the blog of a friend of mine named Yvonne. In that comment posted on Yvonne’s blog, “Barbara Clark” (my father, Vic Eliason), further smeared my name and claimed my sister had told “her” that I was bipolar, but he made the fatal mistake of posting it from his home, his IP address giving him away. My sons proved it was his IP address by standing in their grandfather’s yard one night and logging onto their grandfather’s Wi-Fi and collecting the screen shot. Both the email and the blog comment were made from Vic’s same home IP. The evidence is unassailable. Vic, of course, denies all.

MaliceaforethoughtI have on my desk further evidence of Vic’s bizarre and troubling behavior, including his mailing of a red toy car to my son, Charlie, using a VCY America envelope. This was after Charlie’s red car had died and he needed a vehicle. (Here’s your new car, Charlie.) Charlie had revealed to us what Vic had been engaged in while Charlie had been hired at VCY America. Our son was used to try to further damage our reputations. Vic tried to destroy our relationship with him at a difficult time in Charlie’s life. By God’s grace, that relationship is fully restored and Charlie sees exactly what was done to him by his grandfather. What kind of a grandfather, atheist or Christian, deliberately tries to use his own vulnerable grandson to help destroy his mother (me)? A very sick person does that. A person who is a walking lie does that.

Vic Eliason’s family lies in ruins. All attempts to reach out have been rejected. It’s a tragedy that was wholly avoidable had humility and love won out over pride and malice. The darkness in Vic Eliason is masked by his outraged Crosstalk programs on Islam and Barack Obama and every other conservative cause du jour. Few would believe the personal reality behind the image. We have lived it and continue to live it. I am no longer interested in protecting this corruption—corruption that was wholly ignored by Dr. Randy Melchert and the rest of the board. The rest of the board has listened to one account only of the Eliason family tragedy: Vic’s account. They have believed his lies and concocted “evidence” without the slightest interest in hearing from two faithful employees of over two decades, Vic’s own family members. Even a secular judge is required to hear both sides before passing judgement. The board of directors think they are above that apparently. I have news for them. They are not.

I have a plaque sitting on my desk, given by the “Board of Directors” of VCY America. It congratulates me for “20 years of continuous faithful service.” It is dated June 9, 1986 – June 9, 2006.  Tom has another such plaque for his service to VCY America, a ministry we financially supported every single month all the years that we worked there. We served an additional five years beyond those on the plaque.These same faithful employees were allowed to resign and limp off into the night without the slightest attempt to resolve the tragic issues underlying our departure. The years preceding 1986 for me were spent growing up in the very building on Kilbourn where the board meets every month. Those years aren’t noted on the plaque, but they made up the fabric of my life. Were we not owed the respect of a hearing by those who voted against one board member’s suggestion of help for us? Answer: Yes, we were.

We urge Vic to repent of his sin against our family while he still has time, and we urge the board of directors at VCY America to repent of ignoring the harm done to our family, and to make it right. This issue is far from closed. None of this sin has been addressed. The lies continue to be told to cover for Vic. This is wrong, and the lies continue to come back to me through those who love us and who, thankfully, didn’t believe them. God has not forgotten any of this. He sees injustice and he sees the lies, and like all the other rot He is exposing, this also will be revealed fully in His time. Those who believed the lies or who enabled them by their cowardly silence are equally accountable before God. End of update.**

 

Original post from 3/13

I have given this post a very specific title for purposes of searches online. My name has been smeared beyond repair on the Internet, but I am posting this after having hundreds of searches in the last 2 years appear on my blog dashboard regarding my sudden disappearance from Crosstalk and departure from VCY America in 2011.

A malicious and dishonest extended family member deliberately floated the rumor (several lying rumors actually) that I am now divorced and that suggested search term appears when my name is put into google.

For the record, I will have been married 18 years in June to Tom, the greatest gift from God I could have received. He is the love of my life. It is an outright lie.

For the record, Tom and I left VCY America in May of 2011 after my prayerful attempt to honestly address some long standing, extended (Eliason) family and employee concerns was met with open hostility by Vic on March  5, 2011. Unable to function with integrity in our jobs in the ensuing fallout, we had to walk away from our livelihoods – jobs we had done for a combined 43 years, and for me, a lifetime at VCY America. Despite repeated attempts to get help from the board, we were treated as less than human and discarded.

There is an obscene, fictional account online of my departure on a hate blog that has linked here to my own blog so I see the incoming hits from those doing searches. We have strong reason to believe that the sick individual writing the lies online was encouraged by the same hostile family member whose well concealed malice has done a great deal of harm.

I worked hard for 2 decades to bring essential information to Christians at a time of enormous changes within evangelicalism. Despite a near constant stream of incoming personal attacks that result when you address these spiritually rooted issues, the 23 years of work that I did speaks for itself, and I feel no need to defend the quality or motivation involved.

A short time ago, I removed the posts here at the Hope Blog that detailed the harm done to us in the past 2 years by VCY America. They were pulled, not because anything had changed, and not because any of it is OK. It’s not OK. But we are making every effort to accept the losses and move on, and removing the record of wrongs was a step I took for me. God has the only record book that matters.

So if you something bizarre online, or notice google bombs (dishonest false search terms repeatedly put into google for purposes of slander) with my name attached, please just contact me if it worries you. I’m always here to answer questions if someone feels they need to know the facts about something. It’s interesting that despite the many times I have seen my name with ugly search terms next to it on my WordPress dashboard, I have yet to hear personally from more than a handful. I would think that when reputations are at stake, going to the source would be the Christian thing to do.

35 thoughts on “*Updated* What Happened to Ingrid Schlueter? (And other Google Searches)

  1. Ingrid,

    I am happy that you are speaking up because I just had someone Sunday ask me what happened to you. I did tell them what I know to be true but I will direct my friend to this. You are a person of such high integrity and so proud of you and how you have handled this matter. You have brought honor and glory to the LORD. keep your heart true to the LORD and God’s speed to you.

  2. Thank you, Teresa.This is something I should have posted immediately, early on. Sadly, things continued to develop, and in the bewildering aftermath, bits and pieces came out, but not a succinct summary. There is no other story. It is simple. I tried to address some things. The response was hostility and punishment that was serious enough we literally had no choice but to leave. There had never been any issue raised by any staff member or anyone else regarding program content, performance or integrity. I am the same person I was 2 years ago with the same beliefs in the Lord Jesus Christ. I have been called “prodigal”, accused of being a “heresy hunter”, utter nonsense that was crafted after the fact to cover embarrassment at our departure. There is no scandal. The lies got worse and worse as things became more public, and the worse his lies became, the more public I felt I had to respond. It was a vicious cycle and utterly unacceptable for those who claim to know Jesus.

    I made the statement exactly 24 months ago today in my kitchen. Either God can fix this situation or our faith is a lie. Failure to heal interpersonal blow-outs is the number one way to discredit our Lord. But healing can only take place where HONESTY undergirds all that is said. Cursed pride and its lies are sure death.

  3. Ingrid,

    Only those without the Spirit of God in them would ever question your integrity. The blogs you post from your heart, your faithfulness towards God, the life you live as a dedicated wife and mother speak volumes. Your children are a testimony of a godly woman.

    “Many women have done excellently, but you surpass them all.” Pr 31:29

    In Christ Alone,
    Jean

  4. Ingrid, I was a Crosstalk listener for years and years and learned much from your shows. When all of this went down, I felt a definite loss and miss your shows. You saved me from getting involved on a Purpose Driven church which I will be eternally grateful. Crosstalk’s quality of programming has lessened in my viewpoint because there are issues that are not covered because a woman is not on staff. I have stopped listening to the radio station and stopped sending money. I believe VCY America has lost their integrity and I can’t support them as long as a certain man is involved with them. When he steps down, apologizes to you AND REPENTS, I will prayerfully seek The Lord whether I should be involved again. Meanwhile, I’m glad that you have continued to live faithful to The Lord and praise Him with your life. I enjoy your blog posts and believe you continue to impact and improve lives more than you know. Thank you for continuing on and standing for truth.

    Bonnie

  5. So sorry for all you have been going through. I have missed you on Crosstalk also. I think removing posts and trying to move on is good. It shows who has class in this situation even though I am sure that is not why you did it. You did it because it was the right thing to do. Will continue to keep you and your family in my prayers.

  6. Absolutely, I agree that people should go right to the source, that being you. God knows and sees all. I know that you have faith that He will have the truth come out in His way and His time. Ingrid, continue to speak the truth and put the situation in the Lord’s hands; He is working.

  7. I know people do search for you online, as I did too, when I started missing you on Crosstalk. I used to listen on my way home from work and really loved it when you were on. I did email VCY as to whether you would be coming back on the air and got no answer. I wish you were still on, as you provided a valuable service in the “spiritual discernment” area, which is a real weakness in the contemporary church, I believe. Haven’t been to your blog in some time, I just pulled up my feeds that I hadn’t seen in months, but anyways, I hope there will be a restoration in the relationship, for the benefit of all concerned and the glory of God.

  8. Ingrid, I want to offer you another possible reason why people may not have contacted you re. some of the ugly posts: because they are so patently false that the readers don’t believe them. I, for one, saw the obscene, fictional account that you referred to, and it was so apparent to me where the writer was coming from that I instantly discounted it as LIES. I did want to know what was going on, and why you left VCY, because I thought you did the best job on Crosstalk, for it was all so troubling and sad. My husband would tell me to call you and ask, or maybe he said to email you with my questions, but I didn’t want to bother you. However I could not believe the lies that I read about you. They just did not fit what I’ve seeen about you on your blog and on Crosstalk. But, sadly the lies do cast doubt in peoples’ minds, because those who don’t know you personally know that we don’t truly know a person just by what we read or hear. I think it was right to come out publicly, after getting no resolution to the problems any other way. And now, as you say, God has the only record book that matters; most of us know only one person’s word against another’s word. And we have to choose who appears to us to be most reliable. But GOD knows the whole truth of the matter. I still pray that repentance and healing will occur for your entire family. And I thank GOD for keeping you near the cross (I’m thinking of the hymn, Jesus keep me near the cross…) and in the shelter of His everlasting arms through all of this horrendous mess. Your post about metamorphosis is very pertinent to this whole situation. Know that many are indeed praying for you all, and we appreciate you so much. And I’m glad that you aren’t a quitter!

  9. Ingrid, Your struggles have been great. Thank you for being such an example of a God-fearing woman. You stated it so well, “God has the only record book that matters.” … I must remember this.
    I agree with all the previous commenters and hope you will be encouraged by our words of love and friendship.

  10. Ingrid,

    I commented once already and need to again.

    Just you remember the LORD has you in the palm of his hand and no man, nothing can pluck us out, praise the LORD. We, your friends, your biggest fans are behind you every step of the way.

    Our sin will find us out, it will be shouted from the house top and so will your fathers and the board at VCY. They can slash you and trash you all the want but…… the LORD will vindicate you, he will clear and repair your wonderful name. Sometime it is hard to see what that will looks like.

    I pray for God to take this foolish thing and turn it around for his good, no matter how that looks. I do pray that repentance and restoration comes to Vic, all the staff and board member that are covering this mess up, they need help that only the LORD can give them. I think about Esau and how he prayed for repentance with many tears and God did not grant it to him. I am scared, concerned for Vic and his eternity.

    I admire you on how you have handled this with such grace to those who have wronged you and with honor to the LORD,

    Hold your head high, if God be for us, who shall be against us. Love Teresa

  11. Thank you, all of you, for your kind comments. It has been a very dark 2 years, but we don’t face the challenges alone.Your encouragement is very real to my heart.

    When I said it was a lifetime at VCY, I wasn’t exaggerating. We grew up there as kids. We had no other world but that one all of our lives. Here is a photo of my sister, brother and me, I’m on the left. I wasin 4th grade, my sister in second grade, I believe. We’re standing in the front lobby at 27th and Vliet, what used to be VCY headquarters.

  12. Ingrid,

    Thank you for sharing your life, and your heart with us. When you are up on the mountain and when we are down in the valley, we are here but most of all God will never leave you nor forsake you. This is what I try to remember and this my favorite song, which I sure you know.

    BTW Emmy looks half like you and half like Tom, giggles.

  13. My husband teaches computer classes to senior citizens. One woman taking his class this past week said she wanted to learn so that she could find your blog, since she wondered why you had disappeared from Crosstalk. Just thought you’d like to know.

  14. Hi Ingrid, I still listen to VCY and did not know there were program problems with Crosstalk. Since you left I don’t listen to Crosstalk as much, but very much like Brannon Howse’s show. (I thought you left to spend more time with Emily) What is missed most of all are the lighter shows you did about children, reading, books and making a sanctuary at home for family. Even though my kids are in their later teens and early twenties, it’s still so important. Glad I rediscovered your Hope Blog! I will pray for you and your family. Peace & May you all be reconciled! :-)

  15. Ingrid, you and Tom are an inspiration to me and many others. I believed your account immediately. I personally know what it is like to be slandered, but I have never experienced it to the degree you have. I have dealt with self-centered people and have quite a radar for them now.

    God will bless you for your faithfulness, here and in eternity!

    Please excuse me for not sending an encouraging word sooner.

  16. Hello Ingrid, Dear Sister Ingrid……

    I’m so sorry to hear how much you have been suffering.(lol, finally sorry about something) But this sounds like something orchestrated from the pits of Hell. No doubt many of God’s sincere people are going through Trials, Tribulations, and Persecutions.

    But, I’m sure God in His Wisdom he has allowed us to go through these Persecutions to share in Christ Suffering”. You know, “genuine, Yet regarded as impostors”. We suffer.

    (“3giving no cause for offense in anything, so that the ministry will not be discredited,4but in everything commending ourselves as servants of God, in much endurance, in afflictions, in hardships, in distresses,5in beatings, in imprisonments, in tumults, in labors, in sleeplessness, in hunger,6in purity, in knowledge, in patience, in kindness, in the Holy Spirit, in genuine love,7in the word of truth, in the power of God; by the weapons of righteousness for the right hand and the left,8by glory and dishonor, by evil report and good report; regarded as deceivers and yet true;9as unknown yet well-known, as dying yet behold, we live; as punished yet not put to death,10as sorrowful yet always rejoicing, as poor yet making many rich, as having nothing yet possessing all things.”)

    I know hardship and sufferings like a coat of Faith. I sometimes find it too heavy and very suffocating. But Good likes or loves a new thing in US. In His whole Church. Your times are in His hands. I’m sure it is not over for you in Ministry…..

    In His time, ay?

    And, Uh…..

    Oh, Ingrid, Dear Sister Ingrid……

    I have not departed from being facetious and silly. Oh no, not Me. I’m just being Good. Lol!

    Whether I want to or not.

    God Bless

    Dana

    AKa: Simplydannygirl :-)

  17. Dear Ingrid. I am so sorry to hear that you’ve gone through so much difficulty over the last few years. It is good to hear though that you are keeping close to Christ. I think we last communicated via email in 2007. Would love to update you on some things.

  18. Dear Ingrid,

    My wife and I benefited and profited so much from your ministry, especially from 2008-2011, as you showed us many things concerning the corruption and liberalism that was in certain circles that we previously had not known of. We miss your posts on the Crosstalk Blog and I am glad to have found your page here and know that you are well and pressing on. Thank you so much for your ministry. It is such a necessary one, and one in which many will hate you and spurn your name as evil on account of the Son of Man, but it is necessary.

  19. While searching for places to promote my book on going from cultism to Christianity, I found your podcast and blog. What you said in the podcast about cults and pseudo-churches is so true. It fit much of what I experienced for 15 years. I wrote my How I Was Razed testimony in the hope that it would help folks who had been abused by toxic churches as I was. I hope God helps me reach the right readership with my memoir of God’s grace.

  20. Dear Ingrid,
    I am going through a similar experience with a family member. I was floored when it first began but when the rumors and slander stated I was crushed just as you.
    God does use even these experiences as you have shared but the family dynamic is a constant reminder that things aren’t in the will of God.
    God bless and know you are loved and may God continue to use you in a mighty way.

  21. The same thing happened to the Apostle Paul. Jealous people smeared him and caused him much grief. Yet he persisted and became the greatest evangelist of the first century, or perhaps in all centuries.

  22. I’m sorry that you have gone through something like that, Pat. There are no adequate words to describe it. Well said, Bruce. I posted this quote the other day – it’s relevant.

    “The glory of God is manifested by every victory won, by every standing steadfast, by every refusing to give up; the Name is saved from dishonor, and the Lord Himself, the Christ of God who bears that Name is vindicated before angels and before demons. There are elements of mystery about it, why it should be necessary, but there it is.” T. Austin Sparks, from his sermon, “The House, the Name and the Glory”

  23. How true that is. All the prophets and apostles ran into opposition. The worst came from religious people who thought they were doing God a service by murdering his messengers. It’s still so today.

  24. Thank you Ingrid. The Lord has pushed me onward and instead of focusing on the family trials, I labor that much harder for Him.
    I have always appreciated your articles and yes, I missed you so much when your voice was silenced on VCY.
    God bless dear sister in Christ.

  25. Ingrid,

    We met you in August of 2003 at the VCY headquarters when we asked VCY to interview me for a book (The Honest Truth) I had written. Since then I have written other books you can see on my website.

    For two years we did not know what had happened to you. Today, out of the blue, your name came to my mind. My wife and I decided to see if we could find you on Google. We were shocked at what we learned on this site.

    Our hearts go out to you and Tom. We really appreciated the Crosstalk programs you hosted. You have been a real blessing to us.

    I trust you and Tom are doing all right financially.

    We feel the Lord brought you to our attention so that we could pray for you and your family. So, after we finish this post we are going to be praying for you and your family, and will keep you on our prayer list.

    The Lord bless and keep you and yours in His tender loving care.

    Howard and Arlene Wright

  26. Dear Ingrid;

    I never heard of you before until I heard a podcast you did about toxic churches. I was looking for places to promote my new book, How I Was Razed: A Journey from Cultism to Christianity. It tells the story of how I was in a toxic house church and how God led me from legalistic error to his wondrous truth. It seems that wicked people always smear saints. From the murder of Abel till today, the hatred goes on and on. I’ve been praying for you since I heard of the smear campaign and I’ll keep on praying for you and your family. May the wicked ones receive the reward of their libel and slander.

  27. I was doing a google search Ingid on discernment….I came across your name…I DO NOT KNOW WHAT HAPPENED ! It is none of my business…as far as I am concerned you are a Godly Woman…I have been a faithful listener to VCY America for 12years…I thought I was a christian for 20 years before that…I feel God moved me from Oregon to Wisconsin to learn the truths of God’s Word.for it was the first station I turned to when I arrived…Your Crosstalk program was essential in learning about false teachers,that I was regularly listening to….I looked forward to your teaching always…I too thought that you were just needed at home after your Baby was born,and the other children were probably very glad to have you home…I enjoyed also the guests your Father had on the show…But because of you I began doing my own research…and am very careful of the teachers I listen to…and the music….just want you to know that you are on my prayer list,and I know for sure I have stepped on the toes of a few false teachers myself,and made enemies,but I do not care,and I owe it all to you…and to our Lord Jesus Christ for sending me to the right path….people ,even family members will try to smother the truth,and expose something about you to discredit you,even lying to do so….but God and yourself know the truth.and the good work you do for Him…you just need a different route to take to continue on,and God will provide that for you in due time…in the meantime I will be praying for you and family…God is with you always,even unto the end of the earth…..Kay

  28. Thanks for the kind words on this post. I appreciate the comments and am grateful. I haven’t done the kind of writing I like to do on this blog in the last few months. Life doesn’t slow down. Sometimes, I realize that what I have to say is really not original nor is it compelling enough to put down. This week was one of those times. As for my work at Crosstalk, I’m glad that anything helpful may have been said down through the years. Life is a difficult riddle sometimes, but that’s where faith comes in. We may not be able to sort out in this lifetime the things that seem so much like gratuitous, pointless emotional trauma. God only knows why things happen, why people get injured by other professing believers, why Christians claim to have a God of power when their own broken relationships contradict that, and why so many supposed lovers of Jesus care nothing for the pain they have inflicted on others. We can just learn from it and say, I’m not going to be like that, God helping me.

  29. I’m so sorry all this happened to you, Ingrid. I’m glad you have your wonderful husband by your side. I LOVED listening to you on the Crosstalk website. Since you’ve left, I never go there anymore. I learned so much from all your defending and contending broadcasts. I’ve been an enthusiastic listener to Brannon Howse but after reading a bit of both sides of the story, it’s quite obvious to me that you’re the innocent party and that Brannon is on the wrong side. Hugs to you, sister. Thank you for all your hard work in defending the faith.

  30. Wow, how did I miss this one? So glad this is still up. You are an amazing woman. Keep trusting Him and speaking the truth!

  31. Shame on those who smeared your reputation, Ingrid. May the Lord prick their consciences and deflate their self-important ideas. Please send a link to your podcasts to this blog. I want to direct folks to defenders of the truth such as yourself. Thanks and have a blessed day.

  32. Hi Ingrid, I really miss your talk shows. You had such inspiring and good information. I found it very helpful to me and I am sure to others. I pray God will find a spot for you to be on air again. God Bless you and your family in Jesus’ Name I pray.

  33. Hi Ingrid,

    I saw the letter you wrote to Rick Warren’s people when they invited you to speak at Saddleback’s worship conference and I commend you for standing up for your beliefs and not selling out when it is so easy to sell out for fortune and glory. So many before you have done that very thing. I think that your response speaks volumes about your character and your true love for Christ………..keep going and don’t get disillusioned when attacked by others!

Comments are closed.