Don’t Let Them Take Your Song

songbirdsA little girl went off to kindergarten and was thrilled when singing was a part of each school day.

She loved to sing, and put her small heart and soul into it. At home she had learned lots of songs and when she found out the class would be singing some of the same ones that she knew, she was delighted.

Preparing for an upcoming program one day, the class was practicing “I Am Jesus’ Little Lamb”, one of her favorites. She was singing with all her heart when the girl next to her jabbed her sharply in the ribs with her elbow.

“Stop singing so loud, you sound awful!” she hissed.

The music stopped for the little song bird. Sure, the children kept singing, but suddenly she didn’t hear it anymore. It had never entered her mind that she sounded “awful” or that she was singing too loudly. Tears welled up in her eyes and she swallowed hard.

The teacher never noticed that after that day, one of the children didn’t sing anymore. The child mouthed the words, but no sound came out. It was years before she felt confident enough to sing out again when she was assured in choir that she did not sound “awful.”

The world is full of those who will take your song if you let them. Some children (or adults) have the confidence to see the spiteful, nasty people for what they are and sing anyway. Others who are sensitive and shy take hurtful words to heart and believe them, and the song dies on their lips.

Whether we are young or old, we can’t let the song-killers win. As recently as today, I received a sneering comment here at the Hope Blog. One of Satan’s minions out for a ride on the Internet decided to do a drive by. It’s the risk you take when you do anything out loud, be it singing or writing or something else that is an expression of who you are. There will always be trash hurled from the twisted and unhappy souls who live in darkness.

I choose the Light. I am a flawed human being, but I was made by a perfect God who planted me here now for a purpose. My own song sometimes wavers or gets off key, but God mercifully brings it back into tune if I focus on Him. Don’t let anyone kill your song. The world needs it.

 

8 thoughts on “Don’t Let Them Take Your Song

  1. “You’re the tone of power
    In the key of honour
    filled with glory
    LORD YOU ARE MY SONG” – Praise Him!!!

  2. Dear beloved friend, whom having not ever beheld face to face, yet I love! God has inspired you’re pen to lift the hearts of many. My own heart has been touched so very deeply by your personal songs here on this blog.

    NOT MANY would allow their vunerability to be made known openly, simply so that others can be blessed!

    Your songs are encouraging, uplifting, edifying and convicting… keep singing dear friend – KEEP SINGING!

  3. So glad to hear that you are not going to let someone discourage you. I liked the song bird analogy. I usually let others get me down. Next time I let that happen I’ll think of this story. Good job for staying positive. I look forward to your posts and visit everyday (sometimes more). Thank you for sharing with us!

  4. Oh Ingrid, This is just so encouraging … the Lord sovereignly allowed you to pen this post and shine the true Light of the world into our hearts. This post sings beautifully. Thank you Lord for a sister-in-Christ who encourages the birds to sing of Your glory in our lives.

  5. that happened to me too….I used to love to sing…in church people turned back to “see” who was doing all that loud singing…..it was always me…..I stopped for a while, but it got too much for me…I had to sing….so I sang….ignored the “looks” and am, happy to say I still LOVE to sing!

  6. Ingrid, I read your blog every day.
    You have no idea how it lifts my spirits, encourages me to continue my fight with cancer, but always seek God first.
    Remember what Jesus said, they hated Him first….
    May God continue to bless you & your family.
    You are loved

  7. There are a lot of unhappy people out there prowling about around the internet seeking to make others as unhappy as they are. I’m very careful about where I read comboxes because I don’t want to let all that stuff into my head, but then you can’t avoid it when it’s on your own blog–but then you have the wonderful delete button.

    AMDG,
    Janet

  8. I remember years ago when I joined the choir there was an older man who sang at the top of his lungs often off key. I could sense his joy and love for God. One of the “classic” church ladies said one day at practice when he wasn’t there yet that he should be kicked out of the choir. As a young believer I was horrified by the hardness in her face and tone. I turned to her and said in front of the others, “If he wants to sing for the Lord, who are we to stop him?! It’s not like we are a professional choir here!” Everyone was wide-eyed, but that put a stop to it. My heart just broke for that man. Being stepped on yourself can give you sensitivity to others when they are being treated in an unloving manner. Keep singing, Ingrid. Your heart and posts are beautiful.

Leave a Reply

