Last Evening’s Sunset on Cape Breton Island

This was the sunset last night on Cape Breton Island, Nova Scotia, where our friend Francis lives. He sent me this photo this morning, and I had to share it. Thank you, Francis, for bringing God’s creation to us through your camera lens! The photo reminds me of the famous lines I memorized long ago:

Sunset and evening star,
And one clear call for me!
And may there be no moaning of the bar,
When I put out to sea,
But such a tide as moving seems asleep,
Too full for sound and foam,
When that which drew from out the boundless deep
Turns again home.

Twilight and evening bell,
And after that the dark!
And may there be no sadness of farewell,
When I embark;
For tho’ from out our bourne of Time and Place
The flood may bear me far,
I hope to see my Pilot face to face
When I have crost the bar.

~ Alfred, Lord Tennyson

 

2 thoughts on “Last Evening’s Sunset on Cape Breton Island

  1. Thank you for sharing such a beautiful picture with others. It’s so idyllic and looks untouched by man- from here where I’m sitting anyways lol….

    I live down here almost in Florida. But the beaches are so taken over by man-made condominiums, tourism etc. I mainly go there to go saltwater fishing and some places are a bit untouched but they are far far few

    One thing that used to irk me about my father when I was young was to hear him complain about how man was destroying the earth-creation. I now look back and agree with him. He was so adamant about nature, trees and things. Whenever a neighbor would cut their pine tree down he’d get mad.

    But well, one day God will make all things new again as all creation groans and moans for redemption and it’s creator

    Thank you for blessing us with such richness Mrs. Ingrid. You have such a lovely heart

  2. Oh, Ingrid, you’ve done it again :)
    Thank you for posting my favorite Alfred, Lord Tennyson poem along with your friend’s beautiful photo. I can almost hear the gentle waves lapping at the shoreline…
    We live a ‘little’ southwest of Nova Scotia, in mid-coast Maine. I love the ocean, having grown up swimming in the warmer saltwater along Virginia’s coast. Way too cold up here in the northeast, at least for me, to do the same now.

Leave a Reply

