An Invitation to Peace

I want to introduce Hope Blog readers to a Christian concert pianist named Greg Howlett. His YouTube channel has brought me a lot of joy as he applies his talent to hymns. His gentle renditions of the old favorites invite us to a quiet place, away from the ugliness and storms and stresses of life. I hope this music will prove an oasis of peace for you as well! Visit his channel by clicking here. The first video is Abide With Me. His music can be purchased at GregHowlett.com.

2 thoughts on “An Invitation to Peace

  1. I came across this hymn today, the text says it all to those who are “weary and heavy laden.”

    Approach, my soul, the mercy-seat
    Where Jesus answers prayer;
    There humbly fall before His feet,
    For none can perish there.

    Thy promise is my only plea,
    With this I venture nigh;
    Thou callest burdened souls to Thee,
    And such, O Lord, am I.

    Bowed down beneath a load of sin,
    By Satan sorely pressed,
    By wars without and fears within,
    I come to Thee for rest.

    Be Thou my Shield and Hiding-place,
    That, sheltered near Thy side,
    I may my fierce Accuser face
    And tell him Thou hast died.

    O wondrous Love, to bleed and die,
    To bear the cross and shame,
    That guilty sinners such as I
    Might plead Thy gracious name!

    Hymn #456 The Lutheran Hymnal

  2. Ingrid, I have been reading The Hope Blog for sometime. I love it and always find encouragement. Thank you for introducing me to Greg Howlett. I received two of his CD’s yesterday and can only say they are wonderful. Beautiful renditions of hymns that truly bring honor to our Lord!

Leave a Reply

