Bach Looks at the Passion of Christ

Nothing surpasses Bach’s St. John Passion in weaving together biblical text and music about the suffering of our Lord out of His love for us. In this season when we look again in a special way at the sacrifice of Jesus Christ for our sins, this is an especially helpful musical meditation. Here is the English translation of what they are singing.

Lord, our ruler, whose glory
is magnificent everywhere!
Show us through your passion,
that you , the true son of God,
at all times
even in the most lowly state,
are glorified.

6 thoughts on “Bach Looks at the Passion of Christ

  1. Hebrews 10:10-14
    10 By this will we have been sanctified through the offering of the body of Jesus Christ once for all. 11 Every priest stands daily ministering and offering time after time the same sacrifices, which can never take away sins; 12 but He, having offered one sacrifice for sins for all time, SAT DOWN AT THE RIGHT HAND OF GOD, 13 waiting from that time onward UNTIL HIS ENEMIES BE MADE A FOOTSTOOL FOR HIS FEET. 14 For by one offering He has perfected for all time those who are sanctified.

    1 Corinthians 5:7
    7 Clean out the old leaven so that you may be a new lump, just as you are in fact unleavened. For Christ our Passover also has been sacrificed.

    Praise the Lord for Jesus Christ’s ONCE for all time sacrifice, He Himself being the propitiation for the sins of the whole world, permanently justifying all who turn to Him in repentance and faith!

  2. Well, My dad is an ardent Classical musical lover along with some opera.. He has music from Bach along with probably over a 1000 classical music CD’s to make up for his record collection he had since he was a boy.

    When I was growing up Mrs. Ingrid I used to hate classical music. Only when I became pregnant with my son did something inside me desire to hear the soothing music–no not the thundering kind that you doze off to only to be sent to the ceiling a minute or 2 later. My dad when I told him I had a bit of an affinity for Classical music say “you must be pregnant”.. lol.

    anyways, after I was saved at 33 years old approx 2 years after having my son, I fell in love with the music from Handel’s Messiah since it carries much of biblical verses in it’s music.
    to this day, I don’t know much classical music but if the Christian stations are playing junk, I’ll turn the knob to a classical station that just soothes me.

  3. I have always played a lot of classical music, even before my children were born. I used to put on the boombox and lie down next to it so the preborn babes could listen with me. I think Will knew Fruhlingsstimmen sung by Max Emanuel Cencic the day he was born! That and Israel in Egypt by Handel. “Sing ye to the Lord, for He hath triumphed gloriously! The horse and his rider hath He thrown into the sea. The Lord shall reign forever and ever!”

    We also have other kinds of music playing at times. Sam loved Celtic music, Irish fiddling and ballads and laments. Sam played bagpipes at the Irish Cultural Heritage Center. (Not Irish, he just loved the music!) I like Appalachian fiddling and southern gospel as well, although not the slick, pop sounding stuff now, but the oldies where the singers weren’t show-boating.

    Anyway, children love good music and as your dad showed you, Linda, it can have a lifetime influence!

  4. It does have a lifetime influence Ingrid. My dad and I were not close as I grew up.

    Now he has Alzheimers and is beyond being taken care of by my oldest brother in a nursing home. I miss my dad and wished I had spent more time with him as a daughter.

    Anyways His music will always have a place in my heart. I will never forget when I thought he was so dorky standing in the living room directing music. Funny how we miss things about our loved ones after they are either not in their right mind or gone. All I can figure as I’m just blinded by my awful pride and fail to see the goodness of the Lord when it’s right there..

    You sound like sucha wonderful loving mother to your children Ingrid. and very wise –“A wise woman builds her house but with her own hands a foolish one tears hers down”

Leave a Reply

