Meet Our Grandson!

Today is the annual March for Life in Washington, and it is appropriate to post a story about my own unborn grandchild. My son Samuel and daughter-in-law Laura learned on Friday that they are expecting a son in June. The 20-week scan photos are the first portraits for Peter Samuel Guzman. We are so excited to know that it will be a boy. He put on quite a show of wiggling and leaping and yawning for his parents. Nothing drives home the reality of becoming a parent like those scans!

I still have Sam’s first photos. The wonder of life and God’s creative genius is something that I will never get over. The sacredness of life in the womb has been denied in our nation for 39 years as millions of babies like Peter Samuel have been murdered in abortion clinics.

We thank God for babies, whenever he sends them. Our own miracle baby, Emily Frances, was a shock to us, and completely re-ordered our lives. A more delightful re-ordering could not have been engineered. I spend my days making purple play-do wiener dogs, coloring and listening to the same Wee-Sing songs I was listening to 20 years ago with Sammy and Charlie. And I feel privileged to have such a high calling.

Children come into your life like small tornadoes in pastel blankets, and you are never ever the same. Never again will your own desires and wants and goals have the same importance. Your well-being is caught up with that of those children. Your heart walks around outside of your body. Mothering has been difficult, sometimes heart-breaking, frustrating, and exhausting, but, for me, the most rewarding work I’ve ever done.

(Parenthetically, the reason I never succeeded in an outside career was because I didn’t possess the single-mindedness to do it. My heart has always been at home, my mind wandering to what my children were doing and needing. Because I can’t do an outside job from home at the present time, I do my mommy job and write on the Hope Blog instead!)

We cannot wait to meet Peter Samuel. God bless our little grandson and all the babies in the womb in the dangerous era in which we live. Life is precious. God created it. We must do all we can to protect it.

Peter Samuel Guzman, Age 20 weeks

12 thoughts on “Meet Our Grandson!

  1. Pictures of babies in the womb show some of God’s wonderful creation. They always bring a tear to my eye. How can anyone kill a precious baby? It won’t be long Grandma and you can have Peter in your arms.

  2. It is heartbreaking that abortion is so common now. We can’t wait to hold our son! It is so amazing feeling him kick, seeing him move and listening to his heartbeat. Babies are such a blessing. :)

  3. How exciting Ingrid! Looks like you are going to have to hold onto those girl clothes a little awhile longer! :) I agree with you…i dont have any desire to be at work and thanks be to the Lord that I dont have to. My work is at home with my kids that God has blessed us with!

  4. I loved the ultra-sound pictures of my boys! Especially when going thru a difficult pregnancy – I was so sick with my last one. I would just look at that little picture and it gave me strength to go on!

  5. Now, how to relocate to Colorado Springs so he can come to Grammy’s house often! (I have lots of boy stuff at my place. Will has about 100 miles of Thomas the Tank Engine track just waiting for him.) ;-)

  6. I learned on Sunday that in the thirty-nine years since Roe v. Wade in 1973 over 40 million babies have been put to death in just the United States alone. That amounts to more than 3500 precious babies every single day!!!! And it doesn’t make front page news any day!!! GOD forgive us. If you haven’t seen the 33 minute video, 180 movie, produced by Ray Comfort, go to 180movie.com and watch it. And share it with others. It is powerful and mind-changing.

    I’m happy for you and your family for Peter Samuel Guzman. That is so exciting.

  7. Oh,congratulations! Isn’t this quite a wonderful thing?

    I, too, am due to become a grandma in June, as the eldest of my four and his wife will be having their first. I am almost foolishly pleased!

    We don’t know if it is a boy or girl, yet, but should after next week. Sad thing, though, is they are waaaayyy down to Texas and we are up here in IL. I’ll be going down after the birth, for a visit, that’s for sure!

  8. Congratulations to you Ingrid and your family! I am very happy for y’all!

    I especially identified with your comment about why you never succeeded in an outside career “because I didn’t possess the single-mindedness to do it. My heart has always been at home, my mind wandering to what my children were doing and needing.” You articulated my heart, as well.

    What happens if the Lord “takes” your family? What then? My heart is still wrapped up with our five children–some who are far away doing what the Lord has called them to do, while others are far away in devastating rebellion. But they are all gone, nevertheless.

    Those in rebellion are not only ruining their own lives, but their children’s lives, too; CPS is involved. For a variety of reasons I can’t go into, we can not rescue our grandchildren. It is tearing my heart out! I stayed home full time and homeschooled all of them, they are that precious to us. We tried to give them the best and now I am forced to watch these innocent children be neglected and abused. The pain is almost too much to bear.

    I also don’t know who I am without my children. I never realized I wrapped my identity in them so much. Now I find myself alone, as far as an occupation is concerned. I have “asked, and sought, and knocked” these last few years, and stepped out into several new directions, but I’m rather at a crossroads now, and am not sure where to turn. I continue to seek the Lord and wait on Him, but the waiting goes on, the horizon is so fuzzy, and I am losing my courage to go on.

Leave a Reply

