Tom Schlueter – An Introduction

Let the bright Seraphim in
burning row their loud uplifted
angel-trumpets blow.

Let the cherubic host, in tuneful
choir, touch their immortal
harps with golden wire.

Let the bright Seraphim in
burning row their loud uplifted
angel-trumpets blow…

(Handel, from Samson)

I’d like you to meet my husband, Tom Schlueter, who sometimes gets mentioned here but who has never been formally introduced in the time I’ve had a blog. Yesterday my sister-in-law was here so we all decided to accompany Tom on a music job at a church in downtown Milwaukee. The family paparazzi was in full swing as Kris hadn’t heard Tom play in a long time so she was snapping away with her camera. My patient husband put up with the unaccustomed fuss and the kids snapped a few shots and got some video I’ll put up later of his playing. He was playing in the balcony of a large church, but the balcony housed the choir, the timpani, two organs, one a pipe organ and one a ditigal, file cabinets of choir music, a piano and a lot more.

It was a wonderful morning. He began with Where ‘er You Walk by Handel, Prelude to the Te Deum by French composer Charpentier, Jeremiah Clark’s Prince of Denmark March, then Allegro Maestoso from Handel’s Water Music and then ending with Psalm 19 by Benedetto Marcello. ┬áIt was such joyful music, played for God’s glory. I often thank the Lord that despite all of the darkness in this world, He still grants us the beauty of music to lift our hearts to Him.

Tom has played trumpet since age 8, winning the Milwaukee Symphony Young Artist competition at 15, and has played professionally since the age of 17 when he began playing with the Milwaukee Symphony and other city groups. He played at the New York Brass Conference at 19 and was two time winner of the International Trumpet Guild Solo Competition. (They made a rule soon after that you could only win once.) After graduating from University of Wisconsin with a music performance degree, he studied with Arnold Jacobs and Reynold Schilke of the Chicago Symphony and accompanied the MSO on its European tour. Over the years he has been principal with the Milwaukee Ballet Orchestra, the Waukesha Symphony, Festival City Symphony, Skylight Opera, Milwaukee Chamber Brass and has played with sacred choral groups like the Bel Canto Chorus, Bach Chamber Choir, Lutheran Chorale and a bunch of others. He is also a studio musician for various companies. This is a minute of Tom playing the Lovelock Concerto. Click here: lovelock-schlueter4 He lives and breathes music of all kinds as long as it has brass well played. His favorite composer is Anton Bruckner with Mahler coming in a close second and one of his favorite Bruckner Symphonies is the 6th. In his “spare time” he also dismantles trumpets and rebuilds them to his own specs or sometimes someone elses. Every aspect of a trumpet affects its sound so he tweaks his now 30 trumpets a lot. You’ll find him hunkered over a blue flame on his work table with bits of trumpet here or there.

Tom is a wonderful husband and a rare, old-fashioned Christian gentleman. He has a heart of pure gold. A moment that will always stay in my heart goes back to when we were thinking of adopting again. I had found the photo of a 12-year-old in Bulgaria in need of a family through an adoption agency online. He had brittle bones and wanted very badly to have a family. We had just adopted a toddler from Romania 6 months before and already had 4 children to raise. Tom watched the video, didn’t say much, and I just let it rest. The next morning he was eating breakfast and he looked at me with a sort of funny smile. “How much did you say those fees were again for Georgi?” Six months later, he was on a plane for Sofia, Bulgaria with a suitcase bulging with clothes, goodies and a new Bulgarian Bible for his new son, Jonathan George Schlueter. Jonathan is now 22 and working towards being a pharmacist. His life is a testimony to God’s grace. (See his story in his own words here.)

I am thankful for men of integrity and kindness. They’re still out there and for each and every one, we should be grateful. They are ministers of God’s grace to their wives and families. And by the way, Tom is entering a new decade with his birthday this weekend. I won’t tell you which…

Here are a few shots from the church trip yesterday.

+Soli Deo Gloria+

19 thoughts on “Tom Schlueter – An Introduction

  1. Ingrid – Nice to meet your husband! Thank you for introducing him.

    Like yours, my husband is one of the rare ones … integrity, kindness and a passionate for the Lord and His Word.

    When I was single, someone asked what I was looking for in a husband – what was on the “list” for my ideal man. I told them I had only one thing. That he love the Lord more than me.

    I am daily blessed beyond measure with how the Lord answered that request “above and beyond” all I could ask or imagine :)

  2. What a blessing the Lord has given you Ingrid! And what a blessing you are to your husband. Many prayers for this new “decade” and for the months to come. Though the days be dark ahead for us, the Lord shall be our light to guide us and our strength to sustain us. And as we press onward I am reminded to stop and thank the Lord for the godly men like your husband and my husband and others who will stand for truth and rightousness in this apostate world! May the Lord continue to bless your marriage.

  3. LOVE this article and the wonderful pictures. Now we know where Will gets his proclivity towards music and being a gentle, caring lad who has such a heart for God and others. . .Ingrid, you never take God’s blessings for granted and this article reflects your attention to details and great gifts of observation and appreciation for God’s gifts to us, both great and small. You are not neglecting your real job, which is help-meet and mother to not a few. I’m pretty sure Tom is about the same age as my two sons. . .forty-something. The love of Jesus Christ shows in his countenance! Happy Birthday and God bless you all!

  4. wow, wow, wow…that trumpet piece you shared. I am so thrilled for you that you’ve been blessed with such a great and God-glorifying husband. Again, that trumpet just blew me away, thanks for letting us hear it.

  5. Cindy,
    Thanks so much for the feedback. The interesting thing about the trumpet is how varied its sounds can be. It can sizzle like electricity in some pieces, it can soar over the top of an orchestra and literally lead 80 some musicians, (Tom says the real conductor is the principal trumpet in an orchestra but I told him that’s just a trumpet man talking, ha!), or a trumpet can sound like a stringed instrument. There is a version of “Jesus Paid it All” that Tom did where the organ is down to a low purr and the trumpet is so sweet it sounds like a violin especially in the high registers. Also interesting is how absolutely vastly different different trumpets can sound. Tom sometimes has me do blind tests where he will play the same phrase on three different trumpets and ask for feedback as to which sounds best. Some have a wide, fat sound with lots of color, others are narrow and more brilliant especially in the high registers. One may sound almost like a flugle horn in the low notes as it’s smoky and dark and rich sounding. So much depends on the placement of this part of that, the lead pipe or the bell in terms of how the final sound will be. And, of course, there’s a different trumpet for different purposes. You wouldn’t use some types for jazz, obviously. A lot depends on what type of music you’re playing. Don’t even get me started on the mouthpiece thing. In trumpet world, the quest for the holy grail is the quest for the perfect mouthpiece…

  6. Ingrid!

    Thank you so much for posting this. It is great to “meet” your husband. And thank you for encouraging the single women out there to remember that godly men still exist. I can tell that God has really blessed your marriage, and I pray that He continues to. Thanks again for all your work in fighting for the truth, Ingrid….it is much appreciated!

    Love,
    Susan

  7. I have spoken briefly with Tom a couple of times on the phone and he impressed me as a most humble gentleman. The Lord has blessed you with a wonderful husband Ingrid.

    I know for a fact he would really like to visit Nova Scotia. (hint, hint)

    Francis

  8. Francis,
    You’re absolutely right about Nova Scotia. It looks like its absolutely gorgeous. I’d like to visit Cape Breton Island. Our son was doing Canadian geography this year and I saw lots of places I’d like to visit on both of your coasts. Not to mention, I want to do what millions of others have done and make it to Prince Edward Island. I am an “Anne” fan, of course.

  9. So nice to put a face with the name.
    I may never meet your family on this Earth, but have been blessed by you throught the web. Kevin

  10. I so appreciated the trumpet portion you put out there for us! Very beautiful and well executed!

    Ingrid, you have been used of God to teach, exhort and bless me. Thanks for sticking your neck out there. May we keep seeking, and questioning and asking ourselves, “Where is it written?”

  11. Thank you to everyone for your kind and encouraging words. I’m thankful if the Lord has used anything here to bring beauty or encouragment to you. May His light continue to shine graciously on all of you.

    Praise Him,

    Tom Schlueter
    P.S. Actually, my wife TRULY IS my better half.

  12. Corinne,
    Tom’s and my story would require a book and it would read like fiction actually. It’s a miracle how it all turned out with lots of heart stopping suspense. Long story short, the first time I met him, I simply knew that here was a wonderful person. I simply knew. And, he had the twinkliest eyes I had ever seen when he smiled. To make a long story shorter, I had known Tom a long time as an acquaintance and even accompanied him on piano a few times, but one day (this needs some preface but I won’t bore you) he stopped the doors of an elevator I was getting on with his hand and said, right out of the blue: “Ingrid, I love you and I’d like to marry you. I just want you to know that.” With that he walked away. Talk about a stunning conversation! We hadn’t even dated yet!! In fact, he thought that another man was interested in me, a health food expert we’ll call “Broccoli Guy”, and he wasn’t too happy about that. He jokes that I seemed remarkably cool at the time to his impromptu proposal. Well, I wonder why?! He then started asking me out and let’s just say there was absolutely no doubt that he was everything he appeared to me and more. We had a memorable first date at Ravinia Festival Park outside of Chicago. That is a wonderful place, it’s an entire park wired with speakers so the concerts at the park are heard all over. Couples and families sit on blankets or in lawn chairs with picnic baskets and votive candles and have elegant dinners while listening to the great orchestra performances going on in the pavillion. During the 1812 Overture real cannons were firing and it was an unforgettable evening. The capper was getting lost in the parking lot which is a field where the cars park. With only the moon to guide us, we searched row after row of cars trying to find the right one. The stars were shining, and it was very romantic peering in the dark at all the license plates. ;-)

    8 months later, Tom gave me a diamond ring, one in the center and two smaller ones on the sides. He said the one in the middle represented the Lord and the two smaller ones on the sides represented us. That doesn’t even scratch the surface, but I will say that the Lord brought us both together at the right time and He gets all the glory and all the credit for making things beautiful in HIS time.

  13. Ahhhhhh….(sighs dreamily)

    How wonderful, Ingrid! Our Lord is wonderful as He brings two people together. To see a man who loves the Lord and His word is truly a treasure. As a single woman I pray the Lord (if it be His will for me to be married) bring me a man who loves Him above all else and lives a godly life…and, yes, romantic!!!

  14. Dear Mr. and Mrs. Schleuter,

    Happy Birthday, Mr. Schleuter!
    May God grant you many more!

    It was neat to hear a trumpet again,
    my brother plays the coronet.

    May God bless you both!

    Melody Metz

  15. Thanks for the lovely (if too short) story! :-) I hope one day we can read the less abriged version! God bless you and your family. I’m thankful for you and all the brethren that I may never meet this side of eternity, yet will get to worship Jesus with forever on the next.

  16. What incredible playing! Thank you so much for allowing us to hear the music of your talented husband. I love the trumpet, and I wish we could hear/see more of Tom’s playing. Now I understand why your posts are so frequently about music.

    Glory be to God for music.

  17. Man, Ingrid, that is one incredible love story. I’m so happy for you and Tom and I’m thankful you got a good one. I know he’s a blessing. Mine is too. :-)

  18. Happy Birthday Mr. Schleuter.

    That Lovelock is an interesting piece and you gave us some beautiful and powerful trumpet playing. If you don’t mind I’d enjoy hearing more of your music. It does this old trombone player’s heart good.

Comments are closed.